We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

You won't get a better Best Western than this. Enormous rooms. Very modern, clean and well equipped. Great pool area. Penny and Jim were brilliant. So helpful, booking all our trips and even advice re our onward trip to New Zealand. A bit of a walk to the main shopping area, but Port Douglas is just so pretty, we really enjoyed the stroll, so left the car outside our room. This Motor Inn deserves its high ranking on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cassidy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the B/W Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. Our room which was spacious and clean comprised of a sofa, small table and chairs, double and single bed, kitchen area, bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle, a second table and chairs outside. The grounds are well kept, with a tropical feel and small swimming pool. The guest laundry consists of a washer and 2 dryers which we thought ideal and made good use of. Jim and Penny are superb hosts, nothing too much trouble, recommending and arranging for Exemplar Coaches who are excellent to meet us at the airport baggage claim. We went out to the Great Barrier Reef with Calypso who were also superb and to Kuranda via the scenic train and skyrail, Jim arranged both of these on our behalf. We walked into the centre of Port Douglas a 20 minute walk throughout our stay, there are regular local buses that stop opposite and cost $4 single or $7 return, we caught the bus back late at night if it was raining and were dropped off at the door.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Many thanks for staying with us at The Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. A small kitchenette with microwave, toaster etc. You really need a car, it is after all a “Motor Inn” - only 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach but a 20 minute walk to the shopping area. There is no view from the rooms, so only suitable as a comfortable place to sleep. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you completing the survey, and for your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a great hotel - If you are looking for a nice, clean and friendly hotel, look no further. Jim and his wife Penny are the most amazing people, extremely helpful and kind. They helped me organise my snorkelling trip and my airport transfers. My room had two beds with a small kitchen and bathroom. I hardly spent any time indoors (why should you when you are in Oz). The pool is small but very clean and Penny (Jim's wife) taught me to snorkel before I ventured into the ocean the following day. I was travelling on my own and Jim and Penny made my trip very special. They even gave me a couple of lifts to the town centre and back (about 15 minutes’ walk) so that I could buy food. They were also very kind to my new-found girlfriend who was staying nearby, by letting us use their bikes. I am just sorry I didn't get a chance to write this review earlier but even now, 10 months later, I still think of my stay in Port Douglas and remember how great this hotel was. I hope to be back someday soon! Thanks Jim and Penny x

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM_MK56221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us, we appreciate you making the time to review our property and for your kind comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights the hotel was well appointed, clean and had a lovely large comfy bed. Only saw Jim but he was extremely helpful regarding trips etc. BBQ and nice swimming pool to use. Only down side was the walk into town about 20 - 25 minutes, didn't realise that this time of the year was out of season so not much open in the evening to eat or have a drink, no fault of the hotel whatsoever. Had the breakfast option which was good as it was delivered to your room the evening before so no pressure to get up early the next morning which was nice after a long journey.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine&ivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Many thanks for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you making the time to completing the survey, yes this is a time when businesses often close for a break. Luckily there are so many in the area. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A spacious room with nice and helpful proprietors. I would prefer if the rooms were sunnier, a bit more modern and higher than the ground floor. Also I did not particularly like having a fleet of cars outside my door but this is how motels usually are. All in all I am content with this motel although it is not my favorite style.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikosItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the lazy Lizard, and for completing the survey. I think it is about expectations, this style of accommodation is our strong point, single story being able to have a undercover park close to your room and quiet are all positives. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

we stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our stay. Quiet but still close to town. Run by very nice and helpful people. Best if you have a car with grills avalable for cooking in. Bikes avalable and the reef is just steps away. Loved it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.8 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
249 reviews
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,020 reviews
1.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
896 reviews
0.9 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Best Western Lazy Lizard Mtr Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £65 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing