We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic !!”
Review of Mantra Heritage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Heritage
Ranked #24 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Have just returned home yesterday after a week at Mantra Heritage.. Travelling with my family, we had three rooms side by side with a private deck area out from our rooms, straight into the pool. Could not fault the rooms or the resort. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful reception staff, from booking tours to answering any questions we had. From check in to check out this resort won our vote. Will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Robyn S,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a great review of our resort. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be wonderful and helpful. We all take great pride in providing exceptional customer service. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed 6th April to 13th April 2014.

Accommodation: 2 bedroom apartment (room 1307). Clean, spacious lovely ensuite in both bedrooms. Well maintained air conditioning, ceiling fans. Beds very comfortable. Quiet. Pools well kept and never crowded. Lovely under cover BBQ area near pool was first class. Lovely gardens.

Service: We knew before hand that there was no room service during our stay. Any assistance was well handled by reception staff. Some people are made to be in the hospitality industry and both Shelby and her manager David are two such people. There service with a smile was uplifting. When Cyclone Ita was threatening they were very reassuring. All rooms were supplied with torches, a bucket and very detailed updates on the cyclone. We were assigned Eric and given his mobile phone number as a 24 hour contact during the storm. The buildings were undamaged and we felt very safe during the cyclone and didn't require any other assistance. Extra staff were put on to handle any adverse outcomes. We were glad we stuck it out to experience this event. When our return flight was cancelled they assisted in getting transfers back to Cairns (not easy given local flooding and landslides).

Location: We had stayed away from the town centre on previous occasions. Never again. This location is perfectly situated to all shopping, the beach and the marina. All easy walking distance

Would we stay again here? Definitely yes and we hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms with private deck to pool certainly looked very inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllanMarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear AllanMarr,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a great review of our resort. It’s great to hear Cyclone Ita did not affect your stay too much and you still managed to have an enjoyable stay. Also thank you for your kind comments regarding Shelby and I and we all look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

When we first saw all the beautiful pictures of the Mantra Heritage on the internet we were thrilled that our travel agent had picked this hotel for our 7 night stay. That "thrilled" feeling quickly led to sheer disappointment as we checked in to room 1309. There was not a pool view in sight off our one and only balcony...only a petrol station, Avis and Budget car rental offices and a mechanics . ( Something we get to see on any given day travelling to and from work in Sydney ) We apparently didn't even qualify for a spa as I have since found out other 2 bedroom suites had . Adjacent to our room was the Coles / Target car park and a delivery dock. Directly below us was the hotels car park entrance / exit and where the hotels garbage bin was placed at night for daily collection at 6am each morning. We asked for an upgrade, happy to pay extra for a better position but were told there was nothing available and then promptly forgotten. The room itself was nothing memorable, very average in fact - for example we had a clothes dryer that was rackety -the filter dropped off consistently,an air conditioning remote control that wasn't working in the main bedroom, blankets, drinking glasses etc catered for 4 people ( we are a family of 5 ) and a balcony door that was near impossible to open and close... and as others have pointed out , there were a great deal of stairs to be taken coming and going to the pool, car park and main shopping areas etc. Great location but for the money we paid , we felt as though we could have done a lot better in accommodation as there was a multitude of lovely hotels in the same area with " Vacancy " signs abundant at that time of the year. We loved Port Douglas and will definitely return. Would we return to Mantra Heritage? Not likely.

Room Tip: Only book room 1309 if you want a taste of Sydney living.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay at Mantra Heritage. Unfortunately some of our apartments do not have pool views and I apologise that a deluxe apartment was not available on the dates you stayed. We have also looked at the dryer in room #1309 and have had the filter repaired which we would have promptly done should we have been aware when you were staying with us as with the air-conditioning remote.

I do hope you have the opportunity to visit Port Douglas again and I am sure if you book one of our 2 bedroom deluxe apartments you would be very happy with the view. Alternatively we have a number of Mantra Resorts in town which may be better suited, please contact me directly on david.hutcheon@mantra.com.au and I will ensure your next say will be memorable for all the right reasons.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great position right in the middle of town. Very clean. Happy, helpful staff. Good access after hours but must be able to do stairs. If you want a room with immediate access to the pool you need to ask for it not assume all deluxe rooms have pool access. Some are on the second level with a private spa. Very enjoyable stay. Would defiantly return.

Room Tip: See review write up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We loved our two bedroom two bathroom swim up apartment. The apartment was clean, modern & spacious. The swim up access from the deck off our courtyard area was so good!! We also enjoyed the huge day bed. Our boys (7 & 4) wanted to swim all the time and we could join them or watch them from our deck on the sun lounges. There was a Balinese type hut with a great bbq that could be used by guests. We stayed in late November & it was fairly quiet so we had a lot of privacy. The location is superb right near Macrossan St and next to Coles.We had 7 night & didn't want to leave. Thanks Mantra Heritage!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Tina1973_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraPortDouglas, General Manager at Mantra Heritage, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Tina,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is a great pleasure to hear you and your family enjoyed your time at Mantra Heritage.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

David Hutcheon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We landed at Cairns at 0630 and following the drive to Port Douglas we were really pleased to be allowed to check in. The room was really spacious, we had gone for a one bed apartment, with a swim up deck and really useful little kitchenette. The room was accessed through a shared door with the neighbour - this door had really heavy return springs as did the apartment doors which meant you could not help but hear neighbours' movements, especially early in the morning! The pool was nice but could have done with more regular cleaning; our one sunlounger on our deck was damaged but was replaced quickly once we chatted to reception. The resort is perfectly placed for access to Macrossan St and all the restaurants and bars. Internet access was extra but reasonably good.

Room Tip: Go for a one bed apartment with a swim up deck if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brands_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This place is located on Macrossan Street,so there is no need for transportation as everything is walking distance within the town centre.

Swimming Pools are fantastic and always maintained.

Rooms were on

Room Tip: Rooms facing Maccrosan Street are easier to access via elevator, though can have morning noise due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinicReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
2.3 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#13 of 42 in Port Douglas
952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#29 of 42 in Port Douglas
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
741 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,721 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
Ramada Resort Port Douglas
#17 of 42 in Port Douglas
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Heritage

Address: 16 Warner St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger Heritage)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#19 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £59 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Heritage 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover casual elegance in the iconic Tropical North Queensland town of Port Douglas. Your Port Douglas accommodation has open spaces, sparkling water and lush gardens edging private terraces and plunge pools. Peppers Beach Club is one of the finest Port Douglas resorts. Snorkel the Great Barrier Reef, 4WD Cape Tribulation and stroll along Four Mile Beach during an amazing sunset. Your accommodation in Port Douglas isn’t far from the evening’s entertainment at Macrossan Street. Peppers Beach Club is in the modern Australian tropical village of Port Douglas, one of the last stop-off points before the Daintree. If you crave a pure tropical resort experience, this Port Douglas accommodation is first class. And it’s just an hour from the international Cairns Airport along one of the great scenic coastal drives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mantra Heritage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Heritage Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Mantra Heritage Hotel Port Douglas
Port Douglas Mantra Heritage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing