We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant modern studio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
Ranked #39 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Elegant modern studio”
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I would highly recommend Room 9 for luxury, space, and comfort. It has been beautifully done, complete with large shower and a super free standing bath. The kitchen has everything you need. The reason my review didn't get five stars is that friends were staying too, and had the two bedroom suite Room 4, which is well laid out, but quite tired, and full of bossy notices.
There is a nice pool, and the service is friendly and efficient. Good location too, but you need a car to get around.

Room Tip: See above. Some have been renovated, so its worth asking. Room 9 was great, but on the first floor w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilibetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CDW4000, General Manager at The Mediterranean - Port Douglas, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
We thank this guest for the comments. Just one point of clarification for other travellers. This guest booked and stayed in one of our Deluxe Studio Suites which has some kitchen facilities. Please note that our Standard Studio Suites only have tea and coffee making facilities and do not have kitchen or laundry facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    19
    11
    0
    12
See reviews for
23
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked this place online for a family holiday. Overall our experience was good as we spent most of our time at the beach or out anyway. However, there were a few things that certainly left The Mediterranean short of being "luxury" accommodation.
Be aware that each suite is owned individually, and from what we can tell, maintenance is up to the individual owner. Our 2 bedroom executive suite that we booked was a great layout, but was very tired. We couldn't see that much had been done in a very long time. There were light fittings with their glass covers missing, smoke detectors hanging lifeless and broken from the ceiling,doors bloated and cracked from moisture and was in desperate need of paint. It was such a shame, because so little was needed to really make it great, but it did change the whole impression of the place.
Also, the pool is Arctic! And so is the spa! But I am aware that this is common place across most of Queensland. Also, it is definitely not a 10-15 minute walk to town. We are young and active and it was definitely at least 20minutes. Which we didn't mind but may bother some.
The complex also has a number of permanent residents, this wasn't really a problem but changed the atmosphere a little. The wireless is only available in the front foyer.... crazy in this day and age!
The staff there were very hospitable and friendly. They spend a lot of time cleaning and maintaining the external assets, it's a shame that their work is overshadowed by the experience indoors. I saw other trip-advisors made comment about the fact you have to buy extra toilet paper etc. I think this was more a deterrent. I wasn't offended by this.
So all in all an OK place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leens_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Our stay at The Mediterranean was disappointing. The room was very basically furnished, the exhaust fan in the bathroom didn't work and wasn't fixed during our 5 day stay. The corkscrew in the drawer was rusted shut. There was no room service during the entire stay. Once basics like coffee/sugar/toilet paper were finished, there was a charge of $2 to get more!! There was also a $5 charge for a towel at the pool. We definitely would not recommend this hotel for a pleasant or value-for-money experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Beautiful place to stay at 10 minutes walk from thé Town. Shuttles also available every 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Place very very quiet. Pool and battus outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We are last minute travelers. We were in a group of 5: 2 couples and one single.As such, we needed 3 bedrooms.

Found this hotel on Wotif, 185$ a night for 3 rooms! Very good price! But we were kinda suspicious, because it seemed so good!

So I called the hotel up, to confirm the price and to ask whether it wasn't a damp room with a highway view . And they said it wasn't, in fact it was on the last floor with a cute view.

Anyways, we arrived late and Craig was sooo nice! Gave us tips of what to do... And what regional beer to drink! ;)

Unit was very clean, beds were nice. Rooms were large. Living room an dinning room also large!

It was awesome! I would defintly say there again and recommend it.

Summary: 3 bedroom unit was large, clean, silent. Very good price. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hschilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooya Beach
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed two nights in lovely, roomy suite with everything we needed. Port Douglas is within walking distance but a bit hot to walk in Summer. A local bus passes right outside the door and comes every 10-15 min. Management is really helpful and has time for a chat and can recommend some nice cafe's and restaurants in Port. We had a great time!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaShine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Very good accomodation, Rooms clean & spacious, pool good. well worth staying there.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headgreenkeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
793 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
292 reviews
1.3 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#36 of 43 in Port Douglas
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 43 in Port Douglas
472 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
#33 of 43 in Port Douglas
61 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 43 in Port Douglas
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mediterranean - Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mediterranean - Port Douglas

Property: The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
Address: 9 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mediterranean - Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Mediterranean - Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Suites The Mediterranean Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing