We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, facilities and accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dougies Backpackers Resort
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, facilities and accommodation”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a fantastic time at Dougies, it's definitely one of the best backpackers that I've stayed in. There is a really relaxed, sociable atmosphere and the staff go out their way to make you feel welcome. They were particularly helpful when we booked our trip to cape tribulation and hired a car. The bar is also really good, inexpensive drink prices and there were some great themed party's while we were there. The rooms/tents were clean (we stayed in both) and had all the amenities a traveller needs. A great all round backpackers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    59
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
7
76
77
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moonta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We thought Dougies was great value and the staff were very friendly! We had a double room which was very comfortable. The kitchen was quite large but did get busy at times but no dramas! The bar meals were incredibly good value! Free BBQ and breakfast a bonus. It was a bit noisy at night but overall a fun and relaxing place. Steve was fabulously welcoming and helpful! We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyandbazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were a group of 8 and stayed at Dougies one night in a room and two tents. The room was ok, but the tents were not water proof and we're quite tiny. The staff was not the most helpful We encountered, although quite friendly. They didn't have enough blankets and the ones that they lended us were dirty. Showers and toilets were not clean neither at night nor in the morning, I don't know about midday though!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Terefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

It is a really cool place to stay in Port Douglas. I rented a twin room with my friend and the room was cosy and nice. The property has a really cool bar and they have some or the other activity going on. One day there was live music band and other pool party BBQ etc. i didnt attend those as was busy with my day trips. The only negative thing about the place is the kitchen, the utensils and the sink stinks as people there are not careful with it. They just leave the dirty stuff in the sink. In all, the staff is really cool, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: if you are not comfortable with dom type of rooms, twin sharing is the option for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freakytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Keep in mind this review is only for a night's stay:

As a local to the FNQ region, I have heard all the stories about hostels being abhorrent, unclean, STI-ridden and permanently stained with drunken groups of degenerates. Really, I wasn't sure what to expect as this was my first stay at a hostel - I simply needed a place to crash after work, as I live about an hour away from Port Douglas. Doing back to back shifts every now and then makes the stay necessary. At $26 for your own bed with a fan, A/C and clean linen, I don't have one complaint ready for the place. I was worried I wouldn't fit in their single beds (I'm 6'9"), but there was no issue. Plenty of friendly residents, mostly a bunch of Euro backpackers who can't stop smiling because they're just happy to be experiencing the best of the tropics. There are heaps of Germans at hostels, and if you haven't been following history, it's important to note they're some of the smartest people in the world - you can learn a lot from them, they're usually quite honest, humble, and enjoyable. I met a German girl and we spoke for hours.

Bought some earplugs for noise, had very little effect considering I'm such a light sleeper. There were four or five other lads in the room I had no chance to properly meet, as I was in bed by 10 and out by 5 the next morning. They were quite respectful as to not make unnecessary noise when they arrived late. I think they saw that I was sleeping grasping a banana, and knew of my plans to carefully force it into their eye-sockets if they didn't respect my need for a mighty snooze. One of the lads even adjusted the air-con to a better temperature when he got in, which was cool (HAHA get it?).

As for the staff, there was a wee lad behind the bar wearing a beret who helped me with the room, he was rather helpful and accommodating. I had to checkout before I went to sleep, as I left at 5 a.m. "All good lad" he says calmly, soon before tossing his beret, mimicking a boomerang as it floats over the general seating area, and landed softly on his head, much to the amazement of the (only) overly drunk female who had just fallen off her seat. He even offered extra sheets/blankets if I wasn't warm enough with what I had, which was rather kind of the young fellow.

I'd like to stay in a "Stylie" tent next time. I wandered past all the tents and it was extremely quiet, even around 8pm. I like my quiet time. I'll also make it my goal to have all backpackers denounce the "Chuck another shrimp on the barbie" nonsense. We call it a bloody prawn for one, and I haven't heard my dad nor my uncle nor my dad's dad or his brother or his other brother or whatever say anything of the sort.

Enjoy yourselves kids!

Room Tip: You could ask for a room furthest from the common room/bar/kitchen/bathroom if you were after a spot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kesj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here back in February and the staff were so helpful and friendly from the minute we arrived to when we left. We stayed 3 nights in a 4 share dorm that had plenty of space and character. The shared facilities are close enough in my opinion to all the rooms. The bar was fun and always full of people willing to have a chat. One of the staff members was so helpful with booking our reef trip and cape tribulation day tour and my shuttle back to the Cairns airport. Highly recommend!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Canada19902011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I spent a week at Dougies with my daughter, visiting my son and his girlfriend during their travels down under.
I stayed in one of the double rooms, which was basic but clean and great value for money, the kitchen, showers and toilets are more than adequate and the whole atmosphere is friendly and relaxed, with lots of things going on should you wish to join in. But by far the best things about Dougies are the staff, I was made to feel welcome from the minute I got there and nothing was to much trouble! and to top it all the bar serves some of the cheapest beer in Australia!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
595 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port Douglas Backpackers
Port Douglas Backpackers
#25 of 55 in Port Douglas
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#9 of 55 in Port Douglas
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Global Backpackers
Global Backpackers
#39 of 55 in Port Douglas
33 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments
Lychee Tree Holiday Apartments
#28 of 55 in Port Douglas
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dougies Backpackers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dougies Backpackers Resort

Property: Dougies Backpackers Resort
Address: 111 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dougies is run by a bunch of us who had lots of fun backpacking around places of the world before, so we decided to start a hostel ourselves. We have the pretty relaxed atmosphere, without all of the formal procedures that some hostels have. Our philosophy is 'kick back and relax at Dougies'. We have all of the facilities that a fun loving backpacker could ever need, including a bar, refreshing swimming pool, free bbq facilities, shop (coke, ice-creams, chockies, etc), a huge self-cook kitchen, laundry, internet, satellite TV (really big one), hire bikes, fishing rods, tour desk and of course accommodation (doubles, twins, share rooms, camping, van sites and our own stylish canvas tents). But once you see our tropical gardens and cruisy front lawn you might just want to lay back and relax under a palm tree, kick back in a hammock, by the pool or you may even like to unwind on the grass and soak up some of the Far North's warm tropical sunlight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Dougies Backpackers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dougies Backpackers Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing