We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way ! Location and service .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martinique on Macrossan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Martinique on Macrossan
Ranked #13 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way ! Location and service .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We travel to port Douglas often , and what we love is the location friendly service and that its a small boutique apartment block .No smoking no children under 16 and its often filled with wonderful people from around the world or newly weds . We have stayed at other spots in port Douglas but what brings us back to the Martinique is the service . Fred and Antonio are always willing to assist in advice of tours and activities .They truly take special care of their guest and we book every year with our adult children and friends . A must visit place !!

Room Tip: We love room 14 it's at the top with a balcony at the front . However we have stayed at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    132
    17
    7
    9
See reviews for
35
433
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Just superb… prefect location, marvellous hosts and brilliant accommodation. We couldn’t want for anything more. Martinique on Macrossan is less than 100 meters stroll to the main beach and surrounded by restaurants, cafes and excellent coffee for enthusiast palates.

A car is not required. The hosts Fred and Antonio were always available and keen to share their local knowledge, so we pursued our interests and maximised our stay.

Martinigue on Macrossan is surrounded by a tranquil tropical garden (the best in the street), which is immaculately maintained, beautiful flowers, water features, heated salt-water pool and comfortable seating areas inviting relaxation & enjoyment

The rooms are well appointed, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable, complete with a balcony for added pleasure amongst the tropical surrounds.

Thank you Antonio and Fred for a wonderful stay; we will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelblog100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarra Valley
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I had booked and fully paid for this apartment three months in advance for my 30th wedding anniversary. Everything was fully confirmed in writing. At 5 pm on the day I was arriving I was rung on my mobile by the manager and told unapologetically that they had given someone else our room and had no rooms left, and that they had arranged for us to go elsewhere, to a unrelated business situated nearby (on a busy road). They weren't even going to be manning the office when we were arriving an hour later (at 6 pm) and just left an envelope on the outside of the office with directions to the other business (and if this envelope had been taken or blown away we wouldn't have even known where to go). I have never heard of such appalling mistreatment by any business. The management clearly wanted to chuck us out so they could make room for others who were going to stay for longer, despite having taken our booking and full payment months before. They had first tried to move other guests (see review on Tripadvisor by Ig16835 for this establishment) and then gave them our room and made us move out. The other accommodation people were nice, but the room was much noisier, which was exactly what I had planned to avoid. I recommend that no one books at this establishment as you cannot trust you that you really have any booking at all.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutcheggs, Owner at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
So your are back again! Your first review was inappropriate and you are now only putting it down on service which is fair enough because that is how you feel. Like in my previous respond we had a sick lady who had to extend for an extra night and couldn't be moved. You never was willing to listen to us when we phoned you to explain the reason and that we had you transferred to another hotel offering the same standard location and price as Martinique. We certainly didn't leave you out in the cold You arrived after 6pm for one night accommodation and we had a similar hotel with a lovely apartment which we checkedout to make sure all was in order. We are only a small hotel with 19 apartments and sometimes things happens. Regardsless of your bad adverse review we were more than happy to assist the very sick lady and we would do that again if necessary.
Fred and Antonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having read many reviews about the Martinique we were looking forward to our stay. And upon check-in our expectations were well and truly met. The hosts are extremely helpful and very welcoming. Unfortunately that is where the positive experience ended. When we entered our room we were hit by the smell of stale fish which we quickly determined was coming from the kitchen cupboards and all of its contents. The first thing my husband did was empty the contents of the cupboards and wash everything in an attempt to get rid of the smell. It also became apparent that we needed to leave our shoes on while inside because the floor was so dirty. Finally, we could not use the bedding because it smelled revolting. We had to strip the bed, carry the bedding down to reception and request that it be changed. Thankfully we planned our trip to Port Douglas in such a way that we didn't spend much time in our room. Had we been planning a relaxing holiday where we hoped to laze around our room I would have immediately checked out and looked for somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank TishTash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dutcheggs, Owner at Martinique on Macrossan, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
We are only a small hotel with a staff of only 4 persons we would certainly know when anybody comes down to have their, what you call, revolting bedding changed. WELL WE HAVEN'T SEEN ANYBODY DOING THIS. We personally check each apartment prior to a guest arrival and make sure that everyting is in order (Refer our 360plus reviews of excellence). You don't receive certificates of excellence for 5 years in a row Our floors are cleaned and washed, our crockery is put through dishwashers etc etc. If you find sand in your apartment this can only be when you are in there and have been to the beach.
I also don't understand that if it was that bad Why didn't you tell us because in your opeing remark you state that we were very welcoming and helpful.
Fred and Antonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was perfect for us, traveling as a couple. The excellent location, at the quiet end of central Port Douglas, one minute from shops and restaurants in one direction and one minut to the beach in the other direction. Wonderfully quiet retreat in the township centre. Cozy apartments, equipped with everything we needed. Best of all - the owners Antonia and Fred. We can't think of more charming and helpful hosts. In addition to helping us with everything from tips to bookings, Fred even turned up early to make sure we got onto the right bus. Do we need to say more?

Room Tip: Room 13 (and probably also 6 and 20) are the furthest away from the street and have balconies facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

These apartments are literally a 2 minute walk to 4-Mile Beach, but also only a short stroll to all shops and restaurants in Port Douglas. The small complex is in a quiet location and Antonia and Fred, the hosts, will go out of their way to help you with anything at all. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. Another plus, no kids allowed!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Felix512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We really enjoyed our trip to Pt Douglas. The folks that run this apartment complex certainly helped with their suggestions of food and attractions. The apartment was really nice and comfortable. As this complex does not cater for children, it is more relaxed and enjoyable for touring couples. It's location being adjacent to the beach and the main strip meant we could walk pretty much to everywhere we needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 44 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
2.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinique on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Property: Martinique on Macrossan
Address: 66 Macrossan St | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#9 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing