We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
By The Sea Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We managed to get ourselves a room at "By the sea" in Port Douglas. It was a bit of a late booking and the town was full for the upcoming adventure festival.
The rates were well priced when every where else seemed expensive. The hotel is basic but the room was clean and comfortable with everything we needed. It had a self contained kitched, air con, good wifi, tv with sports, movies and news channels, and a comfy bed. Located about 30meters from 4 mile beach and very close to resturants bars and cafes.
The staff have been super friendly and helpfull too. They are happy to book and arange trips and tours for you at no cost.
We will be back next year and will be staying here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    239
    29
    7
    9
See reviews for
284
779
69
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in a 2 bed 1 bath unit with 2 balconies, one for BBQing and eating and one attached to our bedroom which overlooked the sea (we could just see the sea behind the trees but the breeze and sounds were wonderful - especially all night - very relaxing!).

The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We borrowed bikes, DVD's, books, beach stuff (everything on offer- towels, chairs, umbrellas, balls, rings, boards etc, etc!). Riding on 4 mile beach was the best - and then going for a swim and enjoying the water, fantastic - the perfect end to the day for the kids was to then go to the swimming pool whilst dad did the BBQ!

The hotel is a minutes walk from the beach and about 20 minutes walk from the marina - so nice and quiet and no traffic noise or people noise at all. We didn't hear another person once inside our rooms and felt like we had the place to ourselves! Couldn't rate this place highly enough - the kids say they would give it 10 out of 5 if they could because it's got everything they could possibly want for a beach holiday!

Room Tip: Any room where you can hear the sea is a must! Being so close to the sea - that's probably all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bacchus Marsh
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed recently for 9 nights in a superior view apartment. Great apartment for two people with a kitchenette and bbq. Unfortunately we never got around to using the bbq on the balcony either due to weather or not being around (lots of dining options close by). A few minutes walk to the beach and shops. About a 10-15 minute walk to the marina end of Macrossan Street. Everything you want they provide - beach towels, bicycles, body boards, chairs, ice, ice-buckets, etc... the only criticism we had was the cooking knife was blunt as anything. Lucky I had a knife in my luggage - so please regularly sharpen the knives in the apartments! Laundry facilities are onsite and they also provide a clothes airer that you can put on your balcony. Bathroom was a reasonable size but the shower head was disappointing. Another minor grievance. If we come back to Port Douglas would definitely stay here again. Location, location and location. A home away from home! They also will book your tours for you. Had been in ill health before I travelled and the had some best quality sleep here in a long time. Nice comfy king size beds!

Room Tip: A Superior sea view room is worth the extra minor cost! And remember, there are no lifts so be prep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Readybluedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed at By the Sea for 2 nights. It was simply marvellous. We had a seaview room. Though part of the view is occupied by the trees, it was very nice to feel the breeze and hear the sound from the sea. The room was clean and spacious, and well equipped with kitchen utensils. We did some cooking there too. We've got everything here at By the Sea. The chairs, umbrellas, towels and bikes rental were the highlight of this little hotel. Location is excellent , only 3 minutes to the beach. I also appreciated a lot of the assistance of the girls at By the Sea. They sent an email to me before and after my stay to know my needs and ensure everything went alright. Definitely will return.

Room Tip: seaview room is good but is more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siuting M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I stayed with my family at 'By the Sea' in the second week of May, and it was a fabulous experience. The 'girls' who run the place have done a wonderful job of providing great amenities for the guest (free of cost), as well as providing all relevant information in a wonderfully handy book to make your stay comfortable.
It's location on the town's main street, as well as immediate access to the beach is a huge plus.
Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashBombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had an end unit with a sea view balcony. Having a kitchen enabled us to cook meals and relax on our balcony enjoying a glass of wine. The staff was helpful and all the free use of beach gear, etc is amazing. They have thought of everything!

Room Tip: For the best view pick a room on the top floor facing 4 mile beach. The end rooms have an extra wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

By The Sea I s the best place to stay at port Douglas. Perfect and quiet position at the end of macrosan st and right next to the beach. They also have a lots of free inclusions which you want find anywhere else. Very good pool. Amazing staff, all lovely girls, nothing is a trouble for them. Perfect place and service

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
955 reviews
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#5 of 55 in Port Douglas
973 reviews
2.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Property: By The Sea Port Douglas
Address: 72 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing