We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO LIFT!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra On The Inlet
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“NO LIFT!”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Booked in at the hotel unaware that there was no lift and 4 flights of stairs to get to our room, when asking one of the staff members they stated they don't advertise as it may turn people away. There were no rooms on the lower levels and could not move me to another mantra (only had knee surgery 3 months ago) the rooms were dirty, i mean rub hand along blinds and grab dust dirty. poky room, only get one bed if booking ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BECL798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Hi BECL798.

Thank you for your feedback.

Mantra On The Inlet does in fact havea luggage lift but does not have an elevator.
We would have been happy to shift you to one of our other Mantra Resorts if we had been able to.
I am sorry to hear that youy did not find the cleaning up to our usual high standard , please always remember to let us know while in house so that we could have attended to this for you.

Please let me know if you are returning to Port Douglas and I would be happy to find a suitable resort for you.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    61
    43
    16
    8
See reviews for
35
86
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
gold coast, australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the mantra was very relaxing and the room we had was really good for the money. It was clean and spacious.
The location was great. Close to everything in the main street and most importantly the courty hotel was right at the door as you came out which served awesome food as well. The mantra on the inlet has a few stairs so if you don't like stairs this wouldn't be a place for you to stay. Overall we has a great holiday.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kyliekris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Booked in via last minute deals no mention that there is no lift on mantra on the inlet site.
Comfy bed, lovely aircond room, very poky but adequate for 1 night.
Would be very difficult for anyone who is disabled in any way or elderly to access rooms
Pool nice if small and corner spa nice touch.
Conveniently situated, office lady very helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Hi Gail B.

Thank you for your feedback.

Mantra On The Inlet hasa luggage lift but is a walk up resort so apologies for any inconvenience there.

If you would prefer full lift facilities , I can suggest Mantra Heritage or Mantra In The Village resorts which are close by.

The one bedroom units are very spacious compared to the hotel rooms and may suit you better on your next stay.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning from Cairns Airport. There is a telephone outside the enterance which you dial a given number and we received instructions on how to open a key safe which had an envelope inside with our room key and we obtained entry into the hotel. Our room was located up 2 flights of stairs, did not see any lift and was very welcoming. A ceiling fan was working and there was air con in operation with lights on, very nice to arrive to. Our room was small but compact with wooden shutters which over looked the back of the hotel. There was a walkway directly outside our room, but did not cause any problems with noise. The bed was very comfortable. There is a spa in the hotel off the small main reception area and also a small swimming pool located in the grounds at the back of the hotel. We were asked the previous night to check in properly in the morning and found the reception area unmanned when we arrived and had to call a main reception to be told that someone would be arriving soon. They were very friendly and casual and when they found out we had a trip booked for that morning to the Gt Barrier Reef they asked if we had towels which we did not he lent us a couple of the hotel pool towels which was a nice touch. The enterance into the hotel is located down a small walkway in between a few shops. There are plenty of bars and resturants located just round the corner down the high street which we took advantage of. However we found that most them did not serve food late so make sure that you eat earlier rather then later. All in all this is good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redkaz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over Christmas (Christmas Eve and Christmas night).

Check in was very quick, only took about 5 minutes. We parked in the underground car park and found it quite hard to find our room from there, we also saw another family having trouble an access point to the rooms from the car park. Also the underground car park itself is a bit hard to find, looks more like a walkway then a car park entry. The stairs are just awful, put shortly there's a lot of them. It was a bit annoying especially when we were carrying a lot of things for Christmas day.

The room was beautiful, very open, big balcony, nice little spa bath in the bathroom. On Christmas Eve there was a bit of noise coming from a pub directly below us nothing that kept us from sleeping though.

It's a great place, I'm assuming we would have had more problems with noise had it been any other time of the year. If you're looking for a place to relax this probably isn't it, if you have difficulties walking up loads of stairs don't stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinoconnor91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

We were originally booked into a privately owned apartment in this complex without realizing it was essentially a Mantra managed property interspersed with privately managed apartments as well.

Our original booking was with "Port Douglas on Macrossan" which I didn't realize till later was the same place as Mantra. Anyway the air conditioning in the original apartment was broken and to his credit the private owner and manager organised for us to shift to a Mantra managed apartment in the same complex. No real difference between the two in essence except that booking through Mantra would have been cheaper.

The rooms are nice although a bit awkward if you come thinking they are truly two bedroom apartments ( at least according to a normal understanding of what that means). The main bedroom is no more than a partitioned area off the living area with little to no privacy. The decor is nice and overall the space is pleasant to relax in.

The pool area is an abysmal excuse for one and the photos are in my opinion totally deceitful when it comes to the pool. It is small, uneventful, and enclosed by walls that make it feel claustrophobic.

The music from the bars and pubs pounded through our room and depending upon your room the outlook from your balcony is either ok or terrible (our original "Port Douglas on Macrossan" privately managed room essentially overlooked the pub's kitchen door).

On the flip side, the location is very convenient, close to shops, restaurants, and not too far from the beautiful beach that makes Port Douglas. Also, parking is convenient and plentiful. The food at the pub and surrounding restaurants was good, the atmosphere laid back, the shopping ok for a small resort town, and the Coles supermarket next door, very convenient.

Although at a stretch I'd stay here again, I'd be inclined to look down the street for the newer and maybe quieter places. I'd also be more careful about getting a privately managed apartment as this really could have gone very bad had not the owner been very decent about our air conditioning not working, especially given that we had a very unwell teenager in need of a break with us.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor o avoid potential views of..... Well nothing really
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blakrok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Hi Blakrok.

Thank you for your review and I am glad we were able to assist with helping ensure you enjoyed your holiday.

I am unsure however why you believe the main bedrooms lack privacy as all units have shutters as well as doors to close off the balcony area and ensure privacy.
The pictures of the pool area are a true reflection of exactly how the area does look , however if you require a larger pool for a future holiday please let me know so i can organise this for you.

The resort is situated between two local hotels so there will always be some noise , however we find the majority of our guests choose Mantra On The Inlet for the central location and spacious timber floored units.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Our worst hotel experience ever. We arrived just after 5pm to locked doors. An outside phone went to an answering service. To gain access we had to walk to another Port Douglas Mantra for a code. Housekeeping was shoddy. The manager, when he finally manifest himself, unhelpful and the Mantra Group so uninterested in our concerns it failed to respond to a written complaint.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Hi Shona S.

Thank you for your comments , I feel however that your feedback lacks credibility.
Any issues that you brought to our attention were dealt with during your stay and again followed up via email after departure.

As i have expressed to you in writing , i would be more than happy to welcome you back to the resort and look after you personally at any of the Mantra Resorts in Port Douglas.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Douglas hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#34 of 43 in Port Douglas
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 43 in Port Douglas
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra in the Village
Mantra in the Village
#33 of 56 in Port Douglas
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
#14 of 43 in Port Douglas
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#13 of 43 in Port Douglas
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On The Inlet

Property: Mantra On The Inlet
Address: Corner Macrossan & Wharf Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger on the Inlet)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra On The Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Port Douglas's entertainment and dining precinct, Mantra on the Inlet is surrounded by outdoor cafes, world class restaurants and some of "Port's" original pubs, as well as boutique shopping to suit every taste. Set against the picturesque backdrop of the Dickson Inlet with stunning views of the surrounding mountain ranges, Mantra on the Inlet offers a range of hotel rooms and self-contained one and two bedroom suites. Featuring traditional colonial-style architecture, modern cedar-accented furnishings, air conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and cable TV. Our suites offer the convenience of kitchenette and laundry facilities as well as a private balcony with an indulgent whirlpool spa. The resort offers a range of guest services and facilities to ensure an enjoyable and entertaining holiday including complimentary parking, in-room internet access and a tour desk, while outside we feature a heated pool, spa and barbeque area. Port Douglas is the only place on earth where two World Heritage listed attractions exist, with the Great Barrier Reef on one side and the beautiful Daintree Rainforest on the other. More than just World Heritage listed attractions, Port Douglas is also famed for its dining with over 50 cafes and restaurants with everything from pub food to fine cuisine. Lining the streets you will find great shopping including casual market stalls to boutique fashions. With the marina only 100 metres away and directly opposite Dickson Inlet and Anzac Pack, the site of the famous Sunday Markets, Mantra on the Inlet is the perfect base to start your Port Douglas getaway. Please note there is no lift access, this is a stair only property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra On The Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Inlet Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing