We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, awesome room”
Review of Mantra Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mantra Heritage
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Great location right on Main Street . Great room jacuzzi on verandah wouldn't choose any other room here . Room clean everything you need for a long stay everything in walking distance wouldn't stay Anywhere else

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Realhonestreviews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had a fantastic stay in October 2012. My sister and I and our husbands had a 2 Bedroom (Studio and 1 Bedroom) apartment and our friends had a 1 Bedroom apartment. It is so convenient to all Cafes and Hotels and a mere 1 minute walk to Coles. Rooms were all set up well. The function we loved was the Big BarBQ area where we cooked our fresh fish from teh wholesaler behind. Highly recommend this venue for a vacation. Our Spa's on the Patio Pool Deck was great at night after a day out on the reef.

Room Tip: They often have specials stay 4 pay three or stay 5 pay 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marie735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Hi marie735.

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and spacious pool and BBQ deck area that Mantra Heritage has to offer.
The tempting aroma of many a good meal cooked on the resort BBQ often wafts through to reception !

We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny Port Douglas again.

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Hotel has an excellent location and fantastic pool / courtyard area.

The room we had had the swim up pool deck and a lovely verandah / deck; the room had 32" flatscreen tv, with DVD player under. Bathroom basic with poor lighting but large and overall good.

The only issue was the room itself was small (studio) and only furnishings were Queen bed, bedside tables sink & tea making facilities and TV; no room for table & chairs, however there was a table & chairs on the adjacent verandah, so no probs.

Only criticism is the un-heated pools, which were really too cold to swim in July. Also its about time free WiFi was provided, Starbucks give it for price of coffee. However here were two computers available in the reception area.

For people who get seasick, and want to see the Great Barrier Reef, we found a teriffic jet boat service (in the Marina) to the 'Low Isles' with 15 minute hi-speed transport & no sickness, the Reef was spectacular, saw lots, incl. shark that swam past me but was not even curious. The place provides wet-suits snorkels & even prescription goggles, cost $120 and lasted 1.5 hrs snorkelling and 15 min each way trip.

Great Hotel overall, also adjacent to shops, incl. Coles store.

Room Tip: We had studio, with swim up deck, which was excellent, pool however was cold in July & we esenti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We spent a week at the Heritage over the high season. Had a one bedroomed, walk-out apartment, and loved it. Great location, good facilities, amazing staff. A special commendation of Casey, the front-office supervisor - one of the best customer service people we have ever interacted with!

Only reason it was not an Excellent rating was around the cleanliness of the apartment - was clean, but still hair in the drain, a few other things, and not quite clean enough. And wireless was expensive - even Casey advised us not to use it! I'm so over hotels and apartment not having free internet. Origin Expresso across the road offered free wifi and excellent coffee.

Would have liked the pool water a bit warmer too. :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a walk-out deck, preferable one on the Macrossan Street side, as very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Hi BrianRGardner.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found Casey to be as helpful and friendly as we all do on a daily basis !
I hope we were able to quickly fix up any cleaning issues you found , my apologies there as cleaning is one of our strong points at Mantra Heritage.

Sorry to hear that you did not take advantage of our free internet terminals in the foyer , which are available during office hours of 7.30am - 7pm.

We look forward to seeing you back in beautiful Port Douglas soon.

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location right in the centre of shops & restaurants so can walk pretty much everywhere local. Had a spa unit with private balcony and recommend as best option. Enjoyed a lovely 10 days here. Lovely pools & landscaping & own bbq or shared one in pool area with just a few recommendations to improve to excellence:
- need dishwasher in room
- kitchen space a little bit small
- wifi outsourced was too expensive (however free Internet available on pcs in reception)
- would be good if a few more basics were provided eg pepper salt sugar as not something you want to buy for a few days or week

Not big things, would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Located right in the middle of Macrossan Street, metres to Coles Supermarket, Cafes and restaurants. Apartments are a little tired but location makes up for it.
This is not 5 star, but a nice place to escape to during winter.
It is the closest apartment block to the main street, so is not a resort, but does have a large pool which is clean and well maintained with barbeque area.
Car park is convenient with lift access and free!
Staff friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Austtraveller92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Hi Austtraveller92

Great to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and large and relaxing pool deck.
Our customer service is also something we pride ourselves on so I am glad this added an extra touch to your break.
We look forward to seeing you back in Port Douglas again sometime soon.

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Myself and my family stayed here for 7 nights. We had swim out rooms and found the location perfect, the rooms beautiful, staff friendly and it was so tranquil! We walked straight onto macrossan street from the hotel and as we were at the heart of port we had everything at our fingertips. We swam every day and loved the pool, our room had its own bbq on the deck and we had another deck surrounded by gorgeous tropical plants, we found no flaws during our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellieckgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#29 of 42 in Port Douglas
248 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
928 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Heritage

Address: 16 Warner St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Heritage)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £62 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Heritage 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled around 1200 square metres of saltwater lagoon pools and spas, Mantra Heritage, embraces its relaxed atmosphere and central location, and provides the perfect base to explore all Port Douglas has to offer. Comprising hotel rooms as well as self contained one and two bedroom apartments, all have comfortable furnishings with some featuring a swim-up pool deck. The apartments are fully self contained and offer additional features such as a kitchenette and separate living area. All rooms feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, internet access, cable TV and balconies. Set around two lagoon style pools and amongst tropical gardens, the resort offers relaxation, privacy and poolside living yet is central to the heart of the main street via direct walkway access. Only a short stroll from the wharf and Four Mile Beach, Mantra Heritage provides a pleasant holiday location perfect for couples or families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Heritage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mantra Heritage Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mantra Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing