We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
By The Sea Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Innisfail
1 review
“Absolutely Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

We have just returned from the most wonderful 3 days up in Port Douglas and stayed at an exceptional place which people should know about. The name is BY THE SEA and thats exactly what it was. Out the front door and just down to the beach and a few minutes the other way is the town The location was just fantastic and the lovely ladies running the place (Wendy and Kathy) were exceptionally welcoming and accommodating. We felt so at ease and comfortable straight away and the rooms were absolutely spotless. Everything is catered for, right down to deck chairs for the beach, dvd and cd for the room. Nothing would be too much for this wonderful team. So if your looking for an idylic location,affordable,well run perfect spot I couldn't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillozza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    235
    29
    7
    9
See reviews for
272
748
66
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2009

We have recently come back from a fabulous holiday staying at this resort, the location is perfect. The rooms were very clean and well equiped with crisp bedding and fluffy towels, we had a wonderful nights sleep and to our delight woke up to beautiful ocean breezes. The happy housekeeping staff kept us supplied with fresh towels when we needed them and we had a lovely clean room. Wendy and Cathy in reception were so helpful and gave us great advise with tours and made our holiday carefree. They also supplied us with free beach towels and chairs ! we could borrow laptops, and DVD players, or hire pushbikes to ride on beautiful Fourmile beach. This resort is a gem we would recommend it to anyone who is looking to stay in this beautiful part of the world, for a very happy, fun holiday with warm and friendly staff.
Thanking you for a wondeful holiday.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coxy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

Although this accomodation is in a good location, a stone's throw away from the beach, the rooms are dated, small and over priced. The pool is freezing and in dire need of updating. Our rooms were never cleaned for the entire week we stayed there, the sheets were not changed and we had to request new towels by leaving the dirty ones outside in full view of fellow guests (not ideal). This accomodation needs to be urgently updated, prices dropped to a more realistic level in the meantime and the management need to take a far more professional attitude to their business.

We looked around some other accomodation options whilst in Port Douglas and the difference was incomparable! Not only were other options much cheaper but the facilities were far superior. By the Sea offers a room with uncomfortable beds, a basic and dated bathroom and a tiny kitchen (with only a microwave and hob) and incredibly small TV whereas you can get an apartment with a separate bedroom, modern bathroom, huge kitchen with oven, hob, grill, microwave etc, and a large balcony with modern furniture, in addition to superb swimming pools for the same and less than the prices quoted by By the Sea. I would highly recommend Beach Terraces, 15 to 17 Garrick Street as an alternative acomodation option.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate222060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wcac, Owner/ manager at By The Sea Port Douglas, responded to this review, 3 December 2009
For the benefit of those reading this review, I make the following points;
1) Refer to other reviews
If most of what this reviewer has said is accurate, we would not have had such generally favourable reviews on Trip Advisor, please check them out.
2) Different Motivation for Reviews
Occassionally reviews may be motivated by other reasons than to provide feedback for the benefit of future travellers. For example they may have been upset with the resort because they were held to the resorts standard cancellation policy. I am not saying that was the case with this reviewer, but I think it is important to say this may occassionally occur and for readers to keep it in mind when reading any reviews generally for any resort.
3) Standby Rates vs Booking in Advance
Rates
There is a huge difference between rates "on the day" and pre booked rates.
You can pre-book any accommodation in the world and then walk around and possibly find something of a much cheaper/ higher standard at a reduced price at a "walk in rate"
The rationale of this is simple, on the day when a resort has empty rooms, it will then offer them at a dramatically reduced price on the basis "that some income is better than nothing". this is particularly the case at the time the reviewer stayed in Port Douglas as it is our 'low season" which is when many resorts have a lot of spare accommodation and as a result have been offering greatly reduced prices for last minute or walk in customers.
So for this reviewer to compare their pre-booked price at our resort to walk-in -rates they discovered at other resorts when they arrive, is really unfair. Any one reading this can decide not to pre book their accommodation and they might get a much cheaper price or more for their money if they just turn up on the day and walk around. We certainly do the same as other resorts. If at the end of the day we have empty rooms we do offer them at a dramatically reduced price. It can be a risk though in that you might not find what you are looking for. We certainly had little availability for "walk in" deals for most of the last four months.
4) Their Pre-Booked Accommodation was Expensive.
As per the above, there is a world of difference in a "pre-booked price" and a "walk in rate". If you want to book your accommodation in advance then our prices are very good value, particularly for the premium location right by the sea. Check out the online booking sites you will find our non seaview rooms some of the cheapest on offer!
5) Rooms are Outdated
I purchased this resort just 6 months ago and in that time I have spent $175,000 updating our 24 apartments with modern furnishings(including outdoor settings) so to say they are dated is simply incorrect. ( please note that most of the photographs submitted by previous reviewers on Trip Advisor, were pre refurbishment and relate to the previous owners)
The TV's in our standard rooms are 48cm flat LCD with free sky sports and movie channels. In our family two level apartments they are 68cm.
6) Beds are Uncomfortable.
All of our beds are commercial standard and most are brand new.
They are not uncomfortable.
7) Kitchen Facilities
We are actually upgrading some of the kitchens in February, but to imply that they are currently inadequate is incorrect. We have a convection microwave, stove top, crockery, pans, plates, platters, toaster and fridge. Everything you need to cook with.
8) The Pool
Freezing? It is summer in the Tropics which means it is extremely hot. Going into the sea is a bit like going in to a luke warm bath. There is not a single pool in Port Douglas that could possibly be freezing. In fact if it was, the guests would love it .... to cool off from the heat !
Dire need of updating? In February the pool is going to be repainted, because the colour of it in small places has worn, but to say it is in dire need of updating is very wrong. It is a perfectly pleasant pool, not as large as some but not as small as others.
9) Towels and Sheet Change
We are a self catering apartment and we do not change sheets every day as clearly advertised and nor does any apartment resort in Port Douglas ! We offer a daily change though for a small additional charge and also a complete free room service every fifth day if you stay more than seven days. As for the towel change, the compendium states there is an option to simply phone reception and ask for a towel change! They did not have to leave them outside their rooms. The towel change is free by the way.
Thank you for your time and attention, if you managed to get to the bottom of my response. We work very hard here to provide a good service and have spent considerable sums of money renovating this resort ( and will continue to do so )
Kind regards,
Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

We stayed in a room with a sea view from the balcony and side window, facing Macrossan street. It is the best location, closest to the beautiful beach, and just a couple minutes walk down Macrossan St to the restaurants, pubs, and shops. The room was spacious, very clean, with a newly upgraded king sized bed. The new owner Wendy and Kathy are the nicest people ever, very friendly and so helpful. They spent about an hour each helping us book various outings, arranging transport to Cairns, and looked after our luggage for a day after we had checked out and were on an excursion. It was the perfect location, and just the best value for the room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbeara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2009

Very pleasently suprised with these very well kept apartments in probably the best location you can get in Port Douglas. We had a side sea view room which over looked the road with the beach on the left of the balcony. We heard no noise whatsoever from the road and the beach was literally a 30 second walk away. The room was probably one of the cleanest we stayed in in our whole four weeks in Australia and had the most comfortable bed too! The apartments are also barely a five minute walk from all the shops and restaurants in town but again because these apartments are at the end of the street you hear no noise just the beautiful sound of the waves crashing in the sea. However, the thing that really made our stay was the fantastic service we got from Wendy and Kathy. Nothing was too much trouble for them to organise or offer advise on and we were made to feel very welcome and very comfortable right from the moment we walked into reception. I would highly recommend these apartments you can tell that the ladies are working really hard to make this a really great place to stay and actually care about their guests which is something you dont get a lot of nowadays. Would stay there again without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dn4cl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A suburb of NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

We stayed here for several nights in August. If you are staying in Port Douglas, this area of Macrossan St is the area to stay at - literally a few steps to the beach, and just a short walk to town. At By the Sea, the room was comfortable, clean and spacious. Definitely a good value for the money. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Some of the rooms have been renovated as well. We enjoyed our stay here, and would return.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Plainyogurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

Rooms were very nice, even the cheaper ones out the back on the ground floor. Very nice feel to them- I was in # 3. Only criticism is the quality of the sheets, otherwise all perfect. It's under new management and they seem efficient and very good at giving advice on tours...impartial

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishingwell_fc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#8 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#6 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Property: By The Sea Port Douglas
Address: 72 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing