We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Nicholas”
Review of Daintree Safaris

Daintree Safaris
Ranked #21 of 78 Tours in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Daintree Safaris and Nicholas Fox conduct luxury, four wheel drive day tours from Port Douglas to the oldest rain forest on Earth. We carry a maximum of just six guests per day, travelling exclusively in the comfort of a spacious, late model Toyota 200 series Land Cruiser, featuring individual air conditioning and equal legroom throughout. We’ll cross The Daintree River by cable ferry on our way to the Jindalba board-walks. Enjoy a morning tea of home-made muffins and locally grown tea or freshly ground plunger coffee. See two World Heritage sites meet as the Daintree Rainforest and the Great Barrier Reef touch at Cape Tribulation's beach. Take advantage of a true locals knowledge and enjoy our secret, sparkling swimming hole. Savour frosty, tropical delights at The Daintree Ice Cream Company while you stroll through their beautiful gardens. Then, stop for a photo, at the scenic Alexandra Lookout. Lunch, well sit back relax and dine, a la carte, in any weather at The Daintree Tea House Restaurant. Enjoy a choice of Chicken, Beef, Vegetarian and allergy free meals or perhaps you'd like to try our tropical speciality, Barramundi. All dishes are served with salad, chips, fresh bread and a large array of tropical fruit. Your host will talk you through all the exotic locally grown delicacies as you enjoy your meal. Next we take you to The Daintree River Cruise Centre for a one hour guided wild life spotting cruise on the Daintree River. Perhaps we'll spot one of our giant Saltwater Crocodiles. With World Heritage Accreditation and over twenty year’s local experience, Daintree Safaris knows how to show you the best of our beautiful region in comfort and style.
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My wife Carol, son Nicholas & I thoroughly enjoyed the 1 day tour through Daintree Forest and highly recommend same. Along with 2 others, the tour was small and personal and owner/operator & tour guide, Nicholas Fox was fantastic in not only his knowledge of the region and its history, .but his friendly and warm manner. thanks Nicholas! The homemade scones for morning tea and the fabulous lunch was really great, topped off by a refreshing swim in Mossman Gorge .. Not to mention crocodile sightings and the really interesting wildlife and fauna.. All wonderfully. & succinctly described in amazing detail by Nicholas, who, by his own admission, was "firing on all fours" thanks to modern medication (lol). A great time had by all. 10 out of 10. Cheers, Ren, Carol & Nicholas, Sydney, NSW, Australia

Thank DADDYMAZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemaree H, Owner at Daintree Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2012

Wow, what a lovely surprise to read your review, thanks so much for spending the day with us. It was a pleasure to have your family along for the safari, Thanks also for taking the time to write this it means a great deal to us. See you again soon we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

254 - 258 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

We were recommended this tour by the resort for a small & personal tour as well as having a little bit extra. We were not disappointed. Nic was knowledgable, patient & completing professional. Had a great day, missed seeing a cassowary but u get that, would highly recommend to all.

Thank littlemyrtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemaree H, Owner at Daintree Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Nicholas & I would like to thank you very much for choosing to visit The Daintree with us, we love sharing this beautiful rainforest with our visitors & we are so happy to know that you enjoyed your day so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Having been to many countries such as Mexico, Costa Rica, China, and France this was the best tour experience I have ever had. The owner/operator Nicholas is a walking encyclopedia of knowledge on local flora and fauna. It was a very relaxing day, and there was never any pressure or rush to go to the next stop or do anything. Nick was very upfront about how hard it might be to see some of the rarer species such as the cassowary and the dragon lizard. We were lucky to be able to spot both as well as multiple young and old crocodiles,, but would have likely missed it if it wasn't for Nick's great eye. The ice cream was excellent, and there was no pressure to buy. It was also nice that the tour didn't go to any of those hokey tourist traps. The lunch provided with the tour was delicious and informative with many local fruits along with a protein of your choice. Overall this was the best tour experience I have ever had and would highly recommend it to anyone in the area on vacation.

Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemaree H, Owner at Daintree Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Thank you John for such a great review, what a lucky day we had yesterday, the wildlife sure came out from the forest. It was a pleasure to have you both along for the day & we are thrilled that you had such a good time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Having been to many countries around the world and experienced many different tours, i must say this one has been the best by far. Nick is so full of knowledge about the local area and is so patient - answering many questions throughout the day. We were lucky to spot a cassowary & a number of crocs in their natural environment. Food was fantastic, so too was the dip in mossman gorge. Would definately recommend this tour to all.

Thank Dieseldamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemaree H, Owner at Daintree Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

That is so very kind of you, we are just new to TripAdvisor (better late than never) & we are blown away by the wonderful comments. Thank you, it means a great deal to us. Hope to see you back up this way again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Having been recommended this tour from our Freestyle Resort accommodation, we were not disappointed. Nicholas (our guide) made the whole day so interesting and, even though we did not spot a cassowary and only saw one crocodile, we felt we were in the midst of a whole new experience.

Thank Laurence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemaree H, Owner at Daintree Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thanks for making us a part of your holiday in Tropical North Queensland & thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review, hope to see you back up here soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Daintree Safaris also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Daintree Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing