We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe

Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Whileaway is the Port Douglas destination for lovers of great books and delicious coffee.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Whileaway Coffeeshop/Bookshop has a fantastic atmosphere and provides that independent feeling that makes a town special. The banana bread is outstanding, and the coffee is top notch. A great place to start the day at.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tsionthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSK797, Owner at Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thankyou very much, we are proud to be an independent bookshop/café in such a great town as Port Douglas and very happy that you joined us each morning. We hope to see you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    148
    25
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great coffee surrounded by fantastic books :) A really nice place to hang out in Port Douglas away from the crowds

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mako83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSK797, Owner at Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We love our location down the 'quiet' end of Macrossan Street and very pleased that you did too. Please come in and see us again next time you are in our bit of paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was in Port Douglas on vacation and stayed while waiting for a shuttle. I have yet to find better coffee or a better atmosphere in any shop i've been to. The staff was friendly and I've missed that shop ever since.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSK797, Owner at Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thankyou for dropping in whilst waiting for your shuttle, we love your comments and hope you can get the opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very relaxing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very popular little Café & great book shop! Always packed with people reading & relaxing with a coffee & muffin, cake or sandwich. Coffee is delicious but service was very slow this visit. Twice my husband received his coffee & by the time he had finished, mine had just arrived which was a tad annoying. Apart from that, a nice place to be.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline & John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSK797, Owner at Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
We are so sorry that your coffee arrived after your husband's, of course even though we always endeavour to avoid this happening, on occasion mistakes can sometimes occur. We do thank you for your patience and kind remarks and hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Best Coffee in Port Douglas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had countless coffee's here, although they don't offer meals, it certainly worth a visit for coffee and a snack. If you like books, they have an amazing selection.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DSK797, Owner at Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Great to hear you enjoyed hanging out with us, we hope we were your home away from home, looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Whileaway Bookshop & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing