We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel great location Very friendly owners”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Martinique on Macrossan
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Amazing hotel great location two minutes from the beach. Fred and Antonia are a lovely couple very friendly pointing out places to see good restaurants in Port Douglas. Rooms very clean and spacious with a separate bedroom and small kitchen. Quicksilver boat ride to Great Barrier Reef and snorkelling are a must. Will definitely be back in Port Douglas and the Martinique .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IreneD222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this small hotel steps from the beach. Rooms were lovely and there was a great sitting area just outside our room with a barbi that worked really well. Fresh tropical flowers made that area a wonderful area to hang out. Proprietors were helpful and very sweet. Great location near restaurants and wonderful birding opportunities

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank katiepenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very happy we found this accommodation in Port Douglas, as there is a lot to choose from. Spacious unit with all the amenities that one needs. The location is perfect, within a few minutes from the beach, which is the most beautiful and serene beach I have seen. And far enough away from the center of town not to be disturbed by late night parties. The unit could do with some updating and the bed was not the most comfortable I have slept in. The unit was not very clean with a lot of dust around. Fred and Antonia made up for the negatives though, they went out of their way to give helpful advice and information. Would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank GillyS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Have stayed in Port Douglas on many previous occasions. This is the perfect choice for couples. Hosts are fantastic, location is perfect, no children. Nice pool but so close to the beach. Upper apartment great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveWilliamstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Lovely apartments, a few steps from Four Mile beach, right by the shops, restaurants etc. we have a one bedroom on top floor, owners are helpful, booking trips etc. probably best for couples or groups of friends, we haven't seen any children - despite it being school holidays. More laid back than the hotel chains, wifi for $10 for the duration of the stay, which for us is 10 days. We paid $26 per day for wifi in a hotel in Cairns, so very good value. They already have good tripadvisor ratings for 2012 and 2013.

Room Tip: All apartments have balcony and overlook garden or pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It seems like you have two general options in PD:

1) The hotels on Port Douglas Road, the main drag of a highway leading into town where you will find big resorts (like the Sheraton Mirage) and trendier small resort properties. A bit more remote, further from town.

2) Hotels right in the village of PD. Smaller, more central, less resort-like. Walkable to restaurants and bars. Martinique falls into this category.

In either case you are adjacent to Four Mile Beach which is one of the most awesome, secluded, and gorgeous beaches on the planet, so can't go wrong there, and in the case of Martinique you are just steps from it.

We were thrilled with our choice. For us, walking to everything in town was the way to go. No cabs, a serene location just at the quiet edge of PD, and our hosts were every bit as welcoming and helpful as described by others.

The property and pool, too, lives up to expectations. Lush and perfectly-maintained throughout. Our room was a spacious luxurious suite with kitchenette (never used it except to chill wine). If I had to make one teeny gripe, it would be that the bathrooms didn't match the luxuriousness of the rest of the suite, but not even a valid complaint, just an observation.

All said and done we would stay at Martinique again and wholeheartedly recommend it to others. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jfelicetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is our second stay with Antonia and Fred. What a wonderful warm welcome! They have a special way with their guests. We stayed on the second floor at the back overlooking the pool, a lovely spot. The facilities are spotless and well looked after, with everything you need. The location is perfect, down the quiet end of Macrossan Street, just a couple of doors up from the truly magnificent Four Mile Beach, which we walked almost every day (early in the morning is the best time when the sun is coming up). It's only a couple of minutes back up Macrossan to the restaurants and village shopping. The pool was a hit with hubby, the day it was a little windy down on the beach, so we'll be doing that again, if the weather permits. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Martinique on Macrossan to any couple looking for somewhere peaceful in Port Douglas. Definitely coming back.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Belz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinique on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Address: 66 Macrossan St | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £80 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing