We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful escape”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This boutique hotel is just fabulous !
The service was lovely and the room ... Fantastic !
I specially loved the way the room was set up, nice architecture and design !
The setting is very special and the location is awesome !

It certainly deserves a great review, I just did not mark it 5/5 because the jacuzzi / spa was very dirty ( I am sure this will be solved by the time you are going there next !)

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andmmar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    174
    57
    15
    14
See reviews for
53
726
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed for 5 nights and our spacious room, bed and toiletries were excellent. The rooms are well designed with balconies providing some privacy. More shelf or drawer space for clothes, such as bedside units would be welcome. The Hotel's position to the town and beach is also excellent and this is obviously reflected in the price. I feel though, that this hotel had some niceties missing: the reception entrance is uninspiring and is like a 'back door'. The bar is very small and service slow, especially if the reception has to be attended to. The breakfast buffet, while adequate, provided the same items every day and was no more exciting than at an Ibis Hotel. On the Saturday morning, by 9.30am, the one loaf of non-square bread & fresh fruit slices were finished and guests had to wait some time for more bacon & eggs to arrive. Although we enjoyed our stay, this is not the standard of service I expect from a 5 star $400+ per night establishment. The Peninsular needs more staff with more appealing services, or they can remain at a leisurely 4-star pace, but charge less than $350 a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ARBurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear ARBurch,
Thank you for your reflection on your stay with us - all feedback we get is very much appreciated.
We're pleased to read that you enjoyed the standard & amenities of the room and the ideal location.
Whilst unfortunately we cannot change the design of the Reception or the size of the bar area (though we believe its very modern with massive tropical flower arrangements, new Reception desk, furniture etc), we're sorry it was to your liking. As usual, we encourage all readers to scroll through the photo gallery on our website. Also, we are a boutique hotel and I would guess it was designed with intimacy and interest rather than big empty spaces. We think its pretty stylish and fitting with the Boutique Hotel experience.
Breakfast is always a tricky one to plan as guests come down at their leisure throughout the morning - sometimes it can be busy early as everyone tries to fit in the breakfast before tours or, like your observation, guests obviously enjoyed a sleep in and all came at the end of breakfast time. We try not to put too much out so it doesn't go dry/stale/cold or overcook so we prefer to send fresh smaller batches more regularly. We're sorry if the Chefs got caught out that day but I am sure they got the next batch out as fast as possible - fresh and hot straight from the kitchen.
We do hope you overall did enjoy your stay with us and in our beautiful time and would love to look after you again.
Thanks so much again for your thoughts.
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
219 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We booked at quite short notice and I did not do my research properly. While it was fantastic to be picked up from Cairns and the friendly check in when we got to our 'boutique' room we were a little surprised by its size ( although we should have clicked by now boutique means small).

We got our bed replaced after two nights of not sleeping - supposedly the rooms had been refurbished but somehow our room has the oldest mattress.... Room 26 is a dark room that gets no sun, I looked enviously on at the visitors in rooms 24 and 30 as they had sunny balconies which you could relax on. The pool was under repair for the first few days, I was annoyed but then The pool area looks more suitable to a childrens swimming area with waterfalls and small pools and the water temperature was not inviting enough to want to swim in anyway. The general staff bend over backwards to help in any way, the food is fantastic and the wait staff generally attentive. Best tip to eat breakfast early while its nice and hot and fresh. It gets picked over pretty quickly. At the price we pre paid $430 (nz) a night I was very happy when we moved to our villa close to the golf course twice as nice for half the price.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool on the top florr
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwiguests
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear kiwiguests,
Thanks so much for your review - we are really pleased to read that the staff got your full stars - they do make us proud every day.
We admit that we will never replicate the bed at your own house however, when you gave us the feedback that you weren't happy with it, it was replaced within 5 minutes! We do have to know anything you would like to bring to our attention and wish that you had asked after the first night if it wasn't to your liking.
"Boutique" generally refers to the personal touches and high quality of the hotel - our Suites all enjoy the highest star rating for size from AAA star rating for Hotel accommodation. Every Suite comes with a double bath or Spa, separate walk in shower, a dining table & chairs and even a kitchenette. The other rooms you observed were our Coral Spa Suites and if we had some available, you were certainly welcome to upgrade for a small fee.
With your observations regarding your onward villa stay, we think you were really after a non-serviced, self-contained apartment stay rather than a full service Hotel one. Just as lovely but two different experiences. When staying with us, your room is fully serviced every day, there is a restaurant on site, free laundry facilities, free WIFI, DVDS, Espresso machines and Pods complimentary, and we even met you at the airport and transported you 1.5 hrs up to Port Douglas all complimentary. The Villa you subsequently stayed at unfortunately didn't offer any of those. It really depends on the holiday experience you are after and we're sorry if we let you down at all.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

If you want to be a stone's throw from the beach, walking distance to the shops and restaurants (Macrossan St), in a small intimate hotel - this is the place for you. It's expensive and does cater to the 50+ crowd because of the pricing. The hotel is great in that everything is close - the restaurant, breakfast buffet (overlooking the pool), reception/booking desk and most importantly the ocean! Breakfast buffet included covered all the basics (bacon, eggs, hash browns, eggs, mushrooms), bread (some croissants but you had to get up early as limited supply), cereals, fruits. A la carte breakfast menu was much nicer but you needed to pay extra for that. Dining is expensive in Port Douglas so hotel prices were reasonable in comparison. Room itself was clean and modern, but we were very disappointed as dishwasher wasn't working the entire stay and not fixed (obviously hard to get tradespeople) so dishes had to be left in the sink for room service to take care of. Lots of parking on street and also undercover so no problems if you have a car. Pool was excellent and had jacuzzi as well which was nice. Never had problem getting deckchair due to fact hotel was quite small. Great to have full laundry facilities at your disposal. It is an expensive place to stay so average quality of food and fact that dishwasher not operating was huge detraction especially if you intend to eat in quite often (which we did). Also cleaning of the room whilst adequate it was not immaculate, which is what you might expect from a true luxury hotel, but must be difficult to get staff in such a location. However, if location is a priority with sea views, this has to be one of the best choices in Port Douglas despite its shortcomings.

Room Tip: Ocean views are well worth it but internal views onto pool are nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gday72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear gday72,
Thank you so much for your kind words about the restaurant, breakfast, food and a la carte dining - we are sure the hard working Chefs and waitstaff will be so happy to read your thoughts.
We are really sorry about the dishwasher - we unfortunately do not have any electrical appliance stores here in beautiful Port Douglas and parts are notoriously slow to get to us. With that in mind, our lovely Housekeeping staff were more than happy to do all your dishes every day as part of your stay - we hope this helped.
We appreciate your comments about the pool & Jacuzzis being excellent and also the rooms being clean and modern - we go through constant little upgrades all the time to keep the Suites in top condition. Thank you for enjoying them.
Thanks so much gday72 and we really hope to spoil you again soon.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
509 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Top marks for location, complimentary bus transfer from Cairns airport and nice welcome from Elena at reception. Our beach facing room had a small balcony with a round table and 2 upright chairs- no loungers or comfortable seating and it was in need of a refurbishment. Our kitchenette was too small to be able to actually cook a meal - Everything in the kitchen cupboards and furnishings were average in quality and the dishwasher was broken. The bed was comfortable and the linen fine. We tried the restaurant on our first night and thought it was a nice venue with an attentive waiter, unfortunately, one meal was good while the other chicken mango dish tasted ilke faeces - I aked the waiter to speak to the cook- no chef would have put it on a plate! the cook agreed about the smell and explained that it was the mango sauce - hmmm!!! Breakfast was pretty average too and when I had scrambled eggs sent to my room one morning, they charged an outragous $15.40! I can have room service at a 5 star Hotel for $8. When I arrived, booked in and went to our room I received a call to ask me to return home 2 days early for medical reasons - I went straight down to reception within one hour of booking in and changed my length of stay from 9 to 7 nights. I was informed that I would not receive any refund as I had booked in already. When I pointed out that I was giving them 7 nights notice - my attention was drawn to the small print saying 'no refunds after check in' on the registration form. I eventually spoke to someone in charge to ask for a refund of $830 and explain the reason I had to return, alas, we could only comprimise on a one night refund of $415. It left me feeling cheated. I have never experienced such a clause in all my travels - according to the person I spoke to "it's common in Hotels around the world" nonsense - it's quite simply greed! 7 nights notice in Holiday season when Port Douglas was jam packed and Full notices up all around the town!!! I will not be back at The Peninsula.

Room Tip: Overlooking the pool have large balconies with loungers and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grimrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Readers,
We'd prefer to address the readers rather than the author of this one as enough attention has been given to her during her stay.
When in the exciting world of hospitality, just rarely do you come across a guest who can only be happy when they are they not. On the first day of arrival, this guest was flagged to all other staff as particularly difficult to please. Needless to say, after a very looong week that all of our lovely staff when far beyond what even a spoilt stay would entail, we are afraid it simply fed an already inflated ego and by the end of the week, we were pleased it was time. This review came about because she wanted to cancel whenever she wished and, until the entire time during her stay, she didn't entirely get her way. Albeit, we did refund one night which in hindsight we regret. After insulting all the staff (Our chicken, mango & walnut salad smelt like faeces?? How offensive to the Chef in even a bad establishment!), our Chef did not agree whatsoever but in the interest of relations, just let it go. All guests get a full hot & cold buffet breakfast each morning however this guest selected to have a hot breakfast in her room by room service. Of course it was actually- scrambled eggs, thick toast with sides of mushrooms & tomatoes delivered to her room for $13.80 (we actually waived the $5 fee for an order under $20 just for her). I guess the truth isn't nearly as dramatic. In short, after upsetting all staff for the week, digging for the cheapest holiday she could muster, getting back a nights accommodation when she wasn't entitled to it, we are rewarded with this review. Thankfully, with her promise of not returning, the readers can rest assured another stay will not co-incide with theirs. We would prefer to enjoy guests who are lovely, pleased to be in Port Douglas, enjoying a wonderful holiday and getting spoilt by our friendly, happy, helpful staff.
(p.s. - we can recommend the chicken, mango & walnut salad - we sell dozens each day and they are delicious! :) )
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The location for this accommodation was perfect for us. All the big chains look good but you would need to drive to go anywhere whereas we could walk everywhere from here. The staff were also very pleasant and the apartments are beautifully appointed with views to the ocean. We also had a full moon which added something special. It was great to have breakfast included and a restaurant if you wanted to stay put. And there's Happy Hour!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woozal27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear woozal27,
What a lovely review and thank you so much for your time to write your observations. It is heartening to read that you thought the Suites were beautifully appointed and that you thought it was great to have breakfast as a complimentary inclusion - we think a good and wide ranging hot and cold full buffet breakfast is a great way to start a day of touring - or nothing at all!
We really look forward to spoiling you again soon.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The rooms are very nice and the whole place is color co-ordinated in blues and greens. The bath soaps and amenities are great. Wonderful bar, excellent mixed drinks, nice wine list and the food in room service and in the restaurant was great. Literally 1 minute walk to the enclosed beach and less than 5 minutes to down-town. Excellent staff who takes care of all bookings. Buffet breakfast was not that great but everything else would certainly cause us to stay there again. The sunset cruise was well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the jacuzzi tub rooms with a balcony overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBHMgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Peninsula Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Jennifer R,
Sincere gratitude for your full 5 star rating for your stay. it is great to read that you enjoyed the luxurious Appelles soaps and amenities - they really make you feel like you are being spoilt with their mix of Australian herbs and scents. Our restaurant team will be thrilled to read that you enjoyed the bar and that you thought the restaurant was "excellent" - they are such hardworking great team who will smile to read your thoughts.
Thanks again Jennifer R and we hope you took great holiday memories back to NZ with you.
Kind Regards,
The Management and Staff of Peninsula Boutique Hotel / Hi Tide Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.1 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
5.4 mi away
Mai Tai Resort
Mai Tai Resort
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.8 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peninsula Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peninsula Boutique Hotel

Property: Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Address: 9 - 13 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peninsula Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Port Douglas Peninsula Boutique Hotel is ideally located on the Esplanade in Port Douglas, overlooking the famous Four Mile Beach and just a short stroll to the shops and restaurants in Macrossan Street. This 4 1/2 star Boutique Hotel offers 34 modern fully serviced suites, with both ocean and/or pool views. The hotel has 3 levels (pool/ground, 1st and 2nd floors) each has lift access to upper the level suites. Our multi tiered outdoor heated pool oasis ensures year round enjoyment of this tropical paradise. Unique to this boutique style of accommodation each suite features discreetly concealed kitchenette with full size refrigerator, dishwasher and microwave. A full selection of glassware and crockery compliments this facility giving you the flexibility for self catering if you wish. Your suite offers a light and tropical open plan sitting/lounge and dining area offering you the perfect setting to relax, indulge & enjoy... All our suites are fully air conditioned and have ceiling fans allowing you year round comfort. Our spacious ensuite bathrooms boast walk-in shower and large contoured twin 2 person bath. Each suite also has a private in room safe, iron & ironing board. 2 Complimentary guest laundries are located on the 1st & 2nd levels of the hotel. As a special touch during your stay all our suites offer exclusive aromatherapy burners and eco friendly bathroom amenities. Complimentary use of bathrobes is provided. On arrival you are welcomed with a cooling aromatherapy infused refresher towel and welcome drink. To allow you to stay in touch with the outside world during your stay each suite has Wi-Fi internet access, cable TV, complementary DVD players (DVDs are available from our library), ISD telephone and iPod docking station. Hi Tide Restaurant the only restaurant overlooking Four Mile Beach is open for breakfast, lunch & light snacks daily and dinner Sunday through to Friday evenings. The hotel is suitable only for adults and does not cater for children aged 17 and under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peninsula Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Port Douglas
Port Douglas Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing