We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra On The Inlet
Ranked #29 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 19 August 2013

It was a last minute trip to Port Douglas booked through an agency so we had no idea what our options were. The hotel is in a great location for town shopping and beach access. The room was very small but nice, clean and comfortable. Friendly staff and convenient restaurant, pool, bar, etc. I would look into other room options they provide before booking but overall it is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Hi Dan H.

Good to hear that you enjoyed the convenient loctaion of Mantra On The Inlet.

Please contact us should you be looking at returning as you will find a one bedroom apartment much more spacious with a balcony and kitchette for your convenience.

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Initially a tricky reception to find as we arrived after dark, however the phone system and the keys in the safe trick sorted itself out ok. Room on second floor very comfortable but would have liked to have known about luggage lift (only discovered this feature after reading reviews after our stay,)
Very convenient location but the big downer was the incessant noise from the courthouse hotel air con and kitchen exhaust fan, that really did detract from what was otherwise a very pleasant stay. It meant that we had to keep the balcony doors closed to be able to sleep.
On that basis it is unlikely we would stay at the Inlet again, however the Mantra Heritage looks very attractive for our next visit providing we can get a reasonable rate.

Alan R

Room Tip: Make sure your room does not overlook or open out to either of the pubs located on both the north an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My partner and I stayed for 6 days in one of their one bedroom apartments. We found our room was fully equipped with standard kitchenette, small laundry, balcony and bathroom including spa bath. The combined dining and lounge area was big enough for us to enjoy and we got a room facing the park and historical church. It is a beautiful view. The location is slightly hidden from the street and we passed it a couple of times before we found it. However, the location is in the main street, which has many cafes, bars and restaurants and it is also a short walk to the marina.
We enjoyed our time at Mantra on the Inlet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in July 2013 in a 2 bedroom apartment with another couple. The 2 bedrooms were far enough apart from each other to ensure privacy, although the master only had a wooden screen door to pull across from the living area. The kitchen was very small, really only a kitchenette. The entrance to the hotel was a bit tricky to find, especially as there are 3 Mantra properties all very close together in PD. the location was great, right on Macrossan St and between the town's 2 pubs. However, this meant it was VERY noisy on Friday and Saturday nights until midnight when the live music stopped. After travelling all day Friday we were exhausted but couldn't sleep due to the noise. The pool was nice, but small and in shade for most of the day. The other negative was no lift in the property. Although its only 2 stories high, it was still a pain to be lugging shopping/luggage etc around and up and down stairs. It certainly wasn't the worst place we've ever stayed but would not choose to stay here again for reasons mentioned.

Room Tip: I don't know if any rooms are quieter than others during the weekends as the music from the pubs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shnooks82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Hi Shnooks82.

Thank you for your feedback.
Great to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location that Mantra On The Inlet offers.
This also means that there is also some noise from the adjacent hotels as you are right on Macrossan Street.
Please let me know directly for any future bookings and I am sure we can accomodate you in one of our many Mantra Port Douglas resorts to minimise any noise
I am sorry to hear that you were unabale to locate the luggage lift located next to the stairs - as this is certainly useful to save any weightlifting on your holiday !

We look forward to seeing you back in Port again soon.

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I was here for a 4 day business hike and have to say that the Outrigger whilst fine in many respects, lacks the wow factor of other resorts in the Port Douglas area. My room was on the first elevation and looked over the (small) pool. The king sized bed was extremely comfy and I loved the wooden floors, blinds and shutters that gave me the impression that I staying in a big old Queenslander-style home. Whilst my room didn't really have any facilities apart from basic coffee making, it was cool on the couple of hot days that I experienced and there was a nice big LED TV at the foot of the bed for lounging in front of. Fellow travellers commented that they thought the place was a bit dated but the price tag of the nightly stays compared to other hotels in the areas was on the cheaper side. It is only a short walk to the beach and down to the marina area where you take off for charter tours onto the Great Barrier Reef. A number of restaurants are also literally within a couple of minutes walk and the place is genuinely quiet and safe fro lone travellers. Check in/check out was not a hassle with friendly service. The room was serviced each day thoroughly. Only complaint was that the promised wifi was patchy the whole time I was there making work contact a little difficult and mobile service due to being at the back of the building was patchy. I could also hear some of the noise from what I'm guessing was cleaner's room first thing in the morning which woke me and there was some noise from fellow travellers. Overall though this is not a bad place to stay if you're budget conscious but still want somewhere reasonable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

Very convenient and clean. Just a hotel room not an apartment. I had no balcony or view as researched. The blinds/shutters had to be shut 24/7 because of other guests passing by. The pool is very small and shaded most of the day. No daily servicing unless you pay a hefty fee. Would recommend an apartment closer to the main swimming beach with a decent sized swimming pool in the sun. Tropical Reef Apartments looked nice with two pools in a great position.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra On The Inlet, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Hi JanelleMountCoolum.

Thank you for taking the time to offer us your feedback after your recent stay with us here at Mantra On The Inlet.
Great to hear that you found your room clean and centrally located.

Our one bedroom units all have balconies and may suit you for a return visit as the hotel rooms do not have a balcony.
Our units are all non serviced but we can certainly offer a daily service if required.

Mantra On The Inlet is popular due to our location but if you would like a larger pool facility next time , Mantra Heritage nearby may suit you better.

Please let me know and I would be happy to find a Mantra Resort that best suits your needs.

Regards , Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We have stayed here a few times as it is conveniently positioned opposite the markets and near the pubs/restaurants.
Website said minimum two nights stay so telephoned to book and the receptionist quoted a price, but said she would ring back if she could do better which she did by a large margin!
Quick, efficient checkin and very friendly.
We had a one bed apartment as we find the hotel rooms a bit small and they can be noisey.
Ask for a room overlooking the park as the Lorikeets in the tree on Macrossan can make a hell of a noise if disturbed in the night!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrpigCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
531 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
The Mediterranean - Port Douglas
#40 of 42 in Port Douglas
74 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#14 of 42 in Port Douglas
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#39 of 42 in Port Douglas
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mantra PortSea
Mantra PortSea
#25 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
Hibiscus Resort & Spa
#22 of 42 in Port Douglas
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra On The Inlet

Address: Corner Macrossan & Wharf Street, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Outrigger on the Inlet)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £58 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra On The Inlet 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Inlet offers hotel rooms or 1 & 2 bedroom spa suites (complete with whirlpool spas and private timber balconies) all our accommodation provides air conditioned comfort and access to facilities like our heated outdoor pool & spa and our BBQ area. And if you don’t feel like cooking, the town’s best pub meals are under your nose – literally. Sitting opposite the Dickson Inlet, the resort also offers direct access to boating facilities as well as the departure point for day trips to the World Heritage listed Great Barrier Reef. Our convenient location is also perfect to enjoy leisurely strolls on the old pier or waterfront and sitting on top of Port Douglas' oldest hotel, The Court House, a great meal is never far away. Port Douglas' boutique stores and chic cafes are also just a short walk down Macrossan Street, the main strip of Port Douglas, or for those days you want to relax at the resort why not wander through our tropical landscaped gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra On The Inlet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Inlet Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing