We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Martinique on Macrossan
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Nice place, very quiet, well located right at end of Macrossan St (main drag in Port Douglas) and very close to Four MIle Beach. Owners are super nice and very helpful for advice about tours, bookings, etc. Spacious suites with adequate kitchen space for breakfast. Pool is tiny but relaxing space.

Room Tip: Upstairs for small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    138
    19
    10
    9
See reviews for
36
454
38
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Martinique is a gorgeous boutique hotel located at the Four Mile Beach end of Macrossan Street.

Being the quieter end of town, it suited us perfectly, yet was only a short stroll to the shops and restaurants.

Each apartment is well appointed, with everything you need to ensure a comfortable stay.

We were lucky enough to have an apartment which overlooked the pool, which is situated at the back of the hotel and is surrounded by lush foliage. A bonus for us......the pool was not covered in shade, like some hotels we have been too. It would get a minimum of 5 or 6 hours sunshine a day.

For those that like cooking, each apartment has a kitchenette and there is a BBQ in the courtyard for your use.

Managers Fred and Antonia, are a wealth of knowledge and are more than happy to advise you on the best places to visit, eat and relax on your stay.

We have no hesitation in booking the Martinique for our next holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cherie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

perfect location to stroll to the beach or up the road to shops and cafes. Not your usual square box hotel room - lovely tiled floors and plantation shutters give the rooms a tropical feel. We enjoyed our stay but were a bit disappointed at first as our downstairs room was a bit dark and we didn't get any sun on our deck (was expecting something more like the photos on the website). However the lush greenery outside would be wonderful and cooling on a hot day. The kitchen and bathroom could probably do with an update at some stage as are getting a little tired (i.e. the cutlery draw front kept popping off) but the friendly hosts and beautiful Port Douglas itself made up for it. We didn't get any traffic noise however I'm a light sleeper and did notice an electronic noise coming from the speaker/vent in the bedroom which meant I had to sleep with earplugs - think it was an intercom or alarm system but my husband didn't notice it. We would stay again but would request an upstairs room towards the back of the property.

Room Tip: as per other reviewers, the upstairs rooms would be lighter and the decks sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SueC43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop's Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived early having got an overnight flight from Perth and were delighted when Fred was able to swap our apartment so that we were able to grab a couple of hours sleep at 830 in the morning, it made a real difference to us. Also sensible advise on which GBR trips would suit us. Apartments are roomy and well equipped, clean and comfortable. It's an excellent location too. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCrossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The perfect place to stay in The Port. This was our third stay at Martinique. The position of Martinique is excellent. Close to the most amazing beach, delicious restaurants, and shopping. Fred and Antonia are wonderful hosts, who take the role of making their guests comfortable, seriously. The room was fresh and clean and well appointed. It was quiet and comfortable. The pool was heated and a wonderful place to relax away from the heat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Not only is the location ( at the beach end of Macrossan St) ideal, the service from Fred and Antonia is second to none. Friendly, helpful and knowledgeable sums it up. The point of difference with other similar places we have stayed is that the décor is bright and quirky, not boring and bland. When we return we’ll be requesting a room on the top floor to ensure more light and more sun on the balcony. I would agree with other reviewers that the landscaping and gardens are beautiful but that the pool area is a trifle shady for the ‘winter’ months.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor would be lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penpad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a very pleasant 3 night stay at Martinique. The resort is very well kept and looked after and in the perfect location. The rooms are tidy and well equipped with everything you will need. Fred was extremely friendly and helpful, making some great recommendations of places to eat in town and places to visit on our drive to Cape Tribulation. The only fault we found being located on the bottom floor was that our room was quite dark so if possible I would suggest requesting a room upstairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PattyandJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
955 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinique on Macrossan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique on Macrossan

Property: Martinique on Macrossan
Address: 66 Macrossan St | P.O. Box 633, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#11 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Martinique on Macrossan 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique - perfect for a romantic getaway in the heart of Port Douglas; yet quiet, relaxing and charismatic. Martinique on Macrossan boasts 19 one bedroom apartments, each with their own kitchenette, bathroom and private balcony. Offering accommodation from one night to ninety one nights, this French Caribbean style complex is perfect for those wanting to escape the masses, stroll the beach just metres away, enjoy a BBQ in the lovingly maintained courtyard, or simply want to relax by the delightful pool area. This resort is one of a kind in Port Douglas, quiet, centrally located, charming, accepts one night stays and is child free. If you want to enjoy the tranquility and relaxing nature of this village, you must stay at Martinique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Martinique on Macrossan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique On Macrossan Hotel Port Douglas
Martinique On Macrossan Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing