We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Port Douglas”
Review of Mantra Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Heritage
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was our second stay at the Mantra Heritage. On both occasions we have enjoyed our stay. We had a one bedroom swim out. There was plenty of room for the two of us plus our 18 month old sleeping in a porta cot.
The room was nice, the staff were helpful and the location in the heart of Macrossan St is excellent.
The large lagoon style swimming pool is only 1.3 m deep which is perfect for swimming with a toddler.
I would recommend you give the Mantra Heritage a go especially for young families.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

Great location, first we get a room we didn't order asked to have the right room but told sorry we cannot guarantee the the room you want you either get spa room or pool room unless specifically asked for, we had specifically asked 3 times prior, they tell us that it is explained on our confirmation booking, I had to take it to them at point out where because it does not say that at all. We then get told we can move you Tuesday, Tuesday comes and they tell us again sorry we are fully booked can't move us till Thursday again I challenged and this time they miraculously found the pool room and we moved. Yes a lovely room and finally happy however the day prior to checkout we get a call asking us when we are checking out that it is today, wrong again our checkout was Saturday, we relinquished our plans and again had to bring out our confirmation booking saying the Sat not Fri, a lady rushed out saying it's ok the manager is fixing it up, not sorry stuffed it up, they had not transferred the room over correctly when we moved!! I used to run apartment of this type but 160 rooms at one location and 137 at another simultaneously and never did we not guarantee the room a customer booked. We would also have been in overload of apologies and freebies or free come again holidays for messing it up so badly, not asking for that but saying that is what a well run organisation does. The second room was nice and yes great location yes but ensure what you order is what you get. Cannot blame the receptionist because ultimately the manager is responsible, apologies would have been appreciated if the had of this wouldn't have been written.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Hi Sharyn M.

I am glad you enjoyed the convenience of Mantra Heritage.

As I explained to you in our discussions , we cannot ever guarentee a particular room.
All requests are taken into account , however are never promised due to the limited number of pool side rooms available.
We did explain this to you and then managed to shift you during you stay.
I believe I did explain this to you in detail when I also offered to shift you to another room at no extra cost.

We look forward to seeing you back in Port Douglas again soon.

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at the Mantra Heritage for a couple of nights. It is centrally located, the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a big room with two balconies - the view isn't anything to write home about, but the breeze was good. Big bathroom and a comfortable bed. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Hi RedPuffin.

Thank you for the feedback , we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and proximity to all that Port has to offer !

Look forward to seeing you back at Mantrta Heritage soon.

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

stayed in a two bedroom for 4 days last week. loved it. great room, great spa. awesome location. friendly staff. only downfall was it was a but expensive, but this was to be expedited as it was school holiday. would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: rooms closer to the pool may be louder.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tay_13738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Over the past 10 years we have stayed in Port Douglas for a bit of R&R a couple of times a year. We have found Mantra Heritage THE BEST place to stay. As both a couple and a family this is both accommodating and very centralized to the town centre. No need for transport - you can walk right outside the Mantra gate and onto the main street, which has everything you can possibly require and want on a holiday. There is no noise from the main street even on weekends. It actually feels like your in a world of your own inside the Mantra Heritage. The pools and spas are a tropical heaven - the top pool is huge and is heated which is excellent for kids. The rooms we have stayed in are modern with all facilities. Some rooms are swim-out to the pool others have a BBQ, others have a private spa - some contain the lot!
Don't take my word for it - you HAVE to stay and see for yourself.

Room Tip: Ask for room near the top pool on Warner Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcisco98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Hi Jcisco98

Great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us again here at Mantra Heritage.

The team look forward to welcoming you back again sometime soon !

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

So disappointed with Mantra in Port Douglas, booked into mantra on the inlet because if the location. Our room overlooked the exhaust fans and air conditioners of the hotel next door. So noisy and our room filled with fumes from the exhaust fan. Workman started work at 7am which was too early to be woken up on holidays!! Asked to be shifted and the duty manager was quite helpful and suggested we move to the Mantra Heritage. We had a long wait to get into our room. The location of the room we were given is on the ground floor, double doors overlooking the back street. No other windows in the apartment, no natural light. So disappointed with Mantra and would not recommend this chain to anyone. This is the first time I have reviewed on Trip Advisor and warn others that what you see is not what you get. These apartments aren't cheap to stay in!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Hi Jill O.

Thank you for your feedback.

However , I am unsure why you felt the need to write regarding a room in which you did not actually stay in.
As explained to you at the time , we were only too happy to shift you once from Mantra On The Inlet and again to a room of your liking at Mantra Heritage.
You did advise me that this room suited your needs and that you had written this review before shifting rooms and would update the review.
Please contact me direct for any future booking so i can personally ensure we get you into a room that suits you best.

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

While the room was a bit tired it was clean and comfortable, and the staff extreamly helpfull.

Positioned in the middle of Port it is a short walk to all the dinning options you wish for. Warner street can be a bit noisy as the 24hour servo i sdirectly oppsite, but a small price when the nice flow thru breezes..

Room Tip: Try for a top floor room with double Balcony or Balcony spar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruzin303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
896 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#6 of 42 in Port Douglas
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#29 of 42 in Port Douglas
247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,645 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#18 of 42 in Port Douglas
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Heritage

Address: 16 Warner St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Heritage)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#20 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £61 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Heritage 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled around 1200 square metres of saltwater lagoon pools and spas, Mantra Heritage, embraces its relaxed atmosphere and central location, and provides the perfect base to explore all Port Douglas has to offer. Comprising hotel rooms as well as self contained one and two bedroom apartments, all have comfortable furnishings with some featuring a swim-up pool deck. The apartments are fully self contained and offer additional features such as a kitchenette and separate living area. All rooms feature air-conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, internet access, cable TV and balconies. Set around two lagoon style pools and amongst tropical gardens, the resort offers relaxation, privacy and poolside living yet is central to the heart of the main street via direct walkway access. Only a short stroll from the wharf and Four Mile Beach, Mantra Heritage provides a pleasant holiday location perfect for couples or families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mantra Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Heritage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mantra Heritage Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mantra Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing