We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Boutique Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Martinique on Macrossan
Ranked #15 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Somers, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful Boutique Apartment”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had another perfect holiday staying at Martinique, Fred and Antonia are gems , we feel like its home when we go back each year , have been visiting for many years. Clean, Comfortable and a unique atmosphere, gorgeous private pool, close to all amenities. Beach and Restaurants.
2 weeks is never long enough.

Room Tip: Corner suites are great, however we have stayed in lots of different rooms they are all terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippinlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    135
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
36
445
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silicon Valley
Level Contributor
123 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Had a wonderful 3-day weekend here in thanks to Fred and Antonia who are fantastic, welcoming hosts. My room didn't have a view but was spacious, comfortable and clean. I arrived late and found an envelope guiding me to my room. It was a very warm night and I was dead tired from a long flight from Sydney. I got to my room where there were lear instructions for activating the AC (much needed). The room cooled down in seconds and off to sleep I was. The next morning, Fred was up early and helped me book the best snorkel trip to the Great Barrier Reef, restaurant choices - all top notch and the best (and cheapest) way to see Daintree National Forest. the free Internet wasn't the fastest in the world but good enough.
I didn't take advantage of their pretty pool - I'd rather swim in the Ocean on 4 Mile beach.
It was such a pleasure to see Fred and Antonia each day. They clearly love Port Douglas and want you to as well. Mission accomplished.
BTW, this place is on the quiet side of Marcrossan Street and is steps from 4 Mile Beach. Don't stay in the big resorts that are away from town and the beach. Waste of money. Here you get the beach, all the best restaurants just down the street and the Marina just 15 min walk away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Staten7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A lovely boutique style hotel. Beautifully peaceful without children(much as we love them!)The bed was very comfortable and the rooms spacious and comfortably furnished leading out to a private patio.Having a well equipped kitchenette was a bonus if you did not want to take advantage of the many restaurants , all of which are within walking distance.The proprietors, Fred and Antonia, could not have been more helpful and charming .The hotel is tucked behind beautifully kept gardens and a small and peaceful pool area provides a tranquil relaxing area to unwind, while the beach is just a very short walk away. An ideal location for experiencing Port Douglas and all it has to offer

Room Tip: Choose a ground floor room if stairs are a problem as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAN2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Staying at the Martinique was a new experience for us as we normally have our children with us, but not this time, and this was the perfect place to stay. Lovely rooms, a few mintues walk to the beach, and then a pool to have a dip in on your way back to your room. BBQs are supplied for guests to use, books and magazines also in the awesome courtyard. Close to restaraunts and shops, and the Sunday markets are a must. And Fred and Antonia were a lovely couple. Helpful if you needed it but also discreet and untoward. I would definately stay here again. Thank you for an awesome few days in Port Douglas :)

Room Tip: As there is no elevator, if you are elderly ask for a bottom room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maccie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Amazing hotel great location two minutes from the beach. Fred and Antonia are a lovely couple very friendly pointing out places to see good restaurants in Port Douglas. Rooms very clean and spacious with a separate bedroom and small kitchen. Quicksilver boat ride to Great Barrier Reef and snorkelling are a must. Will definitely be back in Port Douglas and the Martinique .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IreneD222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this small hotel steps from the beach. Rooms were lovely and there was a great sitting area just outside our room with a barbi that worked really well. Fresh tropical flowers made that area a wonderful area to hang out. Proprietors were helpful and very sweet. Great location near restaurants and wonderful birding opportunities

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank katiepenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Very happy we found this accommodation in Port Douglas, as there is a lot to choose from. Spacious unit with all the amenities that one needs. The location is perfect, within a few minutes from the beach, which is the most beautiful and serene beach I have seen. And far enough away from the center of town not to be disturbed by late night parties. The unit could do with some updating and the bed was not the most comfortable I have slept in. The unit was not very clean with a lot of dust around. Fred and Antonia made up for the negatives though, they went out of their way to give helpful advice and information. Would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GillyS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
676 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinique on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Property: Martinique on Macrossan
Address: 66 Macrossan St | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing