We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent customer service and fantastic location in Macrossan St”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
By The Sea Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Excellent customer service and fantastic location in Macrossan St”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We had a terrifc holiday in Port Douglas. Our location was absolutely perfect with beautiful views of the beach, which was only about 1 minute away.
We had a studio unit which was equipped well with all the essential. We had the use of the resort laundry but, our room had ironing facilities which was very convenient.
We enjoyed free use of beach chairs, esky and beach towels.
This was our first trip to Port Douglas but it has become our favourite destination in Australia. Port Douglas has a great combination of all that makes a good holiday. Great weather, good restaurants and shopping and offcourse fantastic trips to the Great Barrier Reef and the Daintree etc. Offcourse, if relaxation is all you are after then the beach is just a stroll away.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DOMAIN7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    236
    29
    7
    9
See reviews for
275
765
67
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2010

When travelling with pregnant wife and an energetic 18month old you need all the assistance you can get. The ladies at By the Sea really looked after us and having beach toys, towells, chairs, esky etc provided made life so much simplier.
Great location, very short walk to beach and not far to the shops /restraunts.
We would happily come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We absolutely loved our holiday at By The Sea and have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who wants to be spoilt by the staff in a fantastic location. Situated at the quiet end of Macrossan Street, one minute walk to 4 mile beach, yet within easy walk to the shops, Restaurants and Marina.
Cathy, Wendy and Olivia were exceptionally friendly, extremely helpful and did their very best to make our holiday perfect as did the cleaning staff.
All the extra provided at By The Sea come in very useful, such as beach towels, beach chairs, eskies, ice, etc.
We plan to return to By The Sea each year.
Thanks heaps girls, all the very best.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamilton70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This place is a gem. Great location, very near the beach which has stinger nets. The place has parking, aircon and ceiling fans- which is what you need in January when there's 90% humidity! Lol! The rooms are lovely and kept very clean. The beds are comfy, and there was a handy kitchenette in our room.

The big thing here is the staff, they are so nice and really make you feel really welcome. We were unfortunately there immediately after a cyclone, so some of our trips were cancelled, they helped us find other things to do, the operators called reception who called us straight away and then they helped us plan something else to do instead- giving us maps and everything you'd need. We loved Port Douglas and if we were to go back (fingers crossed) we'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldilocksGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2010

We found our unit most comfortable. All is new, and the bedding is excellent quality.

The owners and staff are more than helpful. A great place to stay if you want a quiet spot close to the beach and town - don't need a car!

We cannot wait to bring the rest of the family on another occasion.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkworks50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkes Bay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Great location, quiet but very close to town . Staff were very friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Units were well equipped with everything you need, modern, very clean and the bed was great. We are planning on staying here again with our children as they have great units for families.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flemingHawkesBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

we stayed for a week as part of our honeymoon. From the minute we arrived the staff could not do enough for us even had balloons, a card and sparkling wine as a honeymoon suprise this was sooooo welcome after a 38 hour flight . info such as restaurant and activity info was given the first day. beach towels, chairs, cooler boxes etc were all complimentary. even though it was 28 deg the pool was heated which was lovely.
we would recommend to any one for a quiet, relaxing holiday without kids. book a sea view room its well worth the extra few dollars

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owenjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#7 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 55 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#6 of 55 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Property: By The Sea Port Douglas
Address: 72 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing