We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay”
Review of Coral Beach Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Beach Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“Awesome stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed a week in Port O'Call Eco Lodge and I really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is really quiet and clean. The room are very good and having a private bathroom is great.
Thanks to Kiri and Steve I have been able to enjoy my week in Port Douglas, they advised me things to do and took the time to answer all my questions.
Port O'Call Eco Lodge is a small hostel so it's really easy to meet people and to make friends which is really appreciated because I'm traveling alone.
I definitely recommand to stay at Port O'Call Eco Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    96
    18
    14
    7
See reviews for
33
105
146
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Very clean, very quiet hostel. Was a pleasant surprise! Stayed in four bed dorm for three nights only one other person in there with me. Would be great for family too as it's not your typical loud backpacker hostel! Great cheap place!!
Will come back

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I only stayed for 2 nights a few weeks ago but when I look back on the places that I have stayed, I have the fondest memories of this place. I would love to go back!! Steve was great to talk too and the pick up from Cairns was great! The rooms were really clean and its just one of those places which has a really nice feel to it. Best place I have stayed!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ap282014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gatwick
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were a bit concerned that it might be a 'backpackers' place - and it is- but it is much more too. A lovely base for the GBR and Port Douglas.
Eco-credentials - A/C, but on a timer; comes on about 5pm until 7am, so the bedroom is cool. ceiling Fans operate other times. Solar and wind powered. The communal kitchen and dining room are clean and comfortable, well equipped. The bar is great for meeting others. Rooms range from 'bunkhouse' style, to doubles, to family rooms, to 'luxury'! Staff friendly and knowledgable. Free transfer bus from Cairns is a huge bonus - other places should offer it too. Port O call is about 15mins walk from town, along the road or the beach!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I came to Port O' Call expecting another standard hostel in a pretty place - I got so much more! This little gem of a hostel is clean, well maintained, in a wonderful location (maximum ten minutes walk from the main town and the beach) and it is run by the friendliest people who make you feel right at home. I stayed in a four bed female only dorm and it felt like being in a little hotel room rather than a hostel - definitely the best nights sleep I've had in any place I've stayed in Australia so far! Ate in the bistro one night - huge portions and really good quality food, and nice beer on tap. Lovely pool to chill out in if you don't fancy the beach. The free shuttle from Cairns is also a great bonus. I hope to return at some point!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hodgy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This place suited our needs whilst in Port Douglas for 3 days & nights.

The stay a minimum of 2 x nights and use the ( runs 6 days a week ) 'No Charge' mini bus service between Cairns and this hotel in Port Douglas was what enticed us to book here!

A courteous, timely and fantastic service.... Ask the drivers anything because they know all the answers...

Kiri & Steve are great hosts and Kiri was so helpful with booking our Reef trip ( On Quicksilvers Wave Dancer boat to Low Isles ) - And Steve happily gave his time sorting out a couple of minor maintenance issues during our stay.

The onsite restaurant is open 6 nights a week form 6PM and we ate there for the 3 nights - the Chef(s) and their food is 1st rate and also at a reasonable price to boot!

The location means you are approx. 15 minute walk from downtown Port Douglas and as long as it is not raining then that is fine.

The Marina is just a 10 minute walk away where most of the Cruises depart from.

Must See: Check out the Bat Colonies a 100 metres or so down the road - an awesome site.

The hotel is not new, a little worn in places but the Staff, Services and Tranquillity make up for the concrete block 1980's motel style...

No request was too much during our stay and I trust you will enjoy as good time in Port Douglas as we did based right here.

When my wife and I visit Port Douglas again - we will be staying here.

Room Tip: Bag yourself a deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had a great stay here, very well set up, so much cleaner and better orgsnised than other YHAs I have stayed in whilst in Queensland. Staff are extremely helpful and well informed and free wifi was a big bonus. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.4 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Port Douglas Motel
Port Douglas Motel
#2 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 55 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Beach Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Beach Lodge

Property: Coral Beach Lodge
Address: 1-7 Craven CL | Corner of Wharf St., Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Port O'Call Eco Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Beach Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation with an emphasis on the things that matter - air conditioning, quality beds with the best quality cotton sheets and deep feathered pillows, your own refrigerator and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coral Beach Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing