We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra in the Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mantra in the Village
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“A bit average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed in a 2 apartment with 2 adults & 2 kids for a 5 night holiday. The apartment isn't large by any means, but I would consider it adequate, particularly if you're out all day. It was odd in that the larger of the 2 rooms with the spa bath had the twin beds. Decor is a bit dated, with the rooms looking tatty around the edges with peeling paint, scuffed walls & a dusty plastic plant. Furniture in the main room below average comfortable and dining table small.

All rooms have a/c but despite keeping it on most of the time there was an overall pervading sense of dampness about the suite. We hung towels in the lounge the whole time and they never dried. True it was raining a lot of the time, humidity often seemed higher in the apartment than outside. The windows are not screened and there's no natural light apart from by opening the slatted blinds out to the pool. If you want a/c on and/or to avoid bugs you end up feeling like you live in a bit of a cave.

The apartments need more furniture - there is one single wardrobe and no drawers, apart from a single bedside one. The bathroom surface space is minimal, so a couple should not expect to be able to lay out cosmetics beyond toothbrush and mouthwash.

Spa baths were clean & worked well with one in a separate room with access from the kitchen/lounge/diner and the main bedroom. Internet access by Azure wifi was reliable. Shared pool is not large, but more than adequate for a dip & the kids enjoyed it.

Rooms were dark at night and quiet. Hotel is well placed for accessing shops and restaurants and is quiet. Although it is officially rated 4-star, I'm not sure exactly who rates it, because I've stayed in much tidier 3-star accommodation before.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wazuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    68
    35
    18
    6
See reviews for
46
81
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

booked for 5 nights with the family, but stayed four, wanted to leave after 1 but could not get money back on our booking, due to the way we had booked it. The room was dirty, couches filthy, ironing board was a disgrace. we even had a piece of toilet paper stuck on the wall in the bathroom and some sort of seeds in the fridge that had been left on the first shelf
the location of the hotel was good, but be carefull with the under ground car park if you have a nice car, our new commodore wagon bottomed out on the way in and out, not exactly a low car either.
oh and the deck, have a look at the photo i have included. the bbq is faulty with the first burner rusted out and fallen off, so you have to pull the plates up and get some matches to light it as the ignition on it wont work.
overall very very disappointing and we left early
i dint take many pictures to put on,
wife was furious at the place

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gasparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ASMNQ, Management at Mantra in the Village, responded to this review, 17 February 2010
I am disappointed to hear that your room did not meet your expectations. We make all efforts on all booking channels to clearly advise room types and facilities.

Feedback such as yours is important to us as they afford us an opportunity to review our procedures and make enhancements to our property and procedures including housekeeping and our ongoing maintenance and refurbishment programs.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to Port Douglas and Mantra In the Village.

Kind Regards,

Mike Mitchell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Douglas hotels

Cairns, QLD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

Small hotel complex centrally located in Port Douglas village, easy walk to markets and restaurants. Our hotel room had a corner spa in bathroom, plus balcony overlooking the lovely pool. Quiet complex, free undercover parking, good value.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mere99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2008

Good central location , rooms OK. Kitchen facilities poor. No cleaning of room done until we asked. Then they wanted to charge us for cleaning the room at the end of our stay. No change of bedlinnen during the week. Reception only open 9-4 anad did not open on time and had to wait to check out. Mantra heritgae next door looked much more attractive and inviting

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rj_booth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2007

My husband and I have just left this apartment, to carry on our journey.

Overall I thought that this accomodation was great, the apartment was big and cleaned well, the kitchen contained just about everything we needed (you might struggle with a big family as there are only 2 hob rings). The bedroom contained 2 single beds pushed together, which made a huge double bed. Bedroom and living room both had air conditioning, nice to come back to a cool apartment after a day on the beach.

We arrived late and reception was shut, but someone arrived within just a couple of minutes of us ringing on the courtesy phone.

Balcony was fine, double spa on it was fantastic - used it every evening at vodka o'clock!

Location was excellent for us as it was right in the heart of the action - however we didn't seem to get a massive amount of noise in the apartment late at night, which was a bonus. The apartments are also just a few minutes walk from 4 mile beach.

The only negative about the whole thing was the pool. Not the size - we were quite happy with that as we only wanted it for cooling off. It has lots of different depths/levels and so was alos nice for sunbathing in. The only problem was that it was absolutely freezing! Outside temperature was around 27 degrees every day, so I would suggest that the management really need to consider heating the pool as the sun does not seem to do the job adequately.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran_FEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2005

The rooms were clean, there was a balcony overlooking the side street. It was in a great location as all restaurants and beach were walking distance. Breakfast was included at Mango Jam restaurant nearby in our package which was great.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PickyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2005

We could not fault this resort. Right in the heart of town and very quiet. All of the restaurants and shops right at the doorstep. Apartments very spacious and decor was nice. Staff very friendly and helpful with booking tours and restaurants. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 mi away
Mantra On The Inlet
Mantra On The Inlet
#32 of 44 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Newport on Macrossan
The Newport on Macrossan
#20 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Pavilions Port Douglas - Boutique Holiday Apartments
0.2 mi away
Regal Port Douglas
Regal Port Douglas
#17 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macrossan House Boutique Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra in the Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra in the Village

Property: Mantra in the Village
Address: Corner Grant & Warner Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4871, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra in the Village 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Port Douglas, Mantra in the Village characterises the sophisticated yet casual atmosphere of this seaside boutique style accommodation. Mantra in the Village has been designed to enhance the airy Tropical North Queensland climate, with all-weather verandas, slide back louvres and timber shutters all prominent features. Offering a range of accommodation from hotel rooms to self-contained one and two bedroom suites, all rooms include air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea and coffee making facilities and cable TV. Our one and two bedroom suites offer the extra convenience of kitchenette facilities as a private balcony complete with whirlpool spa. Featuring a large Roman-inspired pool and spa with mosaic tiling, cascading waterfalls and fountains set amongst tropical landscaped gardens. The resort offers complimentary parking, in-room internet connection and lift for easy access to the car park, rooms and apartments and street level. Port Douglas provides plenty of attractions and entertainment, including local markets on Sundays, the Marina Mirage complex with over 40 specialty shops, restaurants and galleries, and the famous Four Mile Beach. At Mantra in the Village you are perfectly located to explore everything Port Douglas has on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra in the Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra In The Village Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing