We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, very friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
By The Sea Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2010

This was our 9th stay here, it is a perfect location 1 min walk to the beach and a few minutes walk to the shops and other attractions. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there are alot of extras. There is a variety of rooms for different needs and budgets. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet. The heated swimming pool was a bonus.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clinty_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,193 - 1,199 of 1,349 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

"By The Sea" IS by the sea. Perfect location for beach access for those walks along the beach, swimming and sunbathing. Located right on the main street so ideal for retail therapy, cofee shops and Restaurants.
Our rooms were tastefully decorated,super kingsize comfy beds. All amenities were clean freshly painted and in top condition.Our balcony overlooked the beach. We had our own bar-b-que .
The staff were efficient ,friendly and always obliging. Added extras were the beach towells, chairs,chilly bins free to use. A home away from home.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoe35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Cathy was a beautiful friendly helpful lady who made our stay easy and pleasant the rooms clean and well set out and the position just perfect and breathtaking a wonderful week we experienced thank you so much x

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allyb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

This was our first time travelling with our 5 month old baby & we were very conscious of finding somewhere which was walking distance from town & the beach & which provided us all the amenties needed with a baby in tow. The ladies who manage this hotel are fantastic! Prior to our stay they responded to all my enquiries very promptly. I requested a port-a-cot, highchair, baby bath & stroller for use during our stay. Upon arrival, they were all there ready for us to use & for no extra charge (most resorts will charge for a cot, let alone anything else!) Furthermore, they were very knowledgeable on suitable tours for us to do where we could bring the baby & pram with us. The free eskies came in handy for drinks & lunches when going for a drive to the daintree or even just going to the beach; as did the beach chairs & beach towels. We stayed in the Beachside Balcony Family Economy room - it was spacious despite having a king size & 2 singles & a kitchen, very comfortable, clean, modern & quiet with a large bathroom. I would definitely stay here again - its clean, modern, has a small kitchen, is in a perfect location, close to the shops & beach, quiet at night, it is great value for money & the freebies like the beach towels, chairs & eskies come in really handy. Thanks to you all - we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCM04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We found the property to look a lot better on the webpage than in real life. The room we had booked was made to look much more modern, spacious, and comfortable than it was. We did not feel comfortable and moved hotels at the full cost of the 10 nights booked. Overall very disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kingrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wicked64, Owner at By The Sea Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

We do not know where this guest booked but according to our information it was not at our resort. And if their claim was correct,that we have made our rooms look much more modern, spacious and comfortable than they actually are , we would have a lot of negative comments on trip advisor about this. Quite simply what they have said it not true:
1 We like all resorts occasionally get an arriving guest who has booked something that is not suitable for them. When this occurs at By the Sea Port Douglas, we are often full and cannot move the guest to a different accommodation type more suitable for them. However we do not just send them off and say “Bad luck”. We help find them alternative accommodation and we advertise the room they had booked with us and give the customer the full income generated from re renting their room. We have not had a customer who had booked for 10 days, then arrived and said they were uncomfortable and left paying for their full stay. This has just not happened.
2 We work very hard to ensure all our guests have the best time possible and when someone arrives and finds the type of accommodation they have booked is not suitable for them, it upsets everyone at By the Sea Port Douglas. We want people to be happy not unhappy. This thankfully happens only very occasionally and it is usually due to the guest not looking at our different room types which vary considerably from small studio on the ground floor, to superior studio apartments overlooking the sea, to very large two storey apartments.
3 Contrary to what this reviewer claims, we do try very hard on our web site to provide accurate and full details about every room type right down to the architectural drawing of each. We do this because it is not enough to like our location, facilities and reviews. You have to choose the apartment type that suits you. So if you are considering staying with us, please ensure you read the details about each room type and choose the one for you. And if there is not one available (or we do not have one suitable for you at all), as much as we would like you to stay with us, we would prefer it if you found another resort to stay, one that has the room type you would be happy with.
4 And as for the claim that we have made our rooms to look more comfortable and modern on our web site what is the point of trying to do so? False advertising only leads to customer unhappiness and you can be assured that customer happiness is our objective. Everything featured on our website is exactly how it looks and the facilities described are those provided.

With thanks for your time and attention

Wendy, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

My wife and I recently stayed here for 2 days and our only regret is that we couldn't have stayed longer. The staff were really welcoming and the location is simply perfect - on Macrossan Street and only a few yards from the beach.
We would thoroughly recommend this accomodation to anyone staying in fab Port Douglas.
Simon & Michelle, Belfast

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon_Cooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

Lovely place, lovely hotel, near by the beach (100 m) and very lovely and friendly owner, the 4 girls from BY THE SEA in Port Douglas

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin8464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,015 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#6 of 42 in Port Douglas
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 57 in Port Douglas
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Address: 72 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £68 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing