We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location, Good Value, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
By The Sea Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Violet Town
1 review
“Lovely Location, Good Value, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I stayed at By the Sea for three days last week and loved it. The room has microwave, fridge and stovetop as well as all the plates, saucepans and everything you need to cook with - even a coffee press. The towels for the room get changed if you leave them outside by 10am. There are free austar movies and the internet is fast and cheap. ($5 for one hour total usage, $15 for four hours, and $25 for unlimited - all for the whole week, not per day) The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the hotel lends out free laptops, dvd players and dvds, chairs to take to the beach, and pushbikes to ride around, and even eskis. They've tried to think of everything you could possibly need - even an ice machine.
Congratulations, By the sea, and thank you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueVioletTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    238
    29
    7
    9
See reviews for
284
774
67
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Evey thing was just as promised, the apartment was modern, clean and had all the basics covered. Free use of beach towels, DVDs and lap top computers was a great touch, although you have to pay a bit extra for internet access.
Really close to beach and shops but quiet at night and very comfy beds. I highly recommend By the Sea Port Douglas.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlees3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Recently stayed two nights at by the sea. It couldn't be any closer to the beach and in a wonderful location as it is on the main street, close to everything.

By far the best thing at by the sea is the staff, there are extremely friendly and helpful and happy to assist you with ANYTHING. I have stayed in many grand hotels across the world including crown, hiltons, you name it and By the sea had the best costumer service i have ever experienced. Yes it is not a big hotel with a lobby and huge lagoon swimming pool but the rooms are nice and you can see that they have worked incredibly hard to begin to transform this once falling to pieces hotel.. you would not know there was ever a fault with it. THe hotel is presented very well. The staff are happy to give you beach towels, umbrellas, beach chairs, eskies, you can hire bikes from them, they give you dvds ANYTHING. Truely brilliant customer service. The only thing is disliked about the hotel (to no fault of its own) was that the airconditioner was beside the bed and so you were either too cold with it on or too hot with it off. Clearly no fault of the hotel. If you don't mind not being somewhere with roomservice and the grand hotel trimmings this truely is a wonderful hotel where you will feel well looked after without being hastled.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank take_me_away1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2011

We decided last minute to book by the sea instead of one of the big hotels. It was the best decision as our stay at by the sea was everything we wanted plus more. Firstly the happy, cheerful and helpful service by the ladies (Reception and cleaners) was top class, they helped us with booking tours, early check in, late check out, eskies, beach chairs, beach towels all with a smile. The room was great we had one with balcony with sea views and found the kitchen well equipped and really handy. The location is pretty much the best you can get with the four mile beach and lifeguard with stinger nets just metres away. Located on a quiet end of main street, so we were near the action of shops, restaurants, pubs without the noise and crowds. Do yourself a favour and book this fabulous place, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssng6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Our room had everything we needed, everything worked, was clean and was attractively laid out. The staff were superb and all sorts of extras were provided e.g. umbrellas and the loan of a laptop or DVD player. The location is great too. The entrance is not very appealing but this is to be addressed in this year's refurbishment plans, we understand. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skdjfksjfdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Staff are extremely welcoming and friendly, can't do enough to help you during your stay. Room was very well equipped and had clearly been refurbed recently with new fixtures and fittings. We stayed for 3 nights during our honeymoon trip to Australia. 'The Girls' welcomed us and showed us to our room which had been decorated with balloons and had a lovely bottle of bubbley waiting for us!

The apartments are well located with a wide array of equipment i.e sunchairs, cool box etc which can be borrowed at no extra charge.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Excellent hotel with super friendly helpful staff. The location is perfect and as the name suggests -by the sea and a stones throw from the main strip.
The room was furnished to a high standard with all the amenities you could need-and really clean. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanny_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
946 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
723 reviews
2.9 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
2.9 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Port Douglas

Property: By The Sea Port Douglas
Address: 72 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Archipelago Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — By The Sea Port Douglas 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the best of both worlds by staying at By the Sea Port Douglas. The convenience of staying in the main town centre (Macrossan Street) but also the tranquility and beauty of staying right by the sea! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your By The Sea Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing