We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday venue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Port Douglas Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday venue”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous week spent at Port Douglas Sands Resort. We stayed with friends in Number 1 - a 3 bedroom ground floor apartment, right opposite the pool. The pool / BBQ area was gorgeous. You can help yourself to breakfast in a communal dining room - first time I've seen that in an apartment complex - makes self-catering so much easier. Very friendly on-site managers. An easy walk into town. Good value for all that is included. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    46
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
71
19
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Port Douglas Sands Resort was an ideal place for our family of five. Our kids are 20, 17 and 13 and we had a lovely week's stay. The resort was the perfect size - not too many apartments to be too imposing. Our ground floor apartment was right near the pool and the Breakfast room, so we had ideal access to both. The Management and staff were exceptional - always friendly and very helpful whenever we made inquiries or booked a group tour. Our 3 bedroom apartment was also very nice - well maintained, with all we needed to make ourselves comfortable for the week. The main bedroom also had an ensuite. The kitchen was well-equipped with all that we needed to have several home-cooked meals. We also made use of the great barbeque area by the pool. We spent a lot of time enjoying the pool and spa area and the beautiful tropical surrounds, and most days we had the pool all to ourselves. It was like having our own tropical oasis - a very tranquil setting. There were plenty of lounge chairs and pool items available to use (for all ages) as well as a sandpit area for younger children. There is a secure underground parking area and the resort was only a few minutes drive to the main shopping street, the waterfront and Marina, and the many restaurants and cafes. We are really glad we chose to stay there, and would definitely recommend this resort to friends, couples, solos, and families with children of any age.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Booked a couple of nights here after purchasing some cheap flights.
Didn't think too much about it until a arrived.... Then i was completely treated to the most wonderfully maintained resort. It really made our holiday... It was so nice to come home to after a day out exploring.
Staff were so friendly and helpful.
Weather was fantastic, as Port Douglas always is.
Rooms were clean and well presented.
Pool is like a private lagoon... Just loved it.
Nothing to complain about, only that we had to finally leave and come home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Grove, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

As a family of two adults and two young children we found the Sands Resort to be a great holiday option. Our second floor unit overlooking the central pool area was clean and spacious. As with an earlier comment the only problem was with the hot water unit heating our bedroom. The resort was very quiet. We generally had the pool area to ourselves.
The continental breakfast provided in our package was basic but very good and the kids enjoyed the trek down to the breakfast room every morning.
It was well located and the secure parking was easy to access. It was close to many attractions.
I would highly recommend it as a family place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

At first glance, Port Douglas Sands Resort looks quite unpreposessing compared to other accommodation in Port Douglas, but do not let that put you off. Once inside the gates, you have entered a small, tropical haven. We were there in January, on a four nights for the price of three deal, and loved every minute of our stay. Our apartment was smart, spacious and extremely well equipped and it was a joy to sit on the balcony overlooking the palm trees and verdant grounds. The free breakfast, although basic, was a great bonus and could be eaten either in a pleasant room overlooking the pool or outside. The warm, saltwater pool was lovely and we couldn't wait to jump in after each day's sightseeing.
As other people have noted, the Sands Resort is a good 15-20 minute walk to the centre of Port Douglas. As three fit adults, we were happy to trek back and forth but it would not be much fun with young children. There is a local bus service but it's not cheap. In our view, the inconvenience of staying a little way out was more than made up for by the superb accommodation and tranquil setting of Port Douglas Sands Resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda F, Manager at Port Douglas Sands Resort, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Thank you for your great review. We really appreciate your feedback and the time you have taken to post your comments. We feel extremly lucky to live in this beautiful tropical environment, Matthew takes great pride in the gardens so he will be delighted to hear your comments. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Port Douglas.
Kind Regards
Amanda Fraser
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillehammer, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We were a family of two children and two adults. We stayed there for a week and loved it. The owners are very nice and helpful. The pool is big, clean and nice; children just loved it and spent several hours in it. The area is magic and there are a lot of things to do, even if you do not want to be at at the same places as most other tourists. The only disadvantage we found was that the hotel is not located so close to the town center if you intend to walk there with children.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaccard_pierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel was great. We made a last minute booking and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are great. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment, which had full kitchen, laundry, great aircon and ceiling fans and a good lounge area. If there was any negative, it was that our main bedroom hosted the hot water service in the wardrobe which made for a hot room all the time.
Pool was a great size and our two enjoyed it, only downside, which is only in control from Mother Nature, was the water temp....when it's so hot, we were looking for a refreshing swim, only to find most of the time, due to the heat in December, the pool was a little like a bath.
All in all a pretty good spot! Quiet and not full of noisy guests....I think due to some permanent rentals. Thankyou!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yo-Willis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
810 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
74 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
#35 of 42 in Port Douglas
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#34 of 42 in Port Douglas
33 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nimrod Resort Apartments
Nimrod Resort Apartments
#25 of 55 in Port Douglas
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropical Nites
Tropical Nites
#30 of 55 in Port Douglas
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Sands Resort

Property: Port Douglas Sands Resort
Address: Cnr Mahogany And Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Quest Port Douglas Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Sands Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Sands Resort holiday apartment and short-term rental accommodation is an easy distance to the bustle of Macrossan Street, the Sheraton and Marina Mirage complex, golf course and beautiful Four Mile Beach (only 400 metres away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Port Douglas Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Sands Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing