We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable and lots of extras”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
By The Sea Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed 5 nights in late March at By the Sea in a "Superior Sea View" apartment and found it to be a great value. The view is over the rooftop of a lower-level building, but it still mostly includes ocean and beach and a lovely park.The location is quiet, the bed is comfy, the apartment is well-supplied and anything we could think of that we might need -- from coolers to DVD's to laptops -- could be borrowed in the lobby. The place has a great, funky, beachy feel to it -- very relaxed. Our only small gripe was that the low setting on the ceiling fan was so high we couldn't sleep with it on and had to keep the AC running all night. Personally, I prefer fresh air, but it was too muggy to sleep with the windows open and no fan. It was a relatively small gripe, though, and shouldn't deter anyone from choosing this really great spot for a Port Douglas vacation. And the "girls" are terrific -- uniformly friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you don't need a view, I think any of these rooms would be great. We chose the Superior Sea V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CalDreaminSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

728 - 734 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in a 'cosy' room and had an excellent time. Despite being the smallest room type offered, ours was very well kitted out (outdoor area, kitchenette etc). The additional, 'free stuff' available was great with everything having been thought of (bikes, beach towels, DVDs and loads, loads more). The staff were very nice and extremely helpful. The location is excellent (and quiet) - metres from the beach and a few minutes walk from the shops and restaurants in the town. Excellent value (particularly compared to the other places in Port Douglas that we looked at) and we would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bendy_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Great accommodation. Stayed there for 8 nights and didn't have a single problem. Very clean and quiet. Everyone who works there was happy to help. Great location (right at the beach and couple of minutes away from most restaurants and cafes). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vcfnygsjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed 8 nights and can highly recommend this accommodation. Price was great, funky decor and many, many free extras. Especially loved the cruiser bicycles to get about and on the beach. Extensive collection of DVD's to borrow, also beach chairs, eskies and much more, all to borrow for free!! Very clean and comfortable. Beach only a few paces away. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My Husband and I chose this fantastic apartment block because of all the essential extras on offer for free. The apartment was small but spotless and fully met our requirements. Fully equipped for making our own small meals but so many 'little extras' made the stay really special. these included free use of bicycles, belly boards, beach towels and chairs, cool boxes, shopping trolleys and free use of up to date videos. Too many things to try in our short stay. The staff were also very helpful and friendly offering good advice. The apartments are two minutes walk from the sea. We'd definitely go there again.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rosemary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at By the Sea for four nights whilst in Port Douglas and the whole experience was fantastic. The room was clean, spacious and just what we were after. The beach is around the corner and we could see the ocean from our balcony. It is situated on the main street so there was endless choices of places to eat.

The girls at reception were incredibly helpful and booked all our tours and bus transfers without hassle. The facilities were impeccable and being able to hire bikes, beach umbrellas, esky's, DVDs was such a bonus.

I would highly reccomend By the Sea Port Douglas.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

AD Canada

We were thrilled with our accommodation at this very trendy place. Decor was lovely, the staff was amazing. What they advertise is what you get! I would definitely return to this hotel and would highly recommend it. I hope they retain this family friendly atmosphere!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank inter2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,031 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
722 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 57 in Port Douglas
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Address: 72 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £64 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing