We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every minute of it . . . Hated going home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved every minute of it . . . Hated going home!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I just loved this hotel, everything about it. Spacious clean apartment with kitchen and everything supplied. Stunning pool with a swim up bar. On site day spa where we had 2 relaxing massages. Pool towels supplied with lots of comfy lounges next to the pool. All the staff were very friendly. We had no trouble finding a car park but I guess it may be difficult during school holidays. We liked being a bit out of town, wasn't a problem seeing we had a car. We were on the top floor with our room opening onto the stunning view of palm trees. What's not to love? We will be back again. Thanks so much Ramada for wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the gorgeous palm trees. We stayed in room C309. Great room with kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Micheled56_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    357
    145
    40
    23
See reviews for
223
441
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Very disappointed, we were really disappointed ,the room got no sun at all, we rented thru a private manager, and then when we asked resort for help,as well as the mangers,and told we were to have the same towels for a week, asked for fresh, no only change between renters. they just washed there hands of it.
Parking terrible, as I had a handicap person they had a couple of spots but they allowed anyone to park in them.never checked and answer was, what do you expect us to do.
Also no cooking allowed in room, so why have a microwave.
Would not recommend at all, also will be contacting the RACV, re the advertising.

Room Tip: Be careful of what you pay for, price may be reasonable but facilities terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woofwoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We just got back from our first trip to Australia. Our first stop was Port Douglas and the Ramada resort. The staff is absolutely wonderful! So friendly and helpful. The manager at the restaurant even loaned us some bug spray for our day trip to the rainforest. We asked him a few questions and he gave us lots of good information, and some bug spray! Very helpful and sweet. The rooms are just a bit older and the baths a bit tired, and our room had a view of a wall, but the resort overall is great and in a wonderful location. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to explore the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree Rainforest areas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wrldtravel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudgee, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights and were given the walk in rate, which was quite good.
The room was spacious enough for the 3 of us, but there was black hair in the bathroom before we even used it ( we are all blonde).
When we went to make up the sofa bed for our daughter, there was no linen. Had to walk all the way to the front desk and pick up the sheets myself. Not enough staff.
The room was cleaned the first morning as expected but not the second. When I rang to complain, the staff said walk in rate rooms were not serviced daily. Would have been nice to be told on check-in. Inconsistent. Free Wi-Fi but poor signal.
There was way too little parking and if you drive into town for dinner, you will have to park out on the main road when you get back as the parking area is full by 6pm.
The restaurant was nice, the food was tasty but servings were small and a bit pricey.
The pool was the best part of the whole place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The room was bare, there were blood stains on the sheets, outside our door was a beer bottle full of cigarette butts, our early check in wasn't fulfilled, staff seemed miserable and the whole resort had a bad atmosphere. 3 days after leaving my credit card was charges $50 without even so much as a phone call. I attempted to contact the manager with numerous phone calls and emails but now were responded to. The place is definitely one to avoid. There are some lovely resorts in port douglas, this certainly is not one of them.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The grounds are lovely, and they supposedly "upgraded" us to better room at no extra charge. My experience with the staff was very pleasant and the hotel location is great if you have your own car (although the car park is pretty limited ... there were several nights that I was concerned that I wouldn't be able to find a space when I returned to the hotel). Our room, while more spacious than most hotel rooms, seemed like a normal hotel room rather than an "upgraded" room ... but I don't know enough about all their room options to really know. The bathroom was very spacious. Ours was a first floor end unit (C114 I think) and the location was nice, just know that you have little less privacy with ground floor units because of all the people constantly walking past your windows. And our room felt damp when we first arrived, but that was nothing that a few hours with the A/C set on "dry" couldn't fix. My biggest issue was wifi ... in this day and age, where international travelers in particular often depend on wifi to connect with family at home, wifi should be included in the price. Free wifi was available at the pool and restaurant, but who wants to sit at the pool to make a call home? We ended up paying for wifi in our room. That alone would probably make me consider another option the next time we visit Port Douglas.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrEMan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is ok. The rooms are nice and modern and there is a great pool with a swim up bar. Our room had a full kitchen with everything we could possibly need to cook almost anything.
Just outside the rooms is less impressive. The corridor to the room is a dank and reminded me of a prison! I'm not sure why they chose a shade of sludge green... Our room on the ground floor opened onto a service alley and faced the hotel next door that had bright blue lights at night time. None of the rooms have balconies. If you are unlucky enough to have any of the many rooms that face either side of the property your view will either be this alley/blue hotel or a car park. Speaking of carpark, there were not nearly enough parking spots for the number of cars. A number of times we had to park on the Highway which made us a little nervous. It would be hard to stay here without a car because it is a fair way out of town. The last thing that bothered us, which is not really a deal breaker but it was a little disappointing, the spa that is advertised next to the pool is a day spa (an expensive one!) not a spa pool. There also was no bath in our room.
To end on a positive the staff were really nice and sitting by the pool at the bar was lovely. As I say it's not a terrible place, it's just lacking anything that makes it special.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the outside of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PoeticCrayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo C, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding your recent stay here at Ramada Port Douglas. We greatly appreciate your comments, as they help us in our effort to continually improve our level of service.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Ramada Port Douglas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.0 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
796 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Port Douglas

Property: Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Address: 316 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Mercure Port Douglas Treetops Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#14 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ramada Resort Port Douglas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in a topical oasis .... Located a short walk from Port Douglas' famous Four Mile Beach the Ramada Resort Port Douglas provides a laid back tropical oasis set amongst relaxing rainforest gardens. The centerpiece of the resort is the heated tropical lagoon pool complete with waterfall and swim-up bar. The resort surrounds a unique pocket of Melaleuca rainforest, free flowing waterways and delightful lily ponds. Large barramundi can be seen swimming in the ponds, native birds and Ulysses butterflies with the iridescent blue wings make the gardens their home. Ramada Resort Port Douglas is the perfect base to just kick back and relax or for those who wish to get out and experience the World Heritage rainforests, Great Barrier Reef or the many attractions, tours and activities the region has to offer. Spacious and air-conditioned rooms, on-site restaurant and bar and the modern resort facilities all combine to make the Ramada Resort the perfect choice for your Port Douglas holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Ramada Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mercure Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mercure
Treetops Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing