We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Port Douglas”
Review of Mantra PortSea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantra PortSea
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Location in Port Douglas”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

With so many choices of accommodation in Port Douglas from right in the town centre to along the main drive into Port Douglas, this Mantra hotel provides a nice balance of location, close enough to town to walk along beach into town, & far enough away to not suffer from town and vehicle noise. The hotel itself while aged provides good swimming facilities (pool is not heated), including small slide for kids. The rooms were small, we had a 2 bedroom, but was really just a studio with kitchenette and a separate hotel room with a joined lobby. It may feel a bit cramped for longer stays, but was suitable for our 2 night stay. There was a swim up bar. Hotel is on beachside so just a 2 minute stroll and your on 4 mile beach! Not luxury accommodation, but was clean and suitable for a great holiday.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandlisaplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay,

It is nice to see you got out to enjoy Port Douglas on foot which is so pleasant and nice to do this time of the year.

It will be nice to welcome you back for a longer stay next time,

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    514
    286
    114
    59
See reviews for
424
642
60
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for a week with my wife and 14 yr old daughter. Nice balcony view to the main pool although the pool bar was directly in front of us. The room was ok and clean enough so no complainants there. The general staff were mostly german and were always very friendly and helpful. The reception staff were excellent. This place caters for families and their seemed to be hundreds of kids but was only a bit of a challenge at breakfast time. I thought the breakfast was very good for a continental breakfast but you had to be lucky to get a good table. No resturant at this hotel and the only very close takeaway was Japanese (but it was good). The only major disappointment was the pool. Why have three freezing cold pools that nobody except a few brave kids will use. Wouldn't go back to this one just on this basis alone.

Room Tip: Dont get ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.
Our One Bedroom Studio Lagoons are our most popular rooms. They are very spacious and offer a kitchenette, a lounge area and a balcony overlooking the lagoon pool.
Thank you for commenting on our reception staff, They are a great team and we will pass your comments on to the whole team.
During peak periods the breakfast room does get quite busy, however is open from 6.30am - 9.30am to offer flexibility in times. Our Mantra Portsea offers a swim up pool bar where you can enjoy drinks and snacks daily from 12noon until 6pm.
Our Lap Pool is solar heated and Spa pool is solar heated and are currently quite popular.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this review.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Being a little away from the main drag was excellent and a chance for a lovely walk 10 minutes back from the shops. The room was big and sunny. Service at reception was very good.
My only complaint is that there was no room service at all in the 6 days we stayed there and if we wanted clean towels we had to pay for them.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conniefiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review,

I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us here at PortSea.
Please note, only a full service is a charge and or amenities. Fresh towels are available from reception at any time.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drysdale, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

After reading numerous reviews on the Mantra Port Sea I decided to make a 5 night reservation staying in the July school holidays. There were good and bad aspects to this resort. The good aspects were the reception area, main pool, although very cold at this time of year and the tennis court. The bad aspects were firstly the room. We were on the bottom level which meant we could not use our balcony due to swarms of mosquitos, the shutters on the apartment windows were ridiculous and unless they were open, no light entered the rooms. Floors and furniture were filthy. The corridors that lead to the rooms were long and confusing, once away from the reception area I felt like we were staying at a backpacker resort. Unfortunately we had pre-paid for our stay otherwise I would have checked out and moved on. Breakfast was included in our room rate and this was the worst aspect of our stay. I know it was school holidays but something needs to be done regarding this space. Hotel management need to come up with ideas on how to rectify this issue. The room was far too small to cater for the number of guests. People were everywhere, it was total chaos and there were constant lines for food, coffee, tables etc. Cheap tea and coffee is one thing, but to have to drink it out of a paper cups is another!!
I found the staff to be friendly and they seemed to move from one area of the hotel to another. Girls that worked in the breakfast room would later be working at the pool bar, and then back again the next morning at breakfast.
I would not stay at this resort again as there are better options around.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level have less mosquito issues during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neepfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your honest review,

It seems we have missed the mark in many areas during your stay which is dissapointing as Portsea is a great resort to enjoy.

I apologise for the standard of cleaniness in your room, this is not the standard we strive to achieve and this will be followed up promptly.
Our breakfast room offers a fresh offering of continental breakfast and although it does get busy during peak times our extending opening times during holidays cater for this.
Our takeaway coffee option is available at all times however there is always crockery as standard.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your time with us here.

Kind regards,

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I think an earlier poster got it spot on in that this place seems confused on what it wants to be. Is it a self appointed apartments or a hotel? The entrance is nice and the pool, while cold, is laid out well. Location is also good with only a small walk into town.

The 'hotel room' was honestly smaller than some backpacker rooms I've stayed in. Bathroom was dirty and when checking under the bed for anything we left behind it looked as though it hadn’t been cleaned for a significant amount of time. Also, this is very much a child friendly hotel and using any of the amenities will be difficult to compete with.

Like other posters here, we ended up checking out a night early and finding another place. Port Douglas is a great spot with many wonderful hotels/resorts. For the price, you can do a lot better

Room Tip: If you must stay here don't go the Hotel Room as it's unbelievably small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cjm852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review,

All comments and reviews are used as measure on what the resort requires to make it 'everyone's choice' when choosing to stay in Port Douglas.

We are very family orientated and the surrounds compliment this. During our high seasons this is more evident.

It is most disspointing to hear about cleaning isuses during your stay. This is not the standard we aim to reach each day and your comments have been forwarded to our housekeeping team.

Again thank you for your comments,

kind regards,

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We booked back in December 2013 and had requested not to be on the ground floor. On arrival we were given a ground floor room which was very dark and furnishings dated. Had we not pre-paid we would have tried to source alternate accommodation. Staff were unable to assist with a room change during our 5 night stay. The resort felt like a rabbit warren – long corridors leading every which way. The breakfast room (if you can find it without getting lost) was not a relaxing experince in any way. My daughter likened it to her recent school camp and we had to agree. A huge room with share benches or if you were lucky enough to score a table, most were a foot away from the action so you had lines of people hovering over you while you tried to eat. Had a few near misses with bowls of cereal landing in our laps.
Positives: The resort was only 100metres to the beach and whilst they dont service the room, you are welcome to fresh towels each day from reception at no extra cost. Overall, the resort was disappointing compared to other Mantra resorts we have stayed at previously.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBevs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your review,

I apolgise for our shortcomings in realtion to our breakfast offerings. when the resort is at near capacity it is hard to seat all guests particulary at peak times when most like to enjoy breakfast.

it was nice to see you have mentioned the qualities Mantra Portsea also has and the facilities it offers.

Many Thanks

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We only stayed overnight thank god. Arrived at 5 and left at 8 the next morning. The room smelt like there was a dirty nappy under the bed which I kept looking for. Bathroom was dirty. The breakfast room was atrocious with no staff and what little staff there was were backpackers that wouldnt clear the tables instead watched the soccer. There was about 5 kids to every adult. The kids run around the buffet so you couldnt get food with what little there was. The coffee machine was absolutely filthy and the coffee coming out was so bad you couldnt drink it. I couldnt sleep all night for kids running up the corridors and babys constantly crying. Never ever again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa B, General Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
This is most disapointing to read. Also as I never had the chance to meet with you about your concerns with the resort.

It would be great if I can could get more information on your stay so I can make contact and discuss your stay.

Many Thanks,

Lisa Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.7 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
776 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#25 of 43 in Port Douglas
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
676 reviews
2.4 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra PortSea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra PortSea

Property: Mantra PortSea
Address: 76 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly BreakFree Portsea Resort)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#23 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#26 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra PortSea 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst North Queensland's tropical rainforests, Mantra PortSea is a short walk to golden beaches and Port Douglas main tourist strip, Macrossan Street which offers an abundance of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs. At Mantra PortSea there are almost too many relaxation choices, there are three swimming pools with the large central lagoon featuring a swim-up pool bar with water slide, spas and waterfalls surrounded by magnificent Golden Canes and vivid Haliconias. For activity-seekers there is a fully-equipped gymnasium and tennis court. The PortSea Massage & Beauty Day Spa offers plenty of opportunity for pampering and relaxation with a full range of massage and beauty treatments. Guest services include baby sitting services, a guest laundry, undercover car parking, an internet room, arrival and departure lounge plus our booking services can organise tour bookings to the reef, rainforest and other local attractions. Situated between the seascape of Four Mile Beach and Port Douglas Village, the property offers hotel rooms, and one and two bedroom suites or two bedroom apartments. All hotel rooms, studios and apartments feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, flat screen TV, DVD player, movies on demand, mini-bar on request and tea and coffee making facilities. One and two bedroom studios and two bedroom apartments boast the added convenience of kitchenette facilities and the comfort of a two person spa bath and private balcony. From your courtyard or balcony the sights and sounds of the tropical north will provide a carefree holiday environment for the whole family. Tropical North Queensland is famous for the reef, rainforest and numerous adventure activities that can be undertaken. Four Mile Beach (just one minute's walk from the resort) is a unique stretch of beach that looks out over the Coral Sea. All tours can be booked by the reception tour desk. Holidaymakers looking for cosmopolitan sophistication set against the backdrop of the Coral Sea should look no further than Mantra PortSea. Important information: Sunday 11 June 2017 - Cairns Airport IRONMAN Asia-Pacific Championship Cairns – will involve changed traffic conditions. The Captain Cook Highway between the Cairns Airport and Port Douglas will be closed from 5.30am until 5.30pm due to the annual Cairns Airport Ironman Asia Pacific Championship. For more information visit cairnsadventurefestival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra PortSea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Portsea Port Douglas
Mantra Portsea Resort Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing