We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I am a local and I highly recommend the Lazy Lizard to anyone traveling to Port Douglas.Two of my sisters came up to visit me and while here,we stayed one night at this motel.My only regret?It was only one night.The cleanliness and space within the room was only surpassed by Penny and Jim! I have stayed in many hotels and these two people beat them all.So accommodating,relaxed and welcoming,really make you feel like you are staying alongside with them in their own home.They are a credit to themselves and the industry they work within.
I will certainly be spreading the word to anyone wishing to find perfect accommodation while in Port Douglas and YES every time I have visitors a night or two At The Lazy Lizard will be on my entertainment schedule.!
Denise Kewarra Beach QLD.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for making the time to review the Lazy Lizard, we really enjoy ensuring our guests have a memorable stay. Many thanks for your comments, we appreciate your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

537 - 543 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

I stayed at the Lazy Lizard Motor Inn for one night with two sisters and from the time we parked our car I was extremely happy. Upon opening the door I could not believe how spacious and clean our room was. We swam in the pool/spa which is spotless and I love the extra of having 'pool friendly' glasses. Jim and Penny went beyond their call of duty and were there to assist us in any possible way that they could. I am from Victoria and I highly recommend this establishment to any other fellow Victorians. Thankyou both for such an enjoyable stay, Marg.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate your in depth review and comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

I have to agree with the best budget accommodation in Australia title.
Check in was quick and easy. Carparking is free. The room spacious. We had 1 queen bed and 1 single bed in our room. There was a 2 seater couch desk space, a well stocked kitchenette and a generously sized bathroom.
We were able to borrow beach towels to take with us to the beach.
Lazy lizard is just a few minutes drive to the main street of Port Douglas.
Check out was again quick and easy. We were provided with a map and ideas for ways to spend our day up in Cape Tribulation. Great genuine service.
We only stayed one night as a place to rest our head but would also be ideal for families or people wanting to stay in Port for a few nights without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiKateinCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2013

Thank you for staying at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to write your in depth review. Your comments are really valued, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This hotel is excellent value. The room was spacious and there was lots of room to put clothes etc. Very nice bathroom and comfortable bed. Self catering facilities were also most welcome as I was trying to eat healthily. What I particularly would like to comment on is the helpfulness of the proprietors Penny and Jim while I was unwell during my stay and had to stay in Cairns Base Hospital.
They set the tone for the Lazy Lizard which is excellent anyway and is made more so by them.

Room Tip: It can be very hot in Cairns and the layout of all the rooms is shaded from the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2013

Many thanks for making the time to write your review and staying with us. Your comments are much appreciated, we trust you are recovering.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed here 3 nights with my son. We had only planned to stay 2 nights but there was so much to see and do around Port Douglas, and this hotel was so nice, we changed our plans!

Our hosts, Jim and Penny gave us great information about sightseeing and treated us like family. Our room was clean, well appointed and budget friendly. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into the cute town of Port Douglas. Or you can take a shuttle bus that runs about every 20 minutes until midnight.

Port Douglas is the perfect jumping off place to snorkel on the Great Barrier Reef and also to see the Daintree Forest and so many other sights. The Best Western Lazy Lizard is a gem! Make sure you spend at least 3 nights here!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenick7456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you for making the time to review our property, we appreciate your in depth review and comments. Many thanks for choosing the Lazy Lizard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Our stay at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn was delightful. Penny was the most kind and helpful hostess who did more than enough for us, giving valuable advices, booking trips, and recommending restaurants. Everything was clean & homely in the oversized appartment including sitting room, bedroom, kitchen and bathroom. The property, including a nice swimming pool and barbecue area, is well situated, quiet and well maintained. It is very close to Seven Mile Beach, but not in short walking distance from the restaurants and shops downtown, a 6-7' ride by car to go there.
We highly recommend staying at the Lazy Lizard Motor Inn for its quality, comfort, service and value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bocopitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for staying with us and making the time to write your review. We appreciate your comments, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We recently enjoyed four nights in this spotlessly clean, quiet, well situated and excellently maintained Lazy Lizard Motor Inn in Port Douglas after having enjoyed a previous one night Best Western experience in Port Campbell in Victoria. Penny and Jim, at the Lazy Lizard, were the most kind and helpful hosts who could not do enough for us. Their local knowledge was invaluable in booking trips and recommending restaurants.etc. We would definitely stay there again. Their swimming pool and BBQ area was delightful. We did not need the facilities of a full resort (eg restaurants or fitness centres) as excursions were planned for each of our days in Port Douglas. We would recommend the Lazy Lizard highly to anyone who wants quality, comfort, fantastic service and value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared as excellent ast ours --- 21 and 23.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for making the time to write your review, we really appreciate your in depth comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.8 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
268 reviews
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,062 reviews
1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
551 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Best Western Lazy Lizard Mtr Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £59 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing