We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay - Room 221”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra On The Inlet
Ranked #32 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice stay - Room 221”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My partner and I stayed for 6 days in one of their one bedroom apartments. We found our room was fully equipped with standard kitchenette, small laundry, balcony and bathroom including spa bath. The combined dining and lounge area was big enough for us to enjoy and we got a room facing the park and historical church. It is a beautiful view. The location is slightly hidden from the street and we passed it a couple of times before we found it. However, the location is in the main street, which has many cafes, bars and restaurants and it is also a short walk to the marina.
We enjoyed our time at Mantra on the Inlet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    61
    43
    16
    8
See reviews for
35
86
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in July 2013 in a 2 bedroom apartment with another couple. The 2 bedrooms were far enough apart from each other to ensure privacy, although the master only had a wooden screen door to pull across from the living area. The kitchen was very small, really only a kitchenette. The entrance to the hotel was a bit tricky to find, especially as there are 3 Mantra properties all very close together in PD. the location was great, right on Macrossan St and between the town's 2 pubs. However, this meant it was VERY noisy on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight when the live music stopped. After travelling all day Friday we were exhausted but couldn't sleep due to the noise. The pool was nice, but small and in shade for most of the day. The other negative was no lift in the property. Although its only 2 stories high, it was still a pain to be lugging shopping/luggage etc around and up and down stairs. It certainly wasn't the worst place we've ever stayed but would not choose to stay here again for reasons mentioned.

Room Tip: I don't know if any rooms are quieter than others during the weekends as the music from the pubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shnooks82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Hi Shnooks82.

Thank you for your feedback.
Great to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location that Mantra On The Inlet offers.
This also means that there is also some noise from the adjacent hotels as you are right on Macrossan Street.
Please let me know directly for any future bookings and I am sure we can accomodate you in one of our many Mantra Port Douglas resorts to minimise any noise
I am sorry to hear that you were unabale to locate the luggage lift located next to the stairs - as this is certainly useful to save any weightlifting on your holiday !

We look forward to seeing you back in Port again soon.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I was here for a 4 day business hike and have to say that the Outrigger whilst fine in many respects, lacks the wow factor of other resorts in the Port Douglas area. My room was on the first elevation and looked over the (small) pool. The king sized bed was extremely comfy and I loved the wooden floors, blinds and shutters that gave me the impression that I staying in a big old Queenslander-style home. Whilst my room didn't really have any facilities apart from basic coffee making, it was cool on the couple of hot days that I experienced and there was a nice big LED TV at the foot of the bed for lounging in front of. Fellow travellers commented that they thought the place was a bit dated but the price tag of the nightly stays compared to other hotels in the areas was on the cheaper side. It is only a short walk to the beach and down to the marina area where you take off for charter tours onto the Great Barrier Reef. A number of restaurants are also literally within a couple of minutes walk and the place is genuinely quiet and safe fro lone travellers. Check in/check out was not a hassle with friendly service. The room was serviced each day thoroughly. Only complaint was that the promised wifi was patchy the whole time I was there making work contact a little difficult and mobile service due to being at the back of the building was patchy. I could also hear some of the noise from what I'm guessing was cleaner's room first thing in the morning which woke me and there was some noise from fellow travellers. Overall though this is not a bad place to stay if you're budget conscious but still want somewhere reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Coolum, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Very convenient and clean. Just a hotel room not an apartment. I had no balcony or view as researched. The blinds/shutters had to be shut 24/7 because of other guests passing by. The pool is very small and shaded most of the day. No daily servicing unless you pay a hefty fee. Would recommend an apartment closer to the main swimming beach with a decent sized swimming pool in the sun. Tropical Reef Apartments looked nice with two pools in a great position.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanelleMountCoolum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Hi JanelleMountCoolum.

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback after your recent stay with us here at Mantra On The Inlet.
Great to hear that you found your room clean and centrally located.

Our one bedroom units all have balconies and may suit you for a return visit as the hotel rooms do not have a balcony.
Our units are all non serviced but we can certainly offer a daily service if required.

Mantra On The Inlet is popular due to our location but if you would like a larger pool facility next time , Mantra Heritage nearby may suit you better.

Please let me know and I would be happy to find a Mantra Resort that best suits your needs.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We have stayed here a few times as it is conveniently positioned opposite the markets and near the pubs/restaurants.
Website said minimum two nights stay so telephoned to book and the receptionist quoted a price, but said she would ring back if she could do better which she did by a large margin!
Quick, efficient checkin and very friendly.
We had a one bed apartment as we find the hotel rooms a bit small and they can be noisey.
Ask for a room overlooking the park as the Lorikeets in the tree on Macrossan can make a hell of a noise if disturbed in the night!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrpigCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

a wonderfull easter and my 50th birthday party in Port Douglas whilst staying at "Mantra on The In Let".
Excellent location with some rooms having direct views of the inlet, nice to have wine and watch the sunset on your own private balcony.
Hotel has no lift so its stairs all the way. Pool is small however perfect for a dip.
Rooms well appoited and nice decor, will be back.

Room Tip: askl for a room over looking the inlet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hervey_Bay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Booked in at the hotel unaware that there was no lift and 4 flights of stairs to get to our room, when asking one of the staff members they stated they don't advertise as it may turn people away. There were no rooms on the lower levels and could not move me to another mantra (only had knee surgery 3 months ago) the rooms were dirty, i mean rub hand along blinds and grab dust dirty. poky room, only get one bed if booking ever.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BECL798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Hi BECL798.

Thank you for your feedback.

Mantra On The Inlet does in fact havea luggage lift but does not have an elevator.
We would have been happy to shift you to one of our other Mantra Resorts if we had been able to.
I am sorry to hear that youy did not find the cleaning up to our usual high standard , please always remember to let us know while in house so that we could have attended to this for you.

Please let me know if you are returning to Port Douglas and I would be happy to find a suitable resort for you.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Douglas hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
424 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#34 of 43 in Port Douglas
183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 43 in Port Douglas
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra in the Village
Mantra in the Village
#33 of 56 in Port Douglas
173 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
Saltwater Luxury Apartments
#14 of 43 in Port Douglas
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martinique on Macrossan
Martinique on Macrossan
#13 of 43 in Port Douglas
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On The Inlet

Property: Mantra On The Inlet
Address: Corner Macrossan & Wharf Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger on the Inlet)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra On The Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Port Douglas's entertainment and dining precinct, Mantra on the Inlet is surrounded by outdoor cafes, world class restaurants and some of "Port's" original pubs, as well as boutique shopping to suit every taste. Set against the picturesque backdrop of the Dickson Inlet with stunning views of the surrounding mountain ranges, Mantra on the Inlet offers a range of hotel rooms and self-contained one and two bedroom suites. Featuring traditional colonial-style architecture, modern cedar-accented furnishings, air conditioning, ceiling fans, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and cable TV. Our suites offer the convenience of kitchenette and laundry facilities as well as a private balcony with an indulgent whirlpool spa. The resort offers a range of guest services and facilities to ensure an enjoyable and entertaining holiday including complimentary parking, in-room internet access and a tour desk, while outside we feature a heated pool, spa and barbeque area. Port Douglas is the only place on earth where two World Heritage listed attractions exist, with the Great Barrier Reef on one side and the beautiful Daintree Rainforest on the other. More than just World Heritage listed attractions, Port Douglas is also famed for its dining with over 50 cafes and restaurants with everything from pub food to fine cuisine. Lining the streets you will find great shopping including casual market stalls to boutique fashions. With the marina only 100 metres away and directly opposite Dickson Inlet and Anzac Pack, the site of the famous Sunday Markets, Mantra on the Inlet is the perfect base to start your Port Douglas getaway. Please note there is no lift access, this is a stair only property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra On The Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Inlet Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing