We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow Shropshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We are so glad that we chose The Lazy Lizard for our stay in Port Douglas. The room we had was quiet and very spacious with good facilities and it was spotless. We were given a continental breakfast on a tray each day which was plenty for the two of us. The grounds are beautifully kept and planted with interesting trees and shrubs. The motel is well away from the main road so we were not disturbed by traffic.

Penny and Jim are the best hosts anyone could wish for. We had recently had news of a personal family tragedy and they could not have been kinder or more understanding and helpful. They also gave the best advice on visiting the area and helped with the bookings too.

I would be very happy to recommend The Lazy Lizard to anyone visiting Port Douglas.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fussybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    100
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
131
262
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meldreth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We found this motel in an Internet search and it lived up to expectations in every respect. The room was comfortable and well equipped. Cooking facilities were limited to a microwave but there was a barbecue for general use.

The pool wasn't huge but very adequate for a decent swim.

Jim and Penny were excellent hosts, Jim giving us very good recommendations for day trips, particularly when to go on a boat trip to the Great Barrier Reef and which companies to look at. Our choice of Calypso was first rate as their excursion was first rate.

The motel is about 2 km from the town centre so easily accessible. There's also a walk through to the long beach but we didn't swim there because of possible stingers, being the end of the rainy season.

It's not far from Mossman Gorge and Daintree Forest/Village, which make a great day out. Kuranda is about 45 mins away and another must for a day trip. We took the train up and the Skyrail gondola back, Doing it this way round gives most flexibility on timings for return.

Room Tip: All rooms looked pretty much the same. Ours was at the far end, away from the road but can't im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidFromMeldreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for deciding to stay with us at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate your comments and for you making time to complete the survey. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, TN
Level Contributor
174 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is a good option if staying in Port Douglas. Just know it is between a 20 to 30 minute walk {depending how fast you walk} to the main part of town. And if you have a car, you can just park in town, there are plenty of public parking spaces. The beds were ok, the mattress was a little hard for my liking but when you are tired, it doesn't matter. The bath was large, separate shower and tub. Plus you have a mini kitchenette with a long counter. There is plenty of room to set things on. Also there is couch. But best of all is the free internet in your room. I found the connection to be good, every once in a while it would freeze, but only for a few seconds. The connection is fast enough to watch videos on your computer.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank twinkles200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard. We appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

You won't get a better Best Western than this. Enormous rooms. Very modern, clean and well equipped. Great pool area. Penny and Jim were brilliant. So helpful, booking all our trips and even advice re our onward trip to New Zealand. A bit of a walk to the main shopping area, but Port Douglas is just so pretty, we really enjoyed the stroll, so left the car outside our room. This Motor Inn deserves its high ranking on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cassidy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the B/W Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mgarr, Malta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights. Our room which was spacious and clean comprised of a sofa, small table and chairs, double and single bed, kitchen area, bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle, a second table and chairs outside. The grounds are well kept, with a tropical feel and small swimming pool. The guest laundry consists of a washer and 2 dryers which we thought ideal and made good use of. Jim and Penny are superb hosts, nothing too much trouble, recommending and arranging for Exemplar Coaches who are excellent to meet us at the airport baggage claim. We went out to the Great Barrier Reef with Calypso who were also superb and to Kuranda via the scenic train and skyrail, Jim arranged both of these on our behalf. We walked into the centre of Port Douglas a 20 minute walk throughout our stay, there are regular local buses that stop opposite and cost $4 single or $7 return, we caught the bus back late at night if it was raining and were dropped off at the door.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Many thanks for staying with us at The Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you making the time to complete the survey and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. A small kitchenette with microwave, toaster etc. You really need a car, it is after all a “Motor Inn” - only 5 minutes walk to the nearest beach but a 20 minute walk to the shopping area. There is no view from the rooms, so only suitable as a comfortable place to sleep. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Lazy Lizard, we appreciate you completing the survey, and for your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is a great hotel - If you are looking for a nice, clean and friendly hotel, look no further. Jim and his wife Penny are the most amazing people, extremely helpful and kind. They helped me organise my snorkelling trip and my airport transfers. My room had two beds with a small kitchen and bathroom. I hardly spent any time indoors (why should you when you are in Oz). The pool is small but very clean and Penny (Jim's wife) taught me to snorkel before I ventured into the ocean the following day. I was travelling on my own and Jim and Penny made my trip very special. They even gave me a couple of lifts to the town centre and back (about 15 minutes’ walk) so that I could buy food. They were also very kind to my new-found girlfriend who was staying nearby, by letting us use their bikes. I am just sorry I didn't get a chance to write this review earlier but even now, 10 months later, I still think of my stay in Port Douglas and remember how great this hotel was. I hope to be back someday soon! Thanks Jim and Penny x

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MM_MK56221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJE007, Owner at Lazy Lizard Motor Inn, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us, we appreciate you making the time to review our property and for your kind comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
4.9 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#6 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.8 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Property: Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing