We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful gourmet meals”

Osprey's Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 130 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$34
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Savour the view along the scenic road to Port Douglas even longer by stopping for lunch, dinner or a coffee at Osprey's Restaurant at Thala Beach Nature Reserve. The idyllic eco resort captures the feel of the tropics in its relaxed, open-air Osprey's Restaurant where modern tropical cuisine is a specialty.Enjoy the spectacular elevated setting overlooking the Coral Sea and rainforest-clad mountains that hug the coastline near Port Douglas. Let nature take centre stage while you enjoy contemporary international cuisine. Linger with a coffee in the elegantly casual surrounds to catch up on your emails with the free wifi, ask the friendly staff to identify the birds that share your tree-top position or indulge with sundowners at the end of a leisurely day in the tropics.
Reviewed 26 March 2012

we had few meals in this restaurant as we stayed at Thala Beach Lodge. We highly recommend this resto as their menus were fantastic and delicious. Their New Year Eve meals were five star quality and we were glad that we decided to eat in here than go to Port Douglas.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bfly7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 170 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

We (myself, Mrs Haggis and the kids, aged 9 and 11) ate here in late September 2011 after reading about it on one of Port Douglas Forums. The restaurant is part of the Thala Beach Lodge Resort, about a 10 minute drive south of Port Douglas as you head to Palm Cove/Cairns.

We pre booked lunch on a Sunday afternoon and politely asked for a table with a view - I was aware that a number of tables look out across the rainforest to the sea & beach, quite stunning. I had a very pleasant exchange of emails with the staff and was promised by one member of staff "my favourite table". Pleased to say that we weren't disappointed - outdoor but covered, the restaurant reminded us of lodges we stayed at when on safari in Africa. Stunning views, gentle breezes and wild birds around. Very very relaxing !

No complaints from us at all - the setting was fabulous, the meals were large and of excellent quality (both kids loved theirs) and the service was first class - informal and relaxed but also polite and attentive.

Prices were also very reasonable and compared favourably with all the to end Port Douglas restaurants, indeed I believe it was slightly cheaper.

Following lunch we took a wander through the resort - they provide you with a map of the resort and various walking trails. We meandered down through the trees to a superb beach and stayed here for a few hours, watching the eagles swooping above us. The beach stretched on for a few kms, bordered by palm trees etc. We only saw about half a dozen people in two hours.

We returned back to reception and our car was returned to us - they provide free valet parking. A wonderful way to spend a few hours, just don't tell anyone !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Haggis_Supper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

This is a lovely restaurant and well worth the 10 minute trip from Port Douglas. There were four of us for lunch and all four had something different and all enjoyed our meals. The desserts were delicious as well. The service was impeccable and the views wonderful. The view up the coast to the north and down the coast to the south are spectacular. Worth taking some walking shoes and wandering down to the private beach of the resort. The restaurant is an open air restaurant i.e. no windows which creates a beautiful breeze

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RickyG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, General Manager at Osprey's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thala_management, General Manager at Osprey's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osprey's Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Osprey's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing