We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Our 4 night experience at this hotel/motel was outstanding. The room facing the ocean was perfect and well maintained, superb staff who were so accommodating and the breakfast was excellent including the best and most delicious coffee. It was ideally located away from the center of town yet very near so that you could walk 10 to 15 minutes to the nearby restaurants/stores. The staff's recommendations of nearby restaurants only enhanced our visit. The night before we left, they provided us with a delicious breakfast which we ate prior to our departure at 5 A.M. Listening to the sounds of the ocean from our patio was magical!

Room Tip: Choose a top floor facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

We recently returned from a six night stay at 'The Peninsula Boutique Hotel' and can't speak highly enough of our experience. From the first greeting (ice water and a cool face cloth) to the moment we left we were treated like special friends. Sheryn and Phil have thought of everything, Our lovely room overlooking the beautiful beach lacked nothing, clean, spacious and everything catered for right down to the 'fresh' milk in the refrigerator. I started to take note of the names of the staff to mention those who gave great service in the review but gave up because it wasn't just one or two, everyone deserved a mention for their friendliness and attentive service. Breakfast by the pool each morning with a choice of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt etc.as well as a full cooked breakfast to choose from - just great. We dined every night in the Hi Tide restaurant - doesn't get any better - sitting on the deck overlooking the beautiful 4 Mile Beach enjoying fantastic food. All we can say is it would be hard to find a better place to stay in Port Douglas, The accommodation, amenities, views, food, serenity all AAAAA+++++. We wanted to have a relaxing few days before the 'Christmas Çraziness' started and this was the perfect place to do that thanks to Sheryn, Phil and their terrific staff.

Room Tip: Our suite # was 27, fabulous view overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ros F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Peninsula came highly recommended,and lived up to its reputation.
Attentive staff in a low key manner.
Nice rooms and pool area.
Located close to a fantastic beach and only a short walk into town.
Port Douglas is a great location for exploring the Great Barrier Reef.(QUICKSILVER -5****)
Thoroughly recommend the evening cruise on Lady Douglas for some crocodile spotting!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here in November for 5 nights. The service is outstanding. They would do anything for you. The rooms are beautiful as well as the view. There is a serenity about the room. The breakfast buffet is served around the pool area and is a delightful place to sit. The pool has so many sensory qualities to it that it is a treat in itself. The location is on the beach and very close (1\2 block ) to town (shops and restaurants) but there is no nuisance noise. Their restaurant looks out at the beach and has great food. Treat yourself and stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ER-Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed for 5 nights during early November at the Peninsula. It was the perfect place to start our trip to Australia. The welcome from Sherryn, Peter and their staff was exceptional. Our flight meant we arrived early in the morning at the Peninsula and even this didn't pose a problem. We were greeted warmly by Sherryn and advised that the housekeepers would clean our room first and it would be available within a few hours. It was and nothing was ever too much trouble. We had a sea facing room on the 1st floor, spacious, spotlessly clean and very well appointed. Breakfast by the pool each morning had plentiful amounts of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurts and cooked food - all replenished quickly. It was a joy to stay at such a lovely place with exceptional service in a great location - in short if you go to Port Douglas this is definitely the place to stay!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Peninsula Hotel during our visit to the Cairns area. It was a wonderful experience. The staff is the most friendly and helpful we have ever encountered. There wasn't any question or request that they did not handle with ease and courtesy. The hotel itself was outstanding. The cleaniness was excellent and the rooms were very comfortable. One of the things that put them over the top for us was washers and dryer, at no charge. We had been on the road for about 10 days when we stayed there and we were in definite need of doing some laundry. The Peninsula even took care of that for us by providing the machines we needed. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the ocean are wonderful for sleeping. The sound of the ocean puts you to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The perfect place to stay when celebrating a special occasion and wanting a little of the additional extras. I had run away from a significant birthday and this was definitely the place to be!
We were warmly welcomed at reception, even though our flight meant we arrived in Port Douglas mid morning. Our room was lovely, overlooking the ocean, so hard to find in Port Douglas; the perfect location, really close to restaurants and the beach.
Nothing was a problem for the staff, always attention and friendly.
We had a twin room and probably the only slight negative was that the bedroom was on the small side with 2 single beds, king singles would have been good.
Absolutely loved the breakfast by the pool in the mornings; perfect selection of light and cooked breakfasts. Would come back just for this morning ritual! However, when taking a tour with an early start it would have been good to be able to have breakfast just a little before 7am.

Room Tip: Ocean views great views and catch the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#6 of 42 in Port Douglas
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
657 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £152 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing