We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mantra PortSea
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradise Links Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
QT Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Boutique Hotel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$303
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Tropical Resort(Port Douglas)
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saltwater Luxury Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$437
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$397
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thala Beach Nature Reserve(Oak Beach)(Great Value!)
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Oaks Lagoons(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$127
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$144
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,759)
Filter reviews
1,759 results
Traveller rating
471
674
370
155
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
674
370
155
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barmantra port seacontinental breakfastbedroom studiominute walkmain poolenjoyed our staybottle shopfour mile beachgreat for familiesgreat poolfamily holidayno liftground floorclose to towngreat facilitiesgreat holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,327 - 1,332 of 1,759 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Arrived at Portsea Mantra to book in. Due to some confusion on their behalf the room we were given was not the one we had requested. Eventually that problem got sorted out. Glad that we had booked a studio room as the hotel rooms are very small. Staff we're very helpful, especially Pip. We thought that being charged to have your room cleaned was a bit greedy. Bed was very comfortable,couldn't fault that at all. Stripped the bed when we left, they DEFINITLEY need new pillows. They were very sweat stained and smelly. Apart from that all good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nothappy660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Mantra Portsea Resort. We do apologise for any confusion that occurred upon checkin, and of the quality of the pillows in the room which we shall look into immediately. We are glad we were able to find a solution for you and that you enjoyed staying in one of our spacious 1 bedroom studio’s which are great for both long and short stays. We do hope you will return to Port Douglas and stay with us again.
Kind regards,
Lisa Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Port Sea ticks most boxes: it's close enough to town to walk to facilities, it's close to the beach (but you don't really go to port for the beach!), there's free internet access, a good exercise room and two lap-type pools well away from the lagoon which may be full of ankle-biters at certain times. The cheerful young staff are unfailingly helpful. Recommended.

Room Tip: It's a bit of a maze so try to check out a room plan before you book.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilR124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Phil,

I very much appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We thank you for your great feedback on our wonderful staff, facilities and location. Our additional lap and plunge pools are thoroughly enjoyed by all our guests as It is a great place to relax and enjoy the beautiful gardens, with the added bonus of being solar heated. We are overjoyed that you will recommend us and hope to see you again soon, as one of our special return guests.
Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed recently at the Mantra Portsea in Port Douglass while on business in the area
Arriving Thursday evening after some long travelling we were greeted by a friendly and very helpful staff member on reception. Not only providing us details of the motel but making some suggestions of eating and visiting places nearby.
The room was very comfortable and spacious and we were lucky to get a quiet room down the back. The grounds were excellent with several pool options plus games room.
There is no onsite eating facility other than a very well presented breakfast.
The car parking was limited but we didn’t seem to miss out when looking for a park in the underground park.
The location of the motel made for easy access to 4 Mile beach and to the centre of town.
This Hotel would be perfect if you were staying in Port Douglass and didn’t want to stay in one of the big resorts or in the centre of town. It is also a good option for middle of the road pricing.
We would stay here again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSH35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review of Mantra Portsea. We are glad you enjoyed all of our resort facilities and found your stay comfortable and relaxing. The main street can get very busy in peak season so the resort being located where it is, just a 15 minute walk out of town you can always find that peace and quiet! We do have lunch options at our Lagoon Pool Bar in the afternoon, and wonderful restaurants just across the road or a short walk away. We are thrilled that you will stay with us again and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at the Mantra Port Sea for 10 nights in April 2014 (just after the cyclone went through - although there was no evidence of it what-so-ever). The staff were so friendly and happy to help with any request. Initially our room was not what we requested but that was rectified straight away and we were very happy. The pool was fantastic and so relaxing - great for the kids. We loved the swim-up bar. Also having DVD player in the room was great for the kids as we had movie night every night before bed. Very close access to the beach was great for afternoon walks. Car parking also a bonus - never an issue. I recommend getting the adjoining room with kids - lots of space! Especially for a long stay. The breakfast room was a nice extra and they even had gluten-free breads and cereals for one of my children which he thought was fantastic. Thanks for contributing to a wonderful family holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Bel W,
Thank you for your review. We are so thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for such detailed comments about our rooms and guest facilities. I definitely agree with you in regards to the adjoining rooms – if you are travelling as a family, these are a very spacious option. We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and helpful, we are very proud of our team here at Mantra Portsea. It’s always so rewarding for us to hear that we were able to provide our guests with a wonderful family holiday and have passed on this review to the whole team! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights .The property was small but beautiful. When we stayed here, it was going through renovation, so there was disruptions to using the pool. The breakfast was basic continental spread with good service. The decor of the hotel was beach themed which was very pleasant. The room was very big as compared to other hotel rooms in Australia. The staff at reception was very friendly too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Param23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Param23,
Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Mantra Portsea. Your comments about our décor, service and rooms are much appreciated. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you experienced while our waterslide was being painted. Should you wish to return to Port Douglas one day, please contact us directly so we can ensure we can look after you as a return guest of Mantra PortSea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews