We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely wonderful paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely wonderful paradise”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here in November for 5 nights. The service is outstanding. They would do anything for you. The rooms are beautiful as well as the view. There is a serenity about the room. The breakfast buffet is served around the pool area and is a delightful place to sit. The pool has so many sensory qualities to it that it is a treat in itself. The location is on the beach and very close (1\2 block ) to town (shops and restaurants) but there is no nuisance noise. Their restaurant looks out at the beach and has great food. Treat yourself and stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ER-Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    174
    57
    15
    14
See reviews for
53
726
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed for 5 nights during early November at the Peninsula. It was the perfect place to start our trip to Australia. The welcome from Sherryn, Peter and their staff was exceptional. Our flight meant we arrived early in the morning at the Peninsula and even this didn't pose a problem. We were greeted warmly by Sherryn and advised that the housekeepers would clean our room first and it would be available within a few hours. It was and nothing was ever too much trouble. We had a sea facing room on the 1st floor, spacious, spotlessly clean and very well appointed. Breakfast by the pool each morning had plentiful amounts of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts and cooked food - all replenished quickly. It was a joy to stay at such a lovely place with exceptional service in a great location - in short if you go to Port Douglas this is definitely the place to stay!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marengo, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Peninsula Hotel during our visit to the Cairns area. It was a wonderful experience. The staff is the most friendly and helpful we have ever encountered. There wasn't any question or request that they did not handle with ease and courtesy. The hotel itself was outstanding. The cleaniness was excellent and the rooms were very comfortable. One of the things that put them over the top for us was washers and dryer, at no charge. We had been on the road for about 10 days when we stayed there and we were in definite need of doing some laundry. The Peninsula even took care of that for us by providing the machines we needed. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the ocean are wonderful for sleeping. The sound of the ocean puts you to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The perfect place to stay when celebrating a special occasion and wanting a little of the additional extras. I had run away from a significant birthday and this was definitely the place to be!
We were warmly welcomed at reception, even though our flight meant we arrived in Port Douglas mid morning. Our room was lovely, overlooking the ocean, so hard to find in Port Douglas; the perfect location, really close to restaurants and the beach.
Nothing was a problem for the staff, always attention and friendly.
We had a twin room and probably the only slight negative was that the bedroom was on the small side with 2 single beds, king singles would have been good.
Absolutely loved the breakfast by the pool in the mornings; perfect selection of light and cooked breakfasts. Would come back just for this morning ritual! However, when taking a tour with an early start it would have been good to be able to have breakfast just a little before 7am.

Room Tip: Ocean views great views and catch the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Greeted with warm smiles and friendly welcomes we were treated like royalty at this down to earth and PERFECTLY located hotel. Directly opposite the beach as promised with views of sand and surf, we feel asleep each night to the sound of waves rolling in. Great breakfast daily and lots of dining in options for snacks, lunch or dinner. Staff were always delightful and offered local recommendations on places to visit and dine.

Room Tip: Room 27 has the best view to the beach from an open balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Peninsular was the perfect location for a brief break in Port Douglas. Somehow the hotel manages to be in a quiet location yet is also in the middle of town and all the best features of Port Douglas are less than a 10 minute walk away. The Hotel rooms are all suites and have plenty of room with separate living and bedroom areas sectioned off using retract actable wooden screens. The generous balcony and ceiling fans take full advantage of the sea breeze, however the air con is also an option when it gets to steamy. The Bathroom has a huge spa and walk in shower and enough mirrors to keep check on how well you tan is going. A comfy bed where you can fall asleep to the sound of the wind in the coconut palms makes this the perfect place for a break.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbourneMannin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. No children so we often had the beautiful hotel pool to our selves. Apartment style rooms were very well serviced, roomy and cool.
Staff were very friendly and helpful especially Jeila and Amanda on reception. The beach was over the road literally and so the hotel location was perfect. We only had 5 nights there and we were sorry to leave. We really hope to go back there as it was a little piece of Paradise in our Australian retirement tour.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenandNeil69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.4 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Property: Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing