We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable but very noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra in the Village
Cairns
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable but very noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Great location in terms of convenience but if you want to sleep you might be better somewhere else. It's 12.50am and the bar across the road is pumping, very loud music and people having a great time - shame we can't join in but it would be illegal to leave our 7 year old here on his own and we couldn't take him with us! Apparently it goes until 2.00am so we'll just have to try not to go completely mad before then. It's a shame the otherwise very friendly and helpful staff didn't think to mention this when we booked. We come to Port Douglas frequently but don't think we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't get one facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gilbert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Hi Gilbert M.

Thank you for your feedback , I am sorry to hear of your disappointing one night stay with us.
Being a central resort in the middle of Port Douglas , that convenience does mean that we sometimes have some some noisey neighbors on a busy saturday night during peak season.

The Restaurant across the road held a party on the night you visited but you will be happy to know that this is not a weekly event !

We will be happy to accomodate you in an different location for you next stay.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    69
    35
    20
    7
See reviews for
48
81
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Queensland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was our second stay at Mantra in the Village and you really can't beat the location. It is right in the middle of town, but cleverly designed so we were not bothered by street noise. Coles is virtually next door, the beach is a 5 minute walk, as is Flagstaff Hill, the Sunday markets and every restaurant in town. We had a 2 bedroom apartment. Both bedrooms are ensuite, there is a kitchen and full size fridge for keeping the drinks cool. The apartment was clean, the decor modern and the staff friendly.
The only down side this visit was that there is construction going on next door which started early each morning. It didn't bother us as we are early risers, but if you like a sleep-in, you may find this inconvenient.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had room 33 which overlooks the pool and is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank MissMNorthQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Hi MissMNorthQueensland.

We are glad you enjoyed your here in the centre of twon as much as we enjoyed having you.

You will also be pleased to hear that the brand new premises going up next door have been completed - meaning that you will have some new shopping options available on your next stay with us , including an easy to find Tourist Information Centre !

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

There was a very friendly and welcoming man at reception to great us. We had a lovely room which was clean and comfortable. Heaps of space and a great view. The location was fantastic. I can not think of anything bad to say about our stay. We will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustyangel121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Hi Rustyangel121.

Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us here right in the centre of town.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Port Douglas sometime soon !

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

My family stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment for 7 days. We found the appartment to be a good size for 2 adults + 2 children, very clean and a great central location in Port Douglas. All the staff were extremely helpful and informative and helped plan our itinery and made our holiday very special. We would be very happy to come back and can recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MantraBOTP, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Hi Fiona M.

We appreciate your great review and are glad that you enjoyed all that Mantra In The Village and Port Douglas has to offer.

Our staff really enjoy what they do and I am glad they were able to help you plan your stay.

We look forward to seeing you bak again !

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We stayed for 2 nights recently and found the room to be clean and well equipped - we had a nice porch overlooking the side street, across to Watergate restaurant, but when the people above started their spa, the noise echoed around our room...very noisy and we could also hear their shower - and it went on for hours - and couldn't be drowned out by our TV...so the building is poorly insulated or noise is certainly an issue in some rooms. The noise from the street wasn't a problem at all and overnight the resort was quiet.
We've stayed at other Hotels with spa and jacuzzi facilities, like the Regal, and even though you can hear a distant rumble, it was nothing like this...
The pool was also cold - we didn't use it...it might need heating from time to time.
The room was fine - spacious, well appointed and comfortable and the location is excellent - reception were also friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evansbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Hi evansbrown.

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be helpful and friendly.
Thanks also for your time on the phone where you explained to me the noise issue that you had. We have not had any previous feedback regarding this but I have checked the room to ensure it wasn't a matter of a guest in the room above unintentionally leaving the spa or shower running.

You will find that very few resorts have a heated pool in Port Douglas as we get very few months where it is cold , one of the advantages of being in the tropical north at this time of year !

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed four nights in June in a 1 bedroom suite. We enjoyed the spa in the suite and it was quiet although it was very central. The staff were very helpful, recommended and booked tours for us. We saw other resorts which were out of town but would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteraot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Hi peteraot13.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Mantra In The Village.

Our central location , spa baths and helpful staff are all things that guests find makes for a relaxing , warm holiday in the heart of Port Douglas !

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

we stayed in 2 bedroom apartment which was excellent ,,very clean and well appointed. The house staff were excellent as I found the bed too hard and they did all they could to source a foam mattress topper which did the trick !
Although the room faced over the street the noise wasnt an issue as the louvres on the balcony when closed blocked out any sound . The spa on the balcony was great fun too and perfect at the end of the day to relax in
location is just brilliant everything is right there ,,perfect as well if there are people who cant walk too far or dont want to have to drive after arriving . will recommend this place to others and will stay there again on another visit

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rennie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Hi rennie s.

Great to hear you enjoyed the Port Douglas sunshine while on holiday from Adelaide.

The resort is centrally located and the spa baths are always popular..
I am glad that the staff were able to meet your needs for you bedding and the stay was comfortable as well as relaxing.

We look forward to seeing you back with us again.

Regards , Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#32 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Newport on Macrossan
The Newport on Macrossan
#21 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pavilions Port Douglas - Boutique Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Macrossan House Boutique Holiday apartments
0.2 mi away
Regal Port Douglas
Regal Port Douglas
#17 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra in the Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra in the Village

Property: Mantra in the Village
Address: Corner Grant & Warner Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra in the Village 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Port Douglas, Mantra in the Village characterises the sophisticated yet casual atmosphere of this seaside boutique style accommodation. Mantra in the Village has been designed to enhance the airy Tropical North Queensland climate, with all-weather verandas, slide back louvres and timber shutters all prominent features. Offering a range of accommodation from hotel rooms to self-contained one and two bedroom suites, all rooms include air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and cable TV. Our one and two bedroom suites offer the extra convenience of kitchenette facilities as a private balcony complete with whirlpool spa. Featuring a large Roman-inspired pool and spa with mosaic tiling, cascading waterfalls and fountains set amongst tropical landscaped gardens. The resort offers complimentary parking, in-room internet connection and lift for easy access to the car park, rooms and apartments and street level. Port Douglas provides plenty of attractions and entertainment, including local markets on Sundays, the Marina Mirage complex with over 40 specialty shops, restaurants and galleries, and the famous Four Mile Beach. At Mantra in the Village you are perfectly located to explore everything Port Douglas has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra in the Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra In The Village Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing