We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit and still fantastic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Martinique on Macrossan
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Martinique is special, a unique little spot owned by two very special people-
Antonia and Fred will give you all the knowledge you need to make the most of
what this stepping stone to the Reef and my personal favourite the amazing
rainforest has to offer...yet never intrude, or push you to accept their suggestions!

It's an attractive property, rooms are bright, clean, cool and comfortable-the garden
and lily pond are lovely, especially at night and Four Mile Beach is a couple of minutes
walk....go in the dark and watch the moon on the Coral Sea..stunning and a treat for photographers.

Across the road is a good restaurant, Zinc... Two Fish on the same side as the Matinique
served me beautiful fish meals and, most convenient, you can have most things as a
Take Away. Another recommendation up the main street (only street really) and down towards the Marina is Salsa,the food there was lipsmackingly good (Crab Linguini to die for).

It's a long trip for me, but worth every minute and every penny.....go see Fred and Antonia and
then tell me I'm wrong.....never!

Room Tip: My favourite room is number 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shabbychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

Where to start... what an amazing, beautiful little boutique hotel this is! We were met by Antonia, who welcomed us with such hospitality. She took out a map and showed us which restaurants she recommended, etc. And then her husband, Fred, carried our bags to our room! If there has to be a drawback, it would be that there's no elevator. But Fred came to the rescue on arrival and departure... so sweet!

Our suite was so beautiful. Immaculate tile floors, and beautiful décor. We had a little table and chairs out on the balcony, which we used to have evening cocktails and morning coffee. The bedroom was roomy, and the bed very comfortable. The bathroom was very, very nice. The kitchen area was well stocked with coffee, tea, sweetener, milk, coffee mugs and glasses. We didn't use any of the cooking items, but it seemed very well stocked.

The location is excellent, as it is walking distance to the beach, restaurants and shops.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. It's a refreshing change from the huge resorts in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbtravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

I don't even know where to start with how fantastic this place is! It's perfectly located, just a few steps from the beach and a couple of minutes to the shops, restaurants and the marina. Fred and Antonia are amazing people - nothing is too much trouble! Great recommendations on where to go, what to do and where to eat. Antonia came to the rescue after one of our carefully planned sailing trips cancelled on us at the last minute. The alternative she found us was wonderful and ended up probably a better option than the one we had arranged! The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The bbq on the patio area was an added bonus (especially after we discovered the local butchers!). The pool is small but is a lovely way to escape from the heat. If we ever return to Port Douglas, this is where you'll find us!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mimo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Just finished a 3 night stay at this lovely small hotel in Port Douglas. Fred and his wife were so friendly and helpful and could not do enough to make the stay more comfortable. The apartment we had was so spacious with kitchen and lounge area and the whole placed was just perfect.if in Port Douglas do as we did, don't go for the big chain resort but go for this place , small and romantic !

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mervyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Martinique. The location on the beach end of Macrossen is excellent - left to the beach, right to the shops. The rooms are fabulous - spacious and well thought out, including the fact that the tv can be turned to face either the bedroom or the lounge room. There are only 19 units, and no children allowed. The pool was fantastic - smallish, but well designed with spots for sitting in the water and reading, or drinking that glass or two of champagne. And the hosts were great. Always available, of not in person at the end of the in house phone.

I can't wait to go back - I have stayed many times in Port Douglas but this time was the best.

Gail

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank parnersinwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We had another perfect holiday staying at Martinique, Fred and Antonia are gems , we feel like its home when we go back each year , have been visiting for many years. Clean, Comfortable and a unique atmosphere, gorgeous private pool, close to all amenities. Beach and Restaurants.
2 weeks is never long enough.

Room Tip: Corner suites are great, however we have stayed in lots of different rooms they are all terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Had a wonderful 3-day weekend here in thanks to Fred and Antonia who are fantastic, welcoming hosts. My room didn't have a view but was spacious, comfortable and clean. I arrived late and found an envelope guiding me to my room. It was a very warm night and I was dead tired from a long flight from Sydney. I got to my room where there were lear instructions for activating the AC (much needed). The room cooled down in seconds and off to sleep I was. The next morning, Fred was up early and helped me book the best snorkel trip to the Great Barrier Reef, restaurant choices - all top notch and the best (and cheapest) way to see Daintree National Forest. the free Internet wasn't the fastest in the world but good enough.
I didn't take advantage of their pretty pool - I'd rather swim in the Ocean on 4 Mile beach.
It was such a pleasure to see Fred and Antonia each day. They clearly love Port Douglas and want you to as well. Mission accomplished.
BTW, this place is on the quiet side of Marcrossan Street and is steps from 4 Mile Beach. Don't stay in the big resorts that are away from town and the beach. Waste of money. Here you get the beach, all the best restaurants just down the street and the Marina just 15 min walk away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Staten7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,031 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,658 reviews
7.8 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinique on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Address: 66 Macrossan St | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £80 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing