We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool Quiet Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Douglas Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed for a week over the eclipse in a 2 bedroom appt. on the second floor at the back. Appt. was spacious with well equiped kitchen. Has washer and dryer in the bathroom. Was all clean and in good condition. The pool was great for our 6 year old daughter with a range of depths and an adjoining sandpit. There was easy access to the shops by shuttle bus. If I stayed again I'd probably rent a push bike for easy travel to the shops. You can access four mile beach by a public path through the Mirage. The staff were friendly and helpful. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_BAdelaide_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2012

As I always use a walking frame and a walking stick for very short distances, the apartment was spacious and ideal. I was concerned regarding my ability to manage, however it was baseless. There was a lift to the first floor and an plastic outdoor chair was used as a shower chair. The bed was extremely comfortable and the kitchen/laundry facilities were great.
The warm pool was ideal for my twice daily exercises, and relaxation. The owners/guests were friendly which made for a pleasant stay. Amanda, owner) booked a day trip for me to the Daintree and the four wheel drive day trip was magnificent and Nick's knowledge (tour guide) extensive and interesting. Didn't want to go home!

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies facing the pool. No baths in rooms, only showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Port Douglas Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2012

Thank you for this lovely review. It was such a pleasure to have you as our guest at Port Douglas Sands Resort and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind Regards
Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Sands. Every unit overlooks the delightful tropical swimming pool. While the 2 bdrm apartment is not enormous, it is very comfortable and has been recently refreshed. The staff and managers Matt and Amanda couldn't have been more helpful. For a family of four it represented great value for money and allowed us to spend those dollars instead on the wonderful restaurants and all the sightseeing and tourist activities that Port Douglas has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kabe2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

My extended family stayed in a well appointed 3brm ground floor unit recently.
The unit had very comfortable beds and furniture, a large TV, austar, and we appreciated the 2 bathrooms. We loved the walk out to the pool and the large BBQ area gave us the opportunity to enjoy eat in meals saving us a few $$$$'s. A glorious pool with a toddler area and sand pit for the little ones.
It was an added bonus to have a continental breakfast provided featuring a range of cereals, fruit toast and different breads together with tea or coffee.
The Sands is only a 5 minute walk to the beach and a nice 15 minute walk into the min street. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norbet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My family and i recently stayed at the Sands Resort and found it to be a great place for a family, the rooms were great, the beds were very comfatable. The pool and surrounds were great and the fact that all the balconys opened out to the pool we could watch the kids having a swim without going with them. The breakfast supplied was also great. I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandylind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the Sands and found it good family accommodation. The unit is quite spacious and has good facilities for self catering and secure undercover car parking. The swimming pool is lovely with tropical planting around but not so much as it doesn't get the sun.
There are noodles supplied to have with in the pool, plus a separate toddlers area.
The BBQ area by the pool is very nice too. It is not supposed to be used after 10pm but we had one night when people were there til about 11.30pm with the noise drifting into our unit. There is also noise from traffic on the main road, but it is not too much of a problem

There are some minor things that would help, such as more cutlery and crockery etc as there was really the bare minimum for 4 people. Some of the cleaning was not the best on kitchen equipment and we found one mug that looked like paint had been used in it. However the managers are very friendly and helpful quickly replacing anything we needed. There were absolutely no hooks at all in the bathroom to hang anything on, just one small rail. Some hooks for small towels or flannels by the vanity would be appreciated I'm sure.

We did appreciate the breakfast available for guests every day, the basics of cereals, bread and spreads as well as tea/coffee and fruit juice was appreciated when you are a family on holiday!
All in all is it a good affordable place to stay for a family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShirleeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Port Douglas Sands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our property. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and the facilities the resort has to offer. Cleanliness is one of our highest priorities so I do thank you for informing us of the unclean mug you have mentioned, allowing us to prompty rectify the issue.
I would just like to point out that our pool is bathed in sunshine nearly the entire day as you can see from the photos on Tripadvisor and also our website.
We appreciate your comments, which help us to continously improve our products and service. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Port Douglas.
Kind Regards
Amanda Fraser

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband, son and i stayed for 7days. The pool, service was exceptional and prefect for our 4.5 yr old.
The only issue was with our apartment that was dated, particularly the bathroom that also had a damp smell. but ortherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annemarie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#40 of 42 in Port Douglas
74 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
#34 of 42 in Port Douglas
65 reviews
1.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#14 of 42 in Port Douglas
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
294 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nimrod Resort Apartments
Nimrod Resort Apartments
#24 of 56 in Port Douglas
59 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Sands Resort

Address: Cnr Mahogany And Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Quest Port Douglas Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £66 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Sands Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Sands Resort holiday apartment and short-term rental accommodation is an easy distance to the bustle of Macrossan Street, the Sheraton and Marina Mirage complex, golf course and beautiful Four Mile Beach (only 400 metres away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Port Douglas Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Sands Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing