We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Peppers Beach Club(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Oaks Lagoons(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$268
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
By The Sea Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$133
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thala Beach Nature Reserve(Oak Beach)(Great Value!)
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (646)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
461
147
19
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
147
19
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfour mile beachthe main streetwonderful hostsshops and restaurantswater featuresquiet endsmall balconygreat place to staysitting areavisit to port douglasunderground parkingno elevatoran easy strollwi filocal knowledgetop floor
Filter
Updating list...
288 - 293 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed April in a ground floor room near the pool. Very comfortable nicely decorated room with large kitchenette, dining table and lounge area. Peaceful private decking area to sit undisturbed or you can sit in a beautiful common area with a bbq., a drink fountain and an ice-machine!
Quiet location yet close to everything.

Room Tip: Room on ground floor at rear of complex are somewhat dark.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LANDL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Everything was perfect - location was in easy walk to everything in Port Douglas, the staff went out of their way to help and to make the stay a genuine pleasure. The hotel can arrange any tours or activities you want to do while there, and recommend the best restaurants and places to see.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank PaulREdney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I stayed here during the off season near the end of February. The location was great! Right at the end of the strip with all the little shops and restaurants, and a short walk to the beach! Our room was very spacious, with a Kitchenette, a separate dining area and sitting area. The owners, who live on the premesis were very helpful, and had great recommendations on restaurants, bars and snorkling tours.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

What a great choice! Location and actual accommodation outstanding. Turn left and you're on the beach. Turn right and you are next to all the shops and restaurants in Port Douglas. And yet, serenely quiet and feels like a garden oasis. We stayed twice with a break in the middle, and both rooms were wonderful. Spacious and well kitted out with a tropical feel. The pool was welcome too after the heat of exclusions. If we come again we're staying here!

Room Tip: The top floor is great if you are fit and not a lot of luggage, but we liked the ground room floor just as much.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 251jeanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My partner & I stayed at Martinique over the Easter/Anzac Day week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Antonia and Fred, the owner/managers, are charming hosts. On arrival Fred took us up to our apartment on the top floor (which we had requested - note that there is no lift), helped with the luggage and showed us the facilities before leaving us to ourselves. They live onsite and are around during the day to help with bookings and general advice. After hours you can page them from the reception area. When we checked out we were a couple of minutes late, but there was no hassle or reminder message - in fact as we had an hour to wait for our transfer coach to Cairns Fred offered us the room key back so we could wait in comfort.

The apartment itself was delightful. Tastefully decorated, but not over the top - mainly white or cream with splashes of colour and texture. Overall it had a clean, airy and relaxed feeling. The bathroom had modern fixtures and looked fairly recently renovated, or else kept in immaculate condition. The kitchen was the same with all the required basic equipment: kettle, toaster, stove, microwave, fridge etc and all the required pots & pans, cutlery, crockery and glassware.

The bedroom had a king-sized bed (two large singles strapped together, but it was not noticable) and adequate storage space for two people for a week, although if you had a lot of things to hang you'd need more hangers. The linen was crisp and spotless, and the matresses comfortable, but on the firm side.

In the lounge there was a comfy red leather couch and coffee table plus a small dining table with seating for two, and there were also two cane chairs and table outside on a balcony. A small clothes rack was provided which can be used in a semi-enclosed section of the balcony for privacy. You could see into the adjacent balconies, but only if you wanted to peer over the partitions.

The lounge had a moderate sized LED TV with good reception and a dozen Foxtel channels as well as free-to-air, and there was a DVD player. There were ceiling fans in both the bedroom and the lounge, and an aircon unit in the lounge which was efficient and effective. The fans and aircon were all silent enough that you could easily sleep with them on.

There is no telephone in the apartment, which was frankly a blessing - just take your mobiles. There is opt-in wi-fi which is a flat fee of $10 for the duration of your stay. In our apartment the signal was medium-strong and reasonably fast. As far as noise, we never heard anything from the adjoining apartments, and barely ever any noise in the whole complex. Martinique caters for adults only. We did hear noise from neighboring resort apartments and private dwellings, but there's not much you can do about that and it was only ever during the day. The apartments are located at the quieter end of Macrossan Street and the location is the perfect compromise between privacy and convenience.

The grounds are beautiful and just as tasteful as the apartments. A lily pond with fish and a fountain at the entrance sets the tone on arrival, and past that you enter a private courtyard area with another large fountain, and then an outdoor lounge area for guests with a BBQ. Chilled water and ice are provided free of charge. Past that a small path leads to the back area - normally there is an art-deco style sculpture as a feature here, however she had sadly been damaged in the cyclone the previous week. Past that there is a delightful shady paved garden area with sun lounges, and a very nice pool with an interesting circular shape, and a colourful folly at the end.

I'd say that The Martinique is around 10 years old, maybe a bit less, and here and there are small things that need attention, but it would be very picky and unfair to draw attention to them when so much else is so good. It reminded me a lot of a conch house B&B I once stayed in at Key West - relaxed and welcoming, slightly arty and funky, and much more "human" than a big resort.

We look forward to staying there again on subsequent visits to Port Douglas.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor room at the back overlooking the pool if you want a quiet, leafy outlook. Ask for the top floor room at the front overlooking Macrossan St if you want a sunnier outlook with a view across Macrossan St, but really, all the rooms are good.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Trekker666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews