We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent a few days here in March and were very impressed with the warm, friendly welcome. The hotel is very well placed and is yards from 4 mile beach, which if you are into swaying palms, a warm gentle sea and miles of golden sands will knock your socks off.
The restaurant provides an interesting and varied menu, the rooms are spacious, very clean and with great views. The pool is very good too! But it is the people who make hotels like this and they have it absolutely right, with nothing being too much trouble and very helpful with tours and local sights. Very enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuffer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    176
    57
    15
    14
See reviews for
57
755
27
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were guests here for two nights and had a very relaxing mini break thanks to the team at the resort , all the small details make for a great stay , and the location is perfect a 2 min walk to town and right on the beach .

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathrynt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Hotel is in a great location and the staff work really hard at giving a good service.
Great beach opposite and a vibrant high street only a stones throw away.
Hotel rooms are large and certain of them have good views, but it still lacks in terms of finish.
The patio doors would not lock, sink was cracked, plug wasn't made for the sink and it feels a bit tired.
We chose this hotel from the trip advisor reviews, we felt we were back in the 70s but then maybe that's just Port Douglas.

Room Tip: Peninsula suite Is the larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londoneagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Spent three nights at the Peninsular whilst visiting the Great Barrier Reef and nearby rainforests. The hotel is practically on the beach ! The staff are so efficient and very friendly , nothing was to much trouble. The hotel is quite a quirky building, which adds character. We found the food very good too. It is only a short stroll into Port Douglas, with all it's shops and some very good restaurants . Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martmi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Genuine hospitality from every member of staff makes this boutique hotel so much more than than it's cool design and superior location. Whilst the building itself is starting to show it's age, it still exudes a genuine quality and style. Our "Ocean View" room on the first floor with king size bed, personal espresso machine and spa bath offered large sliding glass doors for a panoramic Coral Sea view and sliding timber room partitions for separate spaces or open plan. Our 5 nights stay had us going to bed with the sliding doors open, ceiling fans on, air-conditioning off and the gentle sound of the sea lulling us to sleep.
But it's the staff that makes staying here something special. They are thoroughly professional going about their business with quite confidence making us feel like nothing is a bother or too difficult and best of all, every single one of them consistently smiled and acknowledged you.
If you're looking to relax in quality surroundings and be pampered by professionals,as a semi-regular visitor to the region I don't think there is better value anywhere in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Detlef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finchley, North London, England
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We spent three nights here whilst touring the areas rainforests.
The welcome was warm and efficient. The facilities were explained and as we had amassed some dirty washing the complimentary guest laundry complete with washing powder was a godsend.
The suite over looking the pool area was clean and well equipped....and even included some aromatherapy oil and candles for a relaxing bath.
The staff were always helpful.
The included breakfast comprised of a buffet and cooked to order dishes and were faultless.
It is well situated...the shops and restaurants around the corner as was the four mile beach.
We would recommend this little gem to anyone visiting Port Douglas.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank debbiebreslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Cannot say enough wonderful things about this quaint little hotel. The staff was attentive to our every need we had the experience of having a private dinner on the patio that overlooked the pool area. It was a wonderful experience. The food was wonderful and our waiter Alex was a joy. The private dinner was a wonderful romantic option would highly recommend it. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would highly reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Property: Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing