We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Location was fantastic and we would book another holiday there for this reason alone. The gardens, pool and outdoor restaurant area were gorgeous. Our room was comfortable but dated with a couple of annoying things to contend with. On day one of our 10 night stay we reported the dishwasher was out of order and the promise to swap it over never happened. Another small annoyance was the wardrobe door that couldn't be opened because the airconditioner was in the way.
Breakfast was included in our tarrif but we only tried it twice. We were very disappointed with various breakfast items in the same Bain Marie - bacon swimming in oily water, same with the scrambled eggs. Most unappetising. We dined only once in the restaurant on the Beef & Reef night and were served gristly meat with extremely over cooked prawns. I suspect that maybe the main chef was not on duty that night.
The staff were always friendly and helpful and the entire venue was beautifully clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hellibelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our sixth trip here. We, amongst others at the breakfast area, commented about the formula supermarket bread & the passé Kraft jams. Today on our last day, some lovely wholemeal artisan style loaf appeared? Why not every day- Brumbys' bakery is about 200m from the hotel, & they have a wide range. What about all the lovely French jams readily available in Coles?
Also, the usual suspects from Kelloggs feature heavily given the typical demographics of the guest profile; what about some healthy niche brand muesilis?
These are minor gripes, yet we heard one guest lamenting being booked in for a long stay & being sentenced to " formula bread", & you asked us for feedback, I felt obliged to pass it on.
If this is a four star hotel then they need to look at their mattresses; our was a real dinosaur- hard, saggy, no pillow top, & when we inquired of management they said they had non,& no option to change it.. Checkout was a little rough with the wrong tariff entered & bus charge incorrectly entered. These are important things to give return guests- accurate, checked accounts(the amount in question was substantial).
With Coconut Grove now up & running,a continued focus on maintaining an edge would seem important.
The staff are lovely & it is a lovely hotel, all things considered.

Room Tip: Room 20- lovely deck & extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just spent four nights in this wonderfully located boutique hotel in Port Douglas. Lovely aspect overlooking the beach and excellent service with some nice touches. Definitely will stay there again. Only suggestion is that the tile floors were a bit 'gritty' so perhaps a more thorough daily sweep and/or wipe...

Room Tip: A room on the second or third floors overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterV4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Thank you to Sheryn, Phil & the Team @ The Peninsular Boutique Hotel, Port Douglas. We had a very relaxing and luxurious stay with you. Fantastic food, great service and comfortable rooms with an amazing view of the sea. We really enjoyed staying with you in April. Would recommend to anyone, cannot fault a better location and great place to stay in Port Douglas.

Room Tip: Wonderful sea views in the heart of Port Douglas.... not a chain, but better for it - personal and l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyndsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were lucky enough to have 10 nights here and from the moment we arrived the welcoming couldn't have been better. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, our apartment #36 overlooked the pool so we always had something to look at. We had the sun virtually all day which was fabulous in June. Our apartment was very spacious, light and bright with a large spa bath and open shower which opened onto a separate balcony. Finishing touches like oil burner, nice toiletries all made our stay special. Breakfasts were all included and of a very high quality and the location couldn't have been better, cross the road to the beach one way and the other way you were in the main shopping street. I wouldn't hesitate to return again. Thanks for making our holiday great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wendsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Location can't be beat - you're across the street from the beach. The rooms were airy and large - you can open up all the sliding doors to open up the bathroom to the bedroom to the living area (with couch, kitchen, and balcony). The pool is small but pretty and inviting. AND there are free washing machines and dryers, which really helped. The breakfast provided in the morning was plentiful, if not memorable (we had just stayed at a B&B in New Zealand that had a trained chef - and the breakfasts couldn't be compared). Shops and restaurants are within a 10 minute walk. We especially appreciated Amanda's cheerful hospitality and welcome, and Josh's friendly help. I would recommend a room with a balcony facing the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nreyesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We spent 5 very memorable days here in a beachfront suite and loved it. The room was lovely, clean, and had a comfy bed. Just a short walk out our patio door to the beach. The pool is fantastic with many different levels and areas to relax or swim, sit in the shade or sun. A nice continental breakfast was included with all the usual choices, several types of eggs, bacon, sausage, breads, cereals, fruits. Other choices are available from the restaurant. They really have ticked all the boxes here.

So to sum it up, start the day with a great breakfast, take a dip in the pool, lie on the beach, don't miss happy hour and dinner in the restaurant or served in your room, life is good! You don't have to leave the hotel unless you want to but all the shops and cafes are just a short stroll and no car is needed.The hosts are very friendly and attentive with great staff to look after you. Peaceful and quiet too as no young children are accepted. We love this place and can't wait for our next visit!

Room Tip: Beach side rooms get morning sun and afternoon breezes. Pool side rooms have afternoon sun and less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben-Heere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 42 in Port Douglas
242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 42 in Port Douglas
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#2 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £152 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing