We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My happy place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Niramaya Villas and Spa
Warrnambool
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“My happy place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

You know when you're a bit stressed and need to think of something that makes you happy? Niramaya is that happy place for me. We stayed for 10 nights in November and it seriously was not long enough.
I was moved to tears when we were first shown our villa, it truly was that beautiful. The pictures on the internet did not do it justice. Shutting the gate, we entered a whole new world of tranquility, not to mention luxury. The setting on the edge of the rainforest was perfect and made the villa even more quiet and private than the others that face the main driveway.
The open plan was unique and helpful in allowing the air to circulate. We ended up not using the second bedroom we booked for bubs, just because it felt a bit odd having her 'down the path' from us. The master bedroom was massive and was able to accommodate the portacot easily. The bathrooms were stunning, even the views from the loo!
A few things to keep in mind if travelling with a toddler: there are stepping stones over a small pond water feature inside the front entrance and there is a steep, rocky drop off at the edge of the garden where it meets the rainforest.
The glorious pool has a glass fence, stunning daybed inside a Balinese thatched hut and was used multiple times a day. The outdoor shower was ideal as well. Worth noting that the pool pump does not turn on until 10am ( a long wait for us melting southerners waking early in the heat!) and switches off again at 6. I didn't think it would be an issue, but by 7 the water surface was covered in insects, so we couldn't swim at night.
Free wifi was a great bonus and all the amenities were spot on. Certainly didn't mind, nor need the villa serviced anymore than the standard every four days.
The reception girls were lovely, as were the meals and staff at Rasa Restaurant who treated us like royalty.
I could not recommend Niramaya highly enough to anyone looking for a luxury escape, just writing this has me tempted to google some deals so I can get back there again ASAP!

Room Tip: Rainforest views are quieter and more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henrysbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    51
    27
    5
    7
See reviews for
95
100
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed in a four room villa in May 2014 with a total of four couples.
This place deserves a much higher rating as it is quite spectacular.
It is spacious, modern ,clean and I believe it has a five star rating. The plunge pool in our villa was fantastic and utilised most days during our five night stay.
The management need to return to "management class 101" for some pretty basic lessons.
Leaking cistern in an Onsuite, piezo igniter on gas BBQ no. 2 not working, kitchen tongs useless, kitchen utensils in general (small frypan, wine glasses not enough for 8 people) not able to cope with 8 people just to mention a few.
Previous messages on this www have raised similar issues but it doesn't appeared to have any effect.
It is not the function of guests to report this long list of shortcomings. Surely when guest/s leave a full inventory of what's working/not working is conducted.......surely?

Room Tip: Some traffic noise may be evident from the main road depending on where your villa is in the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colin270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed over the Easter Long weekend. The villa was excellent. The 'sliding wall' of door which opened up along with all the shutters made day time very pleasant with a breeze rolling throughout day. The bedroom was in a second building to the villa which we found odd and because it didn't have TV in the bedroom so we went to bed at different times in on a couple of nights.

The home theatre didn't hook up to TV and the remote didn't work - small things like this make a difference when you are expecting full service luxury.

Bathroom was big and reasonably well appointed other than the fact toiletries aren't replenished for a 4 night stay. We had a regular shower head where a rain shower would have been nice.

Rooms are only serviced after the 4th night which is not what we expected for $480 per night. I wanted to pay for additional cleaning ($150 for a full clean or 60 for change of towels sheets and sweep of floor) but they failed to sweep floors but they were good enough not to charge me at all. Overall the people providing service were fantastic.

The spa was great and the massage was outstanding.

The restaurant casual menu had enough to keep our taste buds entertained although the lunch and dinner menus could have had more choice for vegetarians.

Overall an enjoyable and relaxing stay however we weren't overwhelmed which is what we would have liked. Maybe asking too much but we have had wondrous experiences at other properties in a similar price range.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ananth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I booked a 3 night getaway in March for my husband's 30th birthday. We had stayed at Niramaya before it changed hands, and believed it was super luxurious and very 5 star in terms of service. Well, this time it was very different. We arrived to find there was no working telephone in the room. Big issue as the reception was patchy at best. There was nobody at reception to assist us with ANYTHING. My husband went around one day to seek help calling the shuttle bus, and was handed the number and told to call himself. Not what you expect for over $500 a night. We were less than impressed that we weren't advised that we would not get any assistance from reception as they simply were not there or that the bar and restaurant were not open. The Spa was not even open. Nothing was actually open. The reception was unattended the whole time we were there. I would not go there unless it was in peak season, as the service you get is so poor it is ridicuous. Drop the price during these times to take into account that you don't get the type of service that comes along with this price tag. The nail in the coffin was when my husband called the after hours reception number to ask what we do when we check out as nobody was there. He was told to leave the keys at the reception desk. I would hate to have been an international traveller who did not have a telephone to use, or could not speak very good English. The villas are absolutely stunning (if a little unkept) and this was the best part about our stay. It is really just a self contained villa and not really worth the luxury tag as you really are expected (during off peak) to look out for yourself in terms of booking things, calling taxi's and the shuttle bus and cleaning. I would strongly recommend that you look at hiring a car during this period, as taxis are slow and unreliable (we waited an hour for a taxi to arrive after calling) and the shuttle bus is expensive at approx $9 return PP. If we returned, it would defintely be in peak season as it is not worth the money otherwise.

Room Tip: Ask for a rainforest view villa, so that you have complete privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cheekyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

What a great place to relax in full privacy.

However, there are a couple of downside to this great property:
- no internet in our villa because it was out of range (how annoying)
- we had issues with trash disposal (was not collected daily and given the heat, started to smell bad and attract animals)
- poor bed (very uncomfortable and low)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
145 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I give it 95/100 ... If it wasn't for the slow and I responsive service I give it 100/100.
The villas are just superb. The attached pool is fantastic and inviting.
The quality of the villa, amenities and surrounding are superb.
In summary, just GREAT.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevelerFB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here over the recent New Years break and it was fantastic - We had a 4 bedroom villa with 6 people staying. The place was simply awesome.

All the facilities where top notch, rooms clean, private pool was amazing and the toiletries (L'Occitane) where nice !

Really good place to stay - ideal for large groups and families who want to do nothing but relax !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pwadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.4 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#4 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
2.3 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niramaya Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niramaya Villas and Spa

Property: Niramaya Villas and Spa
Address: 1 Bale Drive, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Niramaya Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Niramaya Villas and Spa is a 5 star resort situated in Port Douglas Far North Queensland consists of 53 Villas of 1, 2,3,and 4 bedroom all with own plunge pools, outdoor dining with gas fired BBQs. Main suite has its own dressing room, bath, separate shower and outdoor shower. The villas are fully equipped with a full kitchen, laundry, and overlooking golf green or lake or rainforest. The are all in a private garden setting with own secure garage with electric gates. The is a full reception with 35 metre pool, tennis court, gym, spa, golf green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Niramaya Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing