We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything i could of wanted for a relaxing action packed stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
By The Sea Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2010

the room was perfect for 1 night or 1 month. the office staff were on the money with everything from food to activities. the location was superb close to all the restaurant and beach access. can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didoesportdouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,177 - 1,183 of 1,341 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2010

Cathy was extremely helpful with good advice about tours and trips and we could charge it all to our room which made it really easy. The Lovely Loft was ideal for our family of 2 adults and 2 children (14, 11 & 5) with loads of rooms and separate rooms if we needed some quiet time to ourselves. By The Sea is in the best spot in Port Douglas with a one minute walk to the beach without crossing a road and 5 minutes from the nearest supermarket.
We enjoyed the pool and the beach and loads of free use of things like fresh beach towels, eskis, bucket and spade, bodyboards and barbeque.
A small improvement would be if the internet access was free/included.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doc_holiday100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

The staff at By The Sea in Pt Douglas could not do enough for us, they made sure we had a great time. I highly recommend By The Sea in Pt Douglas. It is so close to the beach and the main shopping strip. Brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

By The Sea is a wonderful place to stay while visiting Port Douglas. The room was spacious and clean. The location is fantastic. You are within a 2 minute walk of both the beach and the down town shops and restraunts. You are close to everything but still feel like you are in a quiet part of town. The staff are wonderfully helpful. One of the biggest advantages of stayin at By The Sea are all of the ammenities which are offered to the guests. This is a place to stay if you are coming from a distance. You will not need to worry about packing beach towels, chairs, toys, etc. This is also a great place to stay if you have children. I would highly recommend By the Sea to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedishGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

By the Sea Port Douglas is a most wonderful place to stay! The new owners have done an amazing job creating an oasis for those traveling. I completely agree with everything mentioned in previous reviews.
Here is my own personal story: When we had a difficult time on one of our tours. due to flash flooding, By The Sea's response was extraordinary. They went out of their way to make us feel better by personally contacting the tour company. When negotiations did not go so well, Wendy kindly offered us the use of her own convertible sports car to use for the day. How amazing is that?
I highly recommend By The Sea to anyone traveling to the Port Douglas area. Their warmth and quality of service exceeds no other.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seeseattle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

By the Sea lived up to expectations being just across the road from the beach and yet nice and handy to the shops and restaurants. Great place to stay if you dont have a car as you are able to walk to most places. The staff were very friendly and gave helpful advice about where to visit and the good restaurants to eat at. Our room was described as cosy and it was very compact but all we needed for our stay, being cleand and quiet. It was nice to have the private patio where we could sit outside.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillview7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Having travelled extensively in Australia on 5 different occasions, the customer service I have encountered has always been high. The ladies at "By the Sea" give it a whole new level however. Incredibly friendly and efficient (to be expected), but the variety of additional resources offered for free during your stay (beach towels, bikes, body boards, dvd players & dvds etc) is quite superb. In addition, the service provided even when the office is supposed to be shut, demonstrates how much they value their customers. Local knowledge is excellent in regard to what to see, trips to go on, where to eat etc. The rooms have been completely refurbished from last year when we also stayed here. It was a good room then, but the quality now is outstanding and still good value. I'm sure that many other places in Port Douglas are of equal quality in terms of location & standard of rooms & prices, but none could better By the Sea in terms of quality of service. I wouldn't consider anywhere else personally.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughandDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
989 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 56 in Port Douglas
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Address: 72 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £71 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing