We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice gelati with amazing selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shakes Gelati bar

Shakes Gelati bar
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Very nice gelati with amazing selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Really tasty gelati with a great selection of flavours and options. Good value for money and appears to be a favourite in Port Douglas. Only problem was that I had trouble trying to work out which flavours to have as there were so many choices. Nice!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Aussie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    95
    22
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A family favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have been going to Port Douglas for 15 years. Ever since Shakes came on the scene it has been our favourite ice cream place ever. We walk up most evenings to get an ice cream treat. The service is fantastic and the ice creams and sorbets are beautiful. My favourite has to be the burnt caramel. Family favourites include the mocha, rum and raisin, cookies and cream, chocolate and chocolate mint. Just work your way through the list - you will not be disappointed, I promise!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank PF1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Victoria
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best icecream in PD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We loved Shakes, we had ice cream here 3 times and several times last year. My favourite is the 'Choc Madness Sundae' with whipped cream. Its service with a smile and a great choice of ice cream flavors, will definitely be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrisemmalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Boysenberry Icecream ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Put this on your list who doesn't want an ice cream and a good one at that whilst holidaying in Port Douglas? Love supporting the locals and the owners were more than helpful and had a good sense of humour. Best. Icecream. Ever!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Over priced icecream”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Although the shop itself is quite nice, this gelato store is still ordinary. They offer a variety of products but the flavours we tried -white choc, burnt toffee and sweet caramel were unimpressive. I would have rathered popping into Coles down the road and saved my money

Helpful?
3 Thank laurajane7691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakes Gelati bar also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Shakes Gelati bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing