We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachside escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
By The Sea Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

By the Sea Port Douglas is in the perfect location. Metres away from Four Mile beach. Walking distance to shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street.
The girls were very helpful and always smiling. Thank you, it made our holiday so much nicer.
Complimentary bike hire,beach chairs, esky etc, free dvd rental(the latest ones as well) and free WiFi.
Nice clean room - we stayed in the Superior Seaview - just the right size for us (we were 3). We were in Port Douglas for 5 days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

696 - 702 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

A wonderful hotel with equally wonderful staff who cannot do enough for you. We spent 5 nights at the hotel and wish we had booked to stay longer. The location is perfect for beach and town and the staff are incredibly knowledgeable about the area. Complimentary bicycles, loungers, beach towels and pool toys are also a great bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keyamanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We arrived at By The Sea Port Douglas after spending 6 days at Palm Cove. On reflection, we would have stayed less time in Palm Cove and spent more time at Port Douglas. This is mainly due to the superb location of the By The Sea - and the vast amount of activities available there. Activities included free DVD rental (they have a range that would be similar to a video store) and free bike rental. The bikes were awesome for going on a cruise down the beach. The rooms themselves were very comfortable and well appointed. The staff here certainly have paid attention to the details to ensure our stay was most enjoyable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jandalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Well people we had the most fantastic few days at By The Sea , the staff brilliant the service was the same. The pool was nice and warm just ask for something you have got it.
Free bikes videos and shopping trolleys things for the beach you're got it ice as well.
Nice clean rooms can't sell it enough we will be back Love It Dee and Pete

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deidre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This was my second stay at By The Sea and once again we were absolutely thrilled! There is just no way you can stay here and not relax. Last year we stayed in a Seaview Superior which we feel in love with. The room was gorgeous, inviting, bright and with a view of the sea, which is almost unheard of in Port Douglas. This time we stayed in the Rainforest Canopy. A beautiful spacious,split level apartment, with rainforest views, one can only dream of. This apartment had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, one with a huge bath, plus a fully equipped kitchen and 3 tvs!!Once again we enjoyed the gorgeous heated pool, and the children loved the free pool toys. The reception is fully stocked with every possible need or want. Ipads, laptops, books, dvds, games, beach towels, you name it, they have it.Thank you once again, Louise, Jodi, Corey, Bron and Wendy, for a wonderful holiday once again!!!!!!!

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong, with any of the rooms really, depending on what size or view you prefer, just b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chrisemmalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The owners composed an excellent response to an unhappy reviewer explaining the Australian ratings system and I would recommend people read this before booking..

We have stayed in Port Douglas several times always in different apartments. By The Sea is certainly one of the best situated minutes from the shopping and restaurant areas and even closer to the beach. They offer an impressive range of freebies such as IT and beach kit but this is also available at many other apartments

We booked a superior!!! beach view room and can honestly say its one of the smallest rooms we've ever stayed in, although we viewed the rooms on line, patently they used very clever lighting and angles to make the rooms look larger than they are. The balconies are similarly so small it would have been impossible to safely use the supplied barbecue and dine at the same time.. The room size and layout meant the fridge was basically in the bedroom and exceptionally noisy. So despite our extensive research we were fooled by this.

Before we unpacked we asked whether we could pay to upgrade to a larger room. I guess the staff took exception to this as I actually found most of them positively unfriendly and unhelpful, for instance we were unable to use WiFi most of our time there but it was apparently the fault of the four devices we were trying to use, asked to recommend car hire and were told there were plenty around to choose from.

Obviously we had been marked as troublesome guests.

In our experience there are much much better places to stay were customers are appreciated and I would suggest you consider these first

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank gjw5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy C, Manager at By The Sea Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

It’s a déjà vu moment! This review was posted on Trip Advisor over six months ago after Max stayed with us in November 2013. Then six months later it’s up again as “new” but without our management response.

It is therefore also a perplexing moment. Why would Max who has not stayed since, repost his review six months later. Well, the timing might have something to do with the fact that in the last six months all of the reviews we have received have been rated “excellent” or “very good” until last week, which is exactly when Max deleted his review and reposted. And we believe the motivation is that Max took objection to our response to his review and we believe this because he emailed to tell us so in no uncertain terms.

For those concerned about this review, we reiterate our response in summarised format:

(1) This reviewer booked to stay in Superior Sea View room (called that because the sea views are more superior to other room types, as clearly advertised).

(2) This room type is our most popular room type, and is the room type most recommended by previous guests (see room tips on Trip Advisor). We therefore quite logically make the conclusion that whilst we respect Mr Grazza’s opinion, his opinion is not a majority one.

(3) Just because we make this point, we are not meaning to imply that Mr Grazza is lying. We have no doubt that this room was the smallest room HE has ever stayed in. However, what is small to one person is something quite different to another. Take restaurant dining for example; the very same meal can be seen as too small, more than ample size, or, if anyone is like my father, usually too large. In order to get the meal you want, you have to choose the restaurant that provides what you want. Choosing where to stay is the same concept. You first need to select a resort which provides the type of experience and ambience you want, and then choose from their menu of room types, the “right dish” so to speak, with the right ingredients and right size.

(4) We assure those considering staying, that as long as you read the details on our web site, look at our menu of room types, and click on the details link for any that take your fancy, and ensure that you like what you see and you book what you like, you will not be disappointed with your experience with us girls at By the Sea. Those rooms on our ‘menu’ are clearly divided in to those that are studio apartments and those that have separate bedrooms

To Mr Max Grazza, we reiterate the following reassurances:
If we distorted the photographs of the views and rooms, Trip Advisor would be littered with complaints. It is not and we do not.
We are still astonished that you persist in thinking we chose not to upgrade you to an apartment with a separate bedroom because we basically took a disliking to you. Nothing could be further from the truth. If we could have upgraded you, we would have done so in a heartbeat. Yes, we did have the vacancy sign outside the front, but this was for one of our cheapest rooms which would not have suited you, and for only a one or two night gap. And as for your new comment implying many resorts have a similar range of free extras, we personally do not know of a single one that does, but we will let the reader compare resorts and leave them to decide.

Max, we have checked your Trip Advisor profile and you are obviously a prolific contributor and most ardent supporter of this great forum, and you have our respect for that. However, what you post and the businesses you recommend are your own personal opinion, which is why Trip Advisor encourages resort management to add further information, even if it does contradict what the reviewer says, in order for the readers to have as much information as possible so they can make up their own minds. Your advice and opinions are your own and are not necessarily representative of others.

We thank those reading this for their time and attention, and we hope our feedback proves useful. And Max, we hope you will not take our management response so personally this time, and we do wish you all the very best.

Kind regards

The Girls at By the Sea Port Douglas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights and we could not have been happier. The staff were so friendly, the room was a good size, the bed comfortable and the kitchenette was well used when we didn't feel like dining out every night, and instead bought prawns fresh off the trawler and cooked them on our balcony BBQ. We had a 50 metre walk to the beach and a block into the main eating and shopping strip. The extras were fantastic..bikes to ride on the beach, fresh beach towels, a large range of DVDs for when we wanted a night in, esky, shopping trolley, I could go on. If there was any negative it was the shower, which lacked water pressure and sometimes changed from hot to cold. We have honestly had the most relaxing week and we would recommend By The Sea to anyone. Thank you so much..!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kategoanna33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,015 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#6 of 42 in Port Douglas
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 57 in Port Douglas
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Address: 72 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £68 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing