We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Club Tropical Resort
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We came to Port for a wedding the reception on was at the sugar wharf and wanted to be close enough to walk to our accommodation after. Club Tropical was perfect. 5 minutes. The room was huge, clean and comfortable. The kitchen in on the balcony no smells or heat in the room, excellent idea. The rooms was definitely the older style, we loved the cane lounges and the tropical colours.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club T, Manager at Club Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Janet, delighted that you enjoyed your time at Club Trop- yes it is a great location for wedding guests. The older style apartments are quite popular - a bit more tropical

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We spent 10 days in unit 123 and were not impressed. This is very dated accommodation with no internal laundry, no Wi-Fi, only one working TV in a two bedroomed apartment, and rock hard beds. There were soiled men's underwear in the main bedroom wardrobe which didn't add to the ambiance either. Our experience was this was budget accommodation in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ratter1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club T, Manager at Club Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hello, I can only respond to your comments re the location - which I agree is lovely. The apartment you rented is rented privately and not through Club Tropical Resort Management. Your issues with cleanliness will need to be addressed direct to your booking agent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked 5 rooms for the start of Carnivale this year
8 friends came up from the cold in Melbourne, and we had a ball
The rooms have all recently been updated with lovely new kitchens, bathrooms and lounge areas
We had a fantastic view of the parade from 2 apartments overlooking Macrossan Street, then we all adjourned to room 120 to watch the fireworks, which was our room .... fantastic
We ate at the Tin Shed, delicious fish and chips, we ate at the Courthouse brilliant food and fantastic atmosphere, we went and waited for the groper sadly he was a no show!!!!
The Central another great pub was also brilliant
The weather was superb, just such a fantastic weekend all round, we are already planning our trip for next year ..could not fault any of it

Room Tip: Book room 120 for a lovely sunset view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johno75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club T, Manager at Club Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi Johno75, Carnivale was a great time - lots of activities some for the first time - it will only get better. Delighted you enjoyed your stay at Club Trop, the Macrossan Street apartments are great for the street parade but they do get booked out quite early.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Rented a top floor apartment through real estate agent. Views of the coral sea from the balcony. Clean room with with cooking facilities. No foxtel and no free wifi. Vodafone was struggling. Pool area was out dated but it was heated pool with two spas. Location was perfect to walk to restaurants (plenty of very nice places), shops, pubs (loud when live music is on till 11pm) and marina. Was there a few days after cyclone Ita and the town was all systems go - one tree down was all I saw!

Room Tip: Top floor with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have been to Port many times but always opted to drive home to the Cairns Northern Beaches - well what have we been missing - stay at Club Tropical. An experience in it's own right - sure the rooms are dated but WOW look at the size and the beds are so, so comfortable- if you don't stay here you have robbed yourselves - the location is fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrinityMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club T, Manager at Club Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi, delighted that you decided to stay instead of travelling home and that you had a great time. Yes our apartments are extremely spacious. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you decide to stay over in Port

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

rooms are ok but very old, we stayed in 3 bedroom apartment.. its very spacious but a little run down, bathrooms could do with a clean, kitchen could be spruced up.
Good price for 6 people for $240 per night, but like most places its not what it looks like in the photos on the website...

Room Tip: get the rooms that have kitchens and ceiling fans outside... what we stayed in, wasnt what was on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trickygav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights, this was in a great location just over the road from the sea front and close to shops & restaurants. The room was very large, clean and well equipped looking out over the the gardens. The swimming pool area which includes an unusual hot tub fitted under rocks like a cave was very nice. Middy on reception was very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Club T, Manager at Club Tropical Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Hi Malcolm - so pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us, may you enjoy for a long time your memories of Club Tropical Resort & Port Douglas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#30 of 42 in Port Douglas
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Plaza Port Douglas
Central Plaza Port Douglas
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
745 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
74 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Tropical Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Tropical Resort

Address: 2 Macrossan Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price Range: £76 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Tropical Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Tropical Resort is located on vibrant Macrossan Street. It offers studio rooms and 1, 2 and 4 bedroom apartments. Each self contained apartment and studio rooms have a private balcony or terrace enjoying views out the Coral Sea, overlooking the tranquil water gardens or village views. The resort has a free form swimming pool and 2 hot Jacuzzi spas as well as sauna for guests to use. There is also a bbq area with seating for in house guests during their stay. The location of Club Tropical means that you do not need a car but if you do hire one there is secure undercover parking provided on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Tropical Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Tropical Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing