We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay good rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“great place to stay good rates”
Reviewed 25 January 2009

A great motel, good size rooms with kitchenette, sitting area, shower and bath also patio and undercover parking. Great little pool, quiet location just out of town. Only downsides, no cooked breakfast available but continental provided free. Wifi was intermittant in room. Overall exelent.

  • Liked — standard of accommodation and pool
  • Disliked — no hoy breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    112
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
174
298
32
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, CA
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2008

This is the perfect motel. Great managers (Leslie and Bernie), great facilities (laundry, pool, internet, small kitchen in each room), and great location. Why stay at one of the fancy resorts when you can come and go as you please at the Lazy Lizard and have great support/help from Bernie and Lesley.

We stayed one night and then came back through a week later for two more nights. The rooms are large --we fit two adults and two children with plenty of room -- and very clean and spiffy. Bernie and Lesley answered our zillions of questions and helped us manage our travel needs all with a smile.

The location is about a 15-20 minute walk to the main part of town; much shorter if you are going directly to the beach.

Port Douglas is mostly a resort and tourist town. We used it soley as a jumping off point to the Barrier Reef. Otherwise, there are many more interesting towns and places up and down the coast. That said, the Lazy Lizard and the job that Bernie and Lesley do there make it highly recommendable.

  • Liked — friendy hosts combined with great facilities
  • Disliked — internet signal not too strong
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dhtchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2008

We stayed in the lazy lizard for six nights- we found it very clean, owners very helpful, excellent facilites with good parking space right outside, is a bit of a walk from town, but overall found it of very high standard and of value for money compared to other places we stayed in australia

  • Liked — very clean, spacious, good parking, value for money
  • Disliked — distance from the town
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sinsi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2007

We were staying in the Comfort Inn right next door to the Best Western when after 1 day we HAD to move hotels. The hotel owner at the Comfort Inn was downright creepy, the rooms were filthy, and we couldn't stand the horrible odor of the room. We walked to the Best Western and asked if they could book us for a week with no notice. The hotel owner was SO nice and shuffled a family to a larger room so that we could stay in the same room for the whole week. The Best Western rooms were very clean and inviting. There was a small kitchen area with just a fridge and sink. The A/C unit did a good job of cooling the room. The TV offered a number of international channels but only had local Australian channels in English. The Best Western is a solid 15 minute walk to town. It is closer to the beach but not the end of the beach with the food, lifeguards, and rental beach chairs. Even with the walk it was well-lit and there was a local corner store for beer, soda, and snacks nearby. The BW also had a bbq pit and a small pool on the premises. There were laundry machines available but were kinda pricey.

  • Liked — Helpful front desk, clean and comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — At the far end of town to walk but really a 15 minute walk only
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TallulahB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.9 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 42 in Port Douglas
592 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy Lizard Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Lizard Motor Inn

Property: Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Address: 121 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Best Western Lazy Lizard Mtr Inn)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#1 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lazy Lizard Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The largest motel rooms in Port at 46sq metres! FREE undercover parking and FREE WiFi. Set in tranquil tropical garden surrounds with saltwater pool. Rest and Relax and enjoy the quiet setting, away from the hustle and bustle. Enjoy a beverage on your patio or a lunch or dinner on the barbeque beside the pool. Aidan & Alex can offer advice on tours and book tours to the reef or rainforest and beyond, whatever suits your needs. We are a 12-minute walk to the beach and about 20 minutes to the main street. By car to Macrossan street is about 4 minutes and there is free parking in town. Rates are for 2 people. Maximum 4 people per Deluxe Queen Studio and King studio, 3 in a Queen studio and 5 in a family studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lazy Lizard Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Port Douglas
Port Douglas Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing