We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good relaxing villas, but not excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Niramaya Villas and Spa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good relaxing villas, but not excellent”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

What a great place to relax in full privacy.

However, there are a couple of downside to this great property:
- no internet in our villa because it was out of range (how annoying)
- we had issues with trash disposal (was not collected daily and given the heat, started to smell bad and attract animals)
- poor bed (very uncomfortable and low)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    51
    28
    5
    7
See reviews for
96
99
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I give it 95/100 ... If it wasn't for the slow and I responsive service I give it 100/100.
The villas are just superb. The attached pool is fantastic and inviting.
The quality of the villa, amenities and surrounding are superb.
In summary, just GREAT.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevelerFB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here over the recent New Years break and it was fantastic - We had a 4 bedroom villa with 6 people staying. The place was simply awesome.

All the facilities where top notch, rooms clean, private pool was amazing and the toiletries (L'Occitane) where nice !

Really good place to stay - ideal for large groups and families who want to do nothing but relax !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pwadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

When I book accommodation, I am often a bit dubious about the photos and whether the actual experience will be what is shown. The photos did not do this place justice - it was incredible! The check-in service was efficient and pleasant and we were shown to our villa in the first stage development. The layout of the villa was spectacular.. from the open planned living and dining area through to the outdoor sanctuary with rainforest views (completely private!) and plunge pool through to the spacious master bedroom with vast ensuite. The villa works by way of 'passive cooling', allowing the spaces to be cooled by natural breeze and ceiling fans. The high vaulted ceilings add to this effect. It was lovely to be able to sleep with all the doors open (flywire available to keep out mosquitos and other creepy crawleys) and not need aircon. In saying that, for a couple of days that we were there we resorted to aircon because the humidity did become a little overwhelming. It worked well though as you were able to completely shut up each individual section as required. The full kitchen was a great facility although be mindful that there are no condiments such as salt/pepper to use. We had a rental car to use which made travel around Pt Douglas effortless so I'm not sure what the town shuttle would be like - def recommend having a vehicle to get around. All in all, a very pleasant, relaxing stay, and one that we wouldn't hesitate in revisiting and/or recommending. Treat yourself.

Room Tip: For complete privacy I'd recommend requesting a rainforest view. Although the golf course view v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve8010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We - a family of four with two young adult children - stayed at Niramaya for 6 nights over Christmas 2013. The standard of accommodation was excellent with high quality fixtures and fittings throughout. It seems that the new management team have really attended to previous feedback and have installed free wifi and provided attentive service throughout our stay - with plenty of dishwasher tabs and washing powder and a very thorough service on day three.

The resort gardens are beautifully manicured and provide a real sanctuary of peace - although lots of wildlife noises! The garage attached to the villa was a welcome surprise. We had a three bedroom villa and all were of a good size with the Master bedroom being extra special. The air con worked well. The infinity plunge pool with waterfall feature was glorious and was much bigger than usual plunge pools. The indoor / outdoor flow of the villa worked well and there is a small garden area as well as an outdoor eating area. Lighting in the villa and garden was done very well and could be used to create a wonderful nighttime ambiance.

Dinner at the new Nasa restaurant was five star - my husband was particularly impressed citing our first meal there as being one of the best he has ever had. The service there was fabulous too - a special thanks to Hailey!

I was slightly apprehensive when booking Niramaya because of some of the previous trip advisor feedback, but I am delighted to report that our stay there was fantastic and that we would love to return someday. Driving around Port Douglas we checked out some of the other contenders for our Christmas stay and agreed that we had definitely made the right choice with Niramaya.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebboKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

8 of us recently stayed at Villa 39. The villa is extremely spacious with two oversized master bedrooms and two other double rooms with en suites. The pool area is excellent with loungers, a day bed with shade and plenty of beach/pool towels were supplied. Two BBQs with plenty of seating for everyone made it perfect for our Christmas stay. Plenty of glasses, cutlery and kitchenware for us to cook in the villa over the 4 nights. Excellent sound system too for when we were laying round the pool. Debbie was a huge help even coming in on Christmas Day as we weren't too sure how to work the air con!! It was resolved quickly and we were cool again. Great location for beaches and activities, highly recommend the reef sprinter speedboat ride to the inner reef, we had perfect snorkelling conditions as well as perfect weather considering we were told it was the wet season. Cannot recommend this accommodation enough!! Would love to return again soon.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye1571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

My sister in law booked a two bed villa so we didn't know what to expect. When the staff member showed us around we felt truly blessed. The villa was beautiful in a Thai style giving privacy from neighbouring villas but also we had privacy from the in laws divided by a lovely outdoor water feature with water Lilly's and a resident frog and tadpoles! The plunge pool, lounge area and the way the main living area can be opened up with its large sliding doors was beautifully planned out. Not sure how much she paid but my sister in law did well! - the comunual pool is set in a lovely area to by the main reception. It was off season so was very peaceful. Can imagine the price shoots up in season but a truly stunning retreat

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieRyanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.2 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 43 in Port Douglas
459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#4 of 56 in Port Douglas
435 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
2.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niramaya Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niramaya Villas and Spa

Property: Niramaya Villas and Spa
Address: 1 Bale Drive, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Niramaya Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niramaya Villas and Spa is a 5 star resort situated in Port Douglas Far North Queensland consists of 53 Villas of 1, 2,3,and 4 bedroom all with own plunge pools, outdoor dining with gas fired BBQs. Main suite has its own dressing room, bath, separate shower and outdoor shower. The villas are fully equipped with a full kitchen, laundry, and overlooking golf green or lake or rainforest. The are all in a private garden setting with own secure garage with electric gates. The is a full reception with 35 metre pool, tennis court, gym, spa, golf green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Niramaya Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing