We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely reception area and pool”
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Ranked #23 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
bondi beach
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely reception area and pool”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The reception area and pool are beautiful but the room we had did not represent a 4 star resort. The room was very tired. Ripped seats dripping shower. The staff were Very helpful. The breakfast room was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meljomolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Mantra Portsea,

It is disspointing to hear of the quality of the apartment furnishings. This is something I will be sure to address.

Many Thanks,

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    538
    301
    116
    65
See reviews for
451
661
62
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

First impressions of the room... Dirty, dark and damp. Furniture and bedding stained, bathroom drain grubby, musty smell even in dry season.

Cot provided was stained, did not have a mattress or breathable fabric at two ends.

Seven days is too long to go without a towel and bin change with a baby. Fee quoted for daily towel charge of $45 is ridiculous.

Paid breakfast at $14 per head is disappointing. Very limited selection of choices, poor quality and instant coffee only.

We raised these concerns to the staff and at all times they were willing to hear us out and accommodate where they could. Despite their best efforts, we've opted for alternative accommodation for the duration of our holiday, despite staff locating rooms at the nearby Mantras.

Definitely a three star, not a four. Would recommend only for the staff. Time for rooms to be repainted and bathrooms and furniture to be replaced.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank StevoColdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you Steve for your review.

It is disspointing to hear of the issues with cleaniness in your room. Our team pride themselves on a high standard and it seems this has not been on your occasion.

Breakfast is an offering and the price compares to many other options in and around Port Douglas. I take your feedback and will address where needed.

The towel replacement at $45 is a concern. This is not advised nor it is a practice here at Mantra Portsea.

It is disspointing you did not enjoy your stay- happy to hear the staff were as always at a high standard.

Many Thanks

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed the last 8 days at the PortSea despite the mediocre weather. It has a relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff and offers clean and comfortable accommodation and facilities. We had a lagoon view studio on the ground floor that was very private with a lovely courtyard that was a few steps from one of the smaller pools and the spa. One of the few negatives we had was that the spa was not heated and the pools in general were a little cold. The other was that the apartment was a little musty as I'd read in other reviews but given the amount of rain they have had in Port Douglas this must be very difficult to control, there were air fresheners in the room but these didn't stop the damp smell that was evident when the apartment had been closed up for part of the day. There was a continental breakfast included which had a good selection of cereal, breads, fruit, cold meats and cheeses.
Special thanks to Tim who patiently answered my many questions regarding tours etc. He has exceptional customer service skills and would be an asset to any resort.
We look forward to visiting Port Douglas and the PortSea again soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you Sharon for your review,

It is so lovely to hear such nice comments regarding our team here at Portsea and I will be sure Tim views your comments.

Once again thank you, we look forward to welcoming you again next time you choose to travel.

Many Thanks,

Lisa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gundagai, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Convenient location- out of the hustle and bustle of Macrossan st but within walking distance. Great lagoon pool, our 3 year old loved it, safe and fun for her and we could watch her in our deck chairs. All amenities were available. 2 bedroom apartment wasn't huge but the size was what I expected for the price. We were on the bottom floor which smelt a bit damp. Balcony was nice and big. Staff were all really helpful. We would return. We had actually had a relaxing holiday with 2 small children which I didn't think was possible!

Room Tip: Definitely worth getting a lagoon pool view. Nice big balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thanks Kate- So glad you enjoyed your stay. Mantra Portsea is a fabulous resort for young families. As you say you actually got to have a holiday too!

Many Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Kind regards,
Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel has a lovely exterior and layout and a lovely pool & spa although both not heated. The other aspect I noticed regarding the layout was it did not cater to people with disabilities or the elderly. I booked a hotel room. My sheets had what looked like poop or huge chunk of chocolate and small drop of blood who knows what else! I refused to sleep on them. The hotel staff did promptly give me new sheets. The bed so uncomfortable my back killed me. My room smelt, the carpets needed changing. The bedside tables and bathroom wasn't cleaned properly. I found other peoples hair still on them. I had to go purchase cleaning product just to clean shower and everything else! Not one teaspoon supplied to mix your sugar and milk if you make it yourself. So ridiculous you have to pay extra for room service! The breakfast was a joke. Coffee machine broken. Flies buzzing around everywhere in the breakfast room. I would not stay ever again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flowerbomb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review.

It is evident our team have missed the mark in all respects of your stay here at Mantra Portsea.

Our team hold high regard for our standards throughout all departments especially our housekeeping team- it is disspointing to hear of your experience. It is a small comfort to hear the team offered to fix this problem promptly.

I apologise for the issues you encountered during breakfast. Some things are unaviobale during service, I will forward your comments to our teams as constructive feedback.

Once again I thank you for taking the time to offer your review on Mantra Portsea,

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My mum and I stayed here in May 2014, this hotel is a great location. Its on the Four Mile Beach side, and has a lovely access walk to the beach (2min walk).

Pool is nice, lots of different areas to sit around it with a pool side bar if you fancy a cocktail.
We had an apartment style room, had everything you needed cooking facilities wise. We ate out every night but you could easy shop at Coles and make something in the room.

Its about a 10-15 minute walk to the main street with all the shops and restaurants. You can walk along Davidson St or the beach to get there. Its nice after dinner, walk off the yummy food you have consumed.

We had breakfast included which is handy if you cant be bothered walking to the shops first thing, saves money too. Just simple continental style but it fills the spot.

My only complaint was the TV mounted on the wall was too high, so when you went to watch it from the couch you had to strain your neck to look up at it. Would be better suited on a small TV unit. And a bit of a noisy fan, may just have needed to be tightened.

Would stay again for sure..... Clean & modern hotel.

Room Tip: If you have issues with stairs ask for a ground level room, its a bit of a maze but there are ways o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us in May. We are in a great location here at Mantra Portsea and we are glad you took full advantage of it. Our swim up bar is definitely the highlight for many of our guests with an extensive cocktail menu, and happy hour at 3pm! Your comments on the breakfast room and self contained apartment are much appreciated and we value your constructive feedback. Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you again very soon
Kind regards,
Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is a very confusing place. It looks good but it has none of the features of a good hotel (restaurant, room service etc) and none of the features of a good serviced apartment (usable kitchenette, washing facilities), it simply provides the worst of both.
If you want clean linen or towels - there's a charge.
If you want wifi - there's a charge.
There are no obvious laundry facilities.
There is no room service.
There is no restaurant (except for breakfast).
The carpark is free but was full when we tried to use it. As they are on the main highway, parking can be a problem.
The venue is about a 20 minute walk to Port Douglas, but there is no real footpath, so don't walk at night.
As an aside, I only give reviews when the venue is very good or very bad.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MelbourneTravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jess W, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your taking the time to write a review.

I am happy to recieve all feedback good, bad or indifferent and utilise as constructive feedback or as compliments to the team.
I appreciate this review is your interpretation of your stay, however I feel the need to clarify some points which are an inacurate, misleading or not advertised as a service or facility offered in this resort.

-There is a path at the front of the resort for bikes and pedistrians which has direct access into the main street of Port Douglas.
-Laundry Facitlites are located in three locations throughout the resort and sigange is visible for these.
-Room service is not advertised as a feature of this resort.
-Their is ample carparking for all rooms within the resort in the complimentary underground carpark or rear carpark within resort grounds.

Many Thanks,
Lisa Brown
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
796 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
473 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
683 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Property: Mantra PortSea
Address: 76 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst North Queensland's tropical rainforests, Mantra PortSea is a short walk to golden beaches and Port Douglas main tourist strip, Macrossan Street which offers an abundance of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs. At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. For activity-seekers there is a fully-equipped gymnasium and tennis court. The PortSea Massage & Beauty Day Spa offers plenty of opportunity for pampering and relaxation with a full range of massage and beauty treatments. Guest services include baby sitting services, a guest laundry, On-site complimentary undercover parking (subject to availability 1 vehicle per room), an internet room, arrival and departure lounge plus our booking services can organise tour bookings to the reef, rainforest and other local attractions. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. From your courtyard or balcony the sights and sounds of the tropical north will provide a carefree holiday environment for the whole family. Tropical North Queensland is famous for the reef, rainforest and numerous adventure activities that can be undertaken. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. Holidaymakers looking for cosmopolitan sophistication set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea should look no further than Mantra PortSea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing