We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Martinique on Macrossan
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$119
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pink Flamingo(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Peninsula Boutique Hotel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$326
US$306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$205
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Thala Beach Nature Reserve(Oak Beach)(Great Value!)
US$294
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$89
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$107
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reflections of Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$668
US$625
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveller rating
451
143
19
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
451
143
19
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe main streetfour mile beachwonderful hostsshops and restaurantsquiet endsmall balconygreat place to stayno elevatoran easy strollunderground parkingrooms are spaciouswi fitop floorlocal knowledgeminute walk to the beachheated pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
341 - 346 of 632 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We arrived from a cold Melbourne winter to a tropical paradise. The apartments are well equipped and very comfortable, the hosts are charming and very helpful. We spent our days on the beach which is less than four minutes walk. We dined very, very well and really enjoyed exploring the region. It is easy to self cater - we barbecued prawns and fish and had friends over. The facilities here are excellent. Lots of nice touches - the free filtered, chilled water, very reasonable wifi, free onsite parking good advice on tours and dining. Our only criticism ( very minor) is that the toilet paper and soap is of the budget variety but honestly, that is not a real problem. We will definitely come back, it has been the best holiday I can remember.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank Lp9994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I needed a relaxing, quiet break, Martinique was a good choice. it's small and peaceful yet close to 4 mile beach, shops, cafes, restaurants and even the wharf for trips out to the Great barrier Reef. Martinique is at the beach end of Macrossan St which means even at night it is quiet. Fred and Antonia were very helpful, with lots of advise on when and where to go both in Port Douglas and further afield depending on the weather conditions.

Room Tip: There are 3 levels so if you have problems with steps ask for a ground floor room
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jan121938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

This hotel is nicely decorated, inside and out. It's close to walk to the Port Douglas restaurants and the beach, but not just a block away so that it's not noisy. Owners Antonia and Fred are warm, welcoming hosts, who helped arranged tours, even getting us a discount when we had two tours from one company. We'd definitely stay at Martinique on Macrossan again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RWalker415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My friend and I came to Port Douglas to experience the rain forest and Great Barrier Reef. She found this incredible inn. From the moment we stepped off the shuttle, we were delighted with the charm and beauty of the grounds. Antonia and Fred met us in the courtyard and gave us many brochures and choices for the excursions we planned to take. They even kept an eye on the weather so that we would not have a disappointing day at the reef. Anything that you could possibly want was available to us. Umbrellas; reading material; a well supplied kitchen....Every morning we were greeted and given suggestions on where to eat and what to do. There is a pretty fun Sunday Market just a few blocks away. The rooms were comfortable with a tropical feel and the pool area was very charming. If you stay on the ground floor, you can have an additional patio space in the courtyard...a good place to drink coffee and start the day. Never have owners of a property been so accommodating! Antonia even offered to drive us to the wild animal park one day. She had dining coupons and booked tours and basically was our fairy godmother for 5 days. We were able to look at several other hotels as we picked up guests who joined our tours and none were as charming or well located as ours. A bonus was that we had our favorite restaurant around the corner overlooking the beach. We were close to everything and it really felt like home. Beware of stinger season if you go in the spring! You will not be able to safely go in the water. (You wear a Tele-Tubbyish suit on the boat if you go diving.) You will be very happy if you choose this inn! Soooo charming!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauralovesdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

In the midst of a British Lions rugby tour we took a few days in the tropics to see the reef. Bouyed by Trip Advisor reports we booked Martinique and we weren't disappointed.

Antonia arranged transfers from Cairns airport to make sure we got there OK. Check in was swift and friendly with Fred and we were soon in our room. There's no lift on the premises so if you are likely to struggle with luggage, make sure you book a ground floor apartment! We had no issues so our third floor room was perfectly OK.

The location is excellent. Less than 5 minutes to the beach and town centre is ten minutes or so on foot. Martinique is however at the quiet end of Macrossan so there's no late night noise to worry about.

The room was clean and spacious. There was air con for nightime too which helped with sleep in the heat. Aprtment facilities are pretty good. There was a kettle, toaster and a cafetiere and a small hob for cooking. The fridge was vital!

Wifi was available for a small charge and the big city hotels should be ashamed of themselves for the charges they lobby compared to Fred and Antonia.

Both of them were available to assist with booking excursions or even advising where to go. We would love to come back to Port Douglas and if we ever do, there's only one place we'll be staying!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piebaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews