We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Port Douglas area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Port Douglas Sands Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

First impressions were really friendly as reception gave us good information via email before arrival as well as booking us a brilliant trip out to the reef with Posieden tours, and we got a 5% discount as we were staying there. The hotel rate also included parking in the underground car park and a basic breakfast. We only did this one day but it seemed ok, with tea coffee, cereals and bread for toasting. A bit of a bonus if you're on a budget!

The room was well equipped and spacious with a large balcony over looking the pool. At the time of our visit the exchange rate was appalling and we found getting food in was a cheaper option as the kitchen had plenty of stuff.

Alternatively you are just a 2 minute drive into the main town which is lovely to walk around or eat out. There are also plenty of options for breakfast as well as a good sized Coles for anything else you need.

The beach is lovely to walk in the evening and loads of people head down when it's cooler before spending the evening in town.

The only critics we has was that the floor was really dirty. Walking around bare footed made your feet black.....a good mop between guests wouldn't go a miss. Other than this, it was a good option.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyboylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Port Douglas Sands Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 days in Port Douglas and stayed at Sands Resort a week ago and had the best time ever a family can have. We were amazed by the beauty of this area and the helpfulness of the resort's staff. Amanda always went for the extra mile whenever we needed some advise or help regarding activities and what to do. Thank you again 100% recommended!!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Gabor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We had a lovely stay at Sands Resort. The kids loved the pool and sandpit. Our room was nice and had all the comforts you need. We had a ground floor apartment that was meters away from the pool so it felt like one of those swim-out rooms you get at the exclusive resorts but for a fraction of the price! The breakfast room was nice but I think if there was a proper cafe that opened for most of the day then it would make this resort a 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga351gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed in a 2bedroom apt from sat to thurs and have nothing but wonderful memories of our stay. The staff were friendly and welcoming, rooms were immaculate and the pool was welcome at the end of our day of tours. We will be returning next year for double the length of stay. Highly recommend this resort to anyone. Thank you for making our short stay feel like weeks of relaxing fun. Jane & Sue

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinkydi2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Myself and 2 middle aged brothers stayed here for 6 nights. We had a 2 bed roomed unit on the second floor. We were really impressed with everything - the quality, standards of the accommodation was excellent. The staff are friendly and always happy to help with advice about local activities and they got us a discount on Barrier Reef trip. Overall very happy with this venue and would definitely come back again. Very much orientated for families but great all round place. Simple but ample breakfast laid on of cereal toast juice coffee etc which was great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyW1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great swimming pool for babies and good rooms with all the facilities you are expecting.
Quite and clean I definitely recommend this place to all families.
Breakfast is a bit disappointing with no fresh fruit or proper coffee available.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcop762013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Right from check in we felt like welcome guests - time was spent on welcoming conversation and advice even though it was a school holiday period. Our request to have have earlier access to the included breakfast for the first two days (due to early tour pickups) was easily accommodated. The breakfast itself is such a welcome addition to the services provided - one less meal decision each day.

My family of four (two children 8 & 6) loved the plant/tree surrounded pool area and spent many an hour relaxing here (including having breakfast and a couple of BBQ dinners in this area). The BBQ was always clean.

The rooms were well equipped, clean and comfortable.

The only thing really stopping me from giving an excellent rating is that the Sands is a little way (20mins walk) from the main town (and patrolled beach). Not really a big issue and, we did the walk a couple of nights. We had rental car to help when it came to food shopping, going down to the patrolled beach and ferrying tired children around :-)

Thanks Port Douglas Sands for helping make a great holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dariancc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
837 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
74 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
Dreamcatcher Holiday Apartments
#34 of 42 in Port Douglas
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
Titree Resort Holiday Apartments
#35 of 42 in Port Douglas
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#28 of 42 in Port Douglas
293 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nimrod Resort Apartments
Nimrod Resort Apartments
#24 of 55 in Port Douglas
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Douglas Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Douglas Sands Resort

Address: Cnr Mahogany And Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia (Formerly Quest Port Douglas Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £67 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Port Douglas Sands Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Douglas Sands Resort holiday apartment and short-term rental accommodation is an easy distance to the bustle of Macrossan Street, the Sheraton and Marina Mirage complex, golf course and beautiful Four Mile Beach (only 400 metres away). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Port Douglas Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Douglas Sands Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing