We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Douglas Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Myself and 2 middle aged brothers stayed here for 6 nights. We had a 2 bed roomed unit on the second floor. We were really impressed with everything - the quality, standards of the accommodation was excellent. The staff are friendly and always happy to help with advice about local activities and they got us a discount on Barrier Reef trip. Overall very happy with this venue and would definitely come back again. Very much orientated for families but great all round place. Simple but ample breakfast laid on of cereal toast juice coffee etc which was great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyW1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great swimming pool for babies and good rooms with all the facilities you are expecting.
Quite and clean I definitely recommend this place to all families.
Breakfast is a bit disappointing with no fresh fruit or proper coffee available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcop762013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Right from check in we felt like welcome guests - time was spent on welcoming conversation and advice even though it was a school holiday period. Our request to have have earlier access to the included breakfast for the first two days (due to early tour pickups) was easily accommodated. The breakfast itself is such a welcome addition to the services provided - one less meal decision each day.

My family of four (two children 8 & 6) loved the plant/tree surrounded pool area and spent many an hour relaxing here (including having breakfast and a couple of BBQ dinners in this area). The BBQ was always clean.

The rooms were well equipped, clean and comfortable.

The only thing really stopping me from giving an excellent rating is that the Sands is a little way (20mins walk) from the main town (and patrolled beach). Not really a big issue and, we did the walk a couple of nights. We had rental car to help when it came to food shopping, going down to the patrolled beach and ferrying tired children around :-)

Thanks Port Douglas Sands for helping make a great holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dariancc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We've just returned from a lovely stay here. We booked a 3 bedroom room which slept 6 comfortably (queen, double and 2 singles) with an ensuite and main bathroom/laundry. We received warm and friendly service, even before we arrived with lots of helpful advice and assistance in booking appropriate tours for our young family. We had a couple of issues with our room that were addressed immediately and without fuss or interruption. Staff were fantastic and went the extra mile to ensure we were comfortable.
Breakfast was a very welcomed extra which made our stay easy as we didn't need to worry about organizing anything early! Included was a selection of weetbix/corn flakes/rice bubbles, raisin/white/multi grain toast with spreads, juice/tea/coffee. Our kids loved going to the breakfast room each morning and choosing their own breakfast.
We really enjoyed the pool which was perfect temperature and plenty of shallow depths for the littlies. The kids also enjoyed the sandpit by the pool.
Barbeque area by the pool was also great.
Our room did get very warm but there were fans and air conditioning to cool down.
The resort is a little dated but was clean and comfortable.
Being out of town we did use the shuttle buses a bit. We walked in a few times but in the heat and with preschoolers it was slow going - about 20 minutes or so. Buses were easy but pricing was very inconsistent! Every trip seemed to attract a different fare and we soon learnt it was cheaper if I bought the tickets rather than my husband!
Beach is about a 5 minute walk across the road through the Sheraton Mirage (public access path). Flagged swim area is up in town about 15 minutes walk up the beach.
There were some restaurants nearby but we opted for meals in town or delivered.
All in all a very good option for families.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShamrockandThistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Clean, tidy self contained holiday apartments. Basic breakfast included. Pool area and sandpit perfect for young family. Underground parking, 1 minute drive, 5 min ride or 15 min walk into macrossan street. Walk across the road to the main beach. Friendly helpful staff. Affordable.

We're already planning our return stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffeeaudit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at the Port Douglas Sands for five nights in the beginning of June 2013. We had a two bedroom apartment with a balcony overlooking the pool. Our kids are 12 and 15. We felt very much at home. Breakfast was included, simple, but fine for us. Great that the unit had a full kitchen and we could cook and then enjoy our dinner on the balcony. There is also a BBQ available for use down by the pool. It was also really nice to have covered, secure parking underneath the building. The location was great - not too far to get into town, but also close to get on the highway. We also rented bikes for a couple days and this was a great way to get around.

The unit also included a washer and dryer was which a very nice bonus. However, the dryer was terrible. It was only rated one star and it took forever for our items to dry. We were not allowed to hang items out to dry on the balcony. Instead, I hung damp items in the closet and that worked.

I would recommend Port Douglas Sands and would stay there again sometime. We love the Port Douglas area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hobbyscrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We booked PSR to stay as on Trip Adviser reviews repeatedly said facilities are fine and Amanda will troubleshoot any issues we had.
on initial enquiry Amanda was quick to respond and arranged a reef and forest tours for us at my request - 5% discount!
We also arranged that nearer our trip then airport transfers etc would be sorted out. three weeks prior to our stay an email arrived -without my chasing- detailing all pick ups etc. very efficient and accurate.
We did have to rearrange a reef trip due to poor weather and again Amanda's team were very efficient and helpful.
the flat was clean, well equipped, all appliances worked. beds were comfy. air con efficient. we had breakfast provided each day which was simple but ok. overall it was a great place to stay. takes 25 mins to walk into town.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.9 mi away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#20 of 42 in Port Douglas
267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
750 reviews
1.0 mi away
Port Douglas Retreat
Port Douglas Retreat
#19 of 57 in Port Douglas
318 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nimrod Resort Apartments
Nimrod Resort Apartments
#23 of 57 in Port Douglas
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Sands Resort

Address: Cnr Mahogany And Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Quest Port Douglas Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £65 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Sands Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Sands Resort holiday apartment and short-term rental accommodation is an easy distance to the bustle of Macrossan Street, the Sheraton and Marina Mirage complex, golf course and beautiful Four Mile Beach (only 400 metres away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Port Douglas Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Sands Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing